Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Dealing with change

Finding out you or someone you love has cancer brings many changes.

Whether you’re newly diagnosed, in active treatment, or are caring for someone with cancer, you will probably need to deal with many practical issues, make tough decisions and cope with a range of emotions.

There are many ways that you can cope. No one can predict exactly how cancer will affect day-to-day life. While you can’t control the future, you can think about what changes may happen and how you would deal with them if they arise.

Stories

Harold Johns His amazing career and legacy live on today, inspiring a new generation of scientists who are discovering new ways to harness the power of medical imaging to improve cancer diagnosis and treatment.

Read Harold's story

Advocating for cancer patients

Illustration of a bullhorn

Our staff and volunteers meet with elected officials from local, provincial and national governments to persuade them to make the fight against cancer one of their top priorities.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Faire face au changement

Découvrir que vous ou que quelqu’un que vous aimez êtes atteint de cancer engendre de nombreux changements.

Que le diagnostic soit récent, que vous soyez en traitement actif ou que vous preniez soin d’une personne atteinte de cancer, vous devrez probablement faire face à de nombreuses questions pratiques, prendre des décisions difficiles et traverser toute une gamme d’émotions.

Vous pouvez faire face à la situation de bien des façons. Personne ne peut prévoir exactement comment le cancer affectera la vie au quotidien. Bien que vous ne puissiez pas contrôler l’avenir, vous pouvez penser aux changements qui pourraient se produire et comment vous gèreriez certaines situations si elles se présentaient.

Histoires

Dr Christopher Phenix Le Dr Christopher Phenix a conçu un nouvel outil pour surveiller les formes agressives de cancer.

Plus de details

Information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues

Illustration d’un point d’interrogation

Le Service d’information sur le cancer (SIC) de la Société canadienne du cancer est le seul service téléphonique national, bilingue et sans frais au Canada à offrir de l’information sur le cancer dans plus de cent langues.

Apprenez-en plus