Canadian Cancer Society logo

Anal cancer

You are here: 

What is anal cancer?

Anal cancer is a malignant tumour that starts in the cells around the anus. Malignant means that it can invade, or grow into, and destroy nearby tissue. It can also spread, or metastasize, to other parts of the body.

The anus is part of the digestive system. Stool leaves the body through the anus. It is the opening at the end of the large intestine after the rectum. The area around the anus is called the anal region. It includes the anal canal, which is the short tube just above the anus. The anal region also includes the perianal skin, which is the skin around the anus.

Cells in the anal canal or perianal skin sometimes change and no longer grow or behave normally. These changes may lead to non-cancerous, or benign, conditions such as anal warts, polyps or skin tags.

Changes to cells in the anal region can also cause a precancerous condition called anal intraepithelial neoplasia (AIN). This means that the cells are not yet cancer, but there is a chance that they may become cancer if they aren’t treated.

In some cases, changes to cells in the anal canal or perianal skin can cause cancer. Anal cancer usually starts in round, flat cells called squamous cells. These cells are inside the anal canal and make up the perianal skin. This type of cancer is called squamous cell carcinoma of the anus.

Rare types of anal cancer can also develop. These include adenocarcinoma, basal cell carcinoma, melanoma and gastrointestinal stromal tumour (GIST).

Diagram of the digestive system

Diagram of the perianal area


Woman at market in front of CCS poster This truly is a life-saving program, and we are so grateful to Husky Energy for making it happen.

Read more

Volunteers provide comfort and kindness

Illustration of volunteers

Thousands of Canadian Cancer Society volunteers work in regional cancer centres, lodges and community hospitals to support people receiving treatment.

Learn more

Cancer de l’anus

Vous êtes ici:

Qu’est-ce que le cancer de l’anus?

Le cancer de l’anus est une tumeur maligne qui prend naissance dans les cellules entourant l’anus. Une tumeur maligne signifie qu’elle peut envahir les tissus avoisinants et les détruire. Elle peut aussi se propager (métastases) à d’autres parties du corps.

L’anus fait partie de l’appareil digestif. C’est par l’anus que les selles sont évacuées du corps. Situé après le rectum, l’anus est l’ouverture à l’extrémité du gros intestin. La région autour de l’anus est appelée région anale. Elle comprend le canal anal, le court tube situé juste au-dessus de l’anus, ainsi que la peau péri-anale, c’est-à-dire la peau qui entoure l’anus.

Les cellules du canal anal et de la peau péri-anale subissent parfois des changements qui rendent leur mode de croissance ou leur comportement anormal. Ces changements peuvent engendrer des affections non cancéreuses, ou bénignes, comme les verrues anales, les polypes ou les acrochordons.

Les changements touchant les cellules de la région anale peuvent aussi causer un état précancéreux appelé néoplasie intra-épithéliale anale (AIN). Cela signifie que les cellules ne sont pas encore cancéreuses, mais qu’elles risquent de le devenir si elles ne sont pas traitées.

Dans certains cas, les cellules modifiées du canal anal ou de la peau péri-anale peuvent devenir cancéreuses. Le cancer de l’anus prend généralement naissance dans des cellules rondes et plates, appelées cellules malpighiennes, qui se trouvent à l’intérieur du canal anal et qui forment la peau péri-anale. Ce type de cancer porte le nom de carcinome épidermoïde de l’anus.

Il existe aussi d’autres types rares de cancer de l’anus, tels que l’adénocarcinome, le carcinome basocellulaire, le mélanome et la tumeur stromale gastro-intestinale (TSGI).

Histoires

Dr Troy Harkness À la recherche de nouveaux moyens de traiter les cancers pharmacorésistants

Plus de details

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus