Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Changing where you live

To get the care they need, people with cancer sometimes need to make changes to where they live. The change could be permanent or just for while you have treatment. You might need to think about changing your living arrangements if:

  • You live far away from where you will be treated.
  • You live alone or your caregiver doesn’t live with you or near you.
  • You no longer feel comfortable or safe in your home.

If you think you need to change your living arrangements, it can help to talk about your options with family and friends. They may have ideas or suggestions that can help you decide where to live. Your healthcare team or a social worker may also be able to help you find temporary lodging during treatment. Many cancer treatment centres have lodges close by where people with cancer can stay during treatment.

Moving can be difficult. If you need to move, or if you must travel far from home for treatment, it can help to take a few little things from home with you, like family photographs or your favourite pillow. This way, there will be something familiar even in a strange place.

Stories

Dr Simon Graham Developed a new technology for brain cancer surgery

Read more

Cancer information in over a hundred languages

Illustration of question mark

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Cancer Information Service (CIS) is Canada’s only national, bilingual, toll-free service that offers personalized comprehensive cancer information in over 100 languages.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Changement de domicile

Pour recevoir les soins dont elles ont besoin, les personnes atteintes de cancer doivent parfois changer de domicile. Ce changement peut être permanent ou durer juste le temps de leur traitement. Il est possible que vous deviez penser à modifier votre façon de vous loger si :

  • vous habitez loin du centre où le traitement sera administré
  • vous vivez seul ou votre aidant ne vit pas avec vous ou près de vous
  • vous ne vous sentez plus bien ou en sécurité chez vous

Si vous croyez que vous devez modifier votre façon de vous loger, il pourrait être utile de discuter de vos options avec votre famille et vos amis. Ils peuvent avoir une idée de l’endroit où vous pourriez habiter ou des suggestions à vous faire. Votre équipe de soins de santé ou un travailleur social pourrait aussi vous aider à trouver un endroit où vous habiterez temporairement lors de votre traitement. Des maisons d'hébergement sont situées près de nombreux centres de traitement où les personnes atteintes peuvent demeurer le temps de leur traitement.

Déménager peut être difficile. Si vous devez le faire, ou si vous devez vous éloigner de chez vous pour suivre votre traitement, il peut être utile d’apporter quelques petites choses de la maison, comme des photos de famille ou votre oreiller préféré. Vous aurez ainsi quelque chose de familier dans un lieu étranger.

Histoires

Stella Gentil-Perret C’est un formidable système de soutien

Lisez l'histoire de Stella

Une communauté de soutien en ligne, digne de confiance

Illustration d’un ordinateur

Parlonscancer.ca est une communauté en ligne sur laquelle les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs proches peuvent compter.

Apprenez-en plus