Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Living with cancer

When you or someone you love is diagnosed with cancer, it’s hard to know what to expect. In the early days after diagnosis, your main focus might be learning about the cancer and working with your healthcare team to come up with a treatment plan. But medical issues are only one part of living with cancer.

It’s important to know that everyone’s cancer experience is different. Some people get through treatment and find that their life hasn’t changed as much as they had expected. For others, their life changes completely. Some people find living with cancer to be the biggest challenge of their life. It changes everything from relationships to work, finances to daily routines. Cancer treatments can affect the way you look and feel and the way that your body works. Cancer also affects your emotions and your plans for the future.

Most people living with cancer need to find ways of coping with the practical issues and other changes that cancer can bring. And everyone does this in their own way.


Nikki Ross Volunteering during Daffodil Month is a fun way to show your support.

Read Nikki's story

Celebrating cancer survivors at Relay For Life

Relay For Life illustration

For cancer survivors, the Canadian Cancer Society provides a unique opportunity to celebrate their courage in the fight against cancer. During hundreds of Relay For Life events across the country, thousands of survivors join together for the Survivors’ Victory Lap.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Vivre avec le cancer

Lorsque vous ou l’un de vos proches recevez un diagnostic de cancer, il est difficile de savoir à quoi s’attendre. Dans les premiers jours qui suivent le diagnostic, votre principale préoccupation pourrait être d’en apprendre davantage sur le cancer et de collaborer avec votre équipe de soins de santé afin de vous entendre sur un plan de traitement. Mais les questions médicales ne constituent qu’une partie de la vie avec un cancer.

Il est important de savoir que l’expérience du cancer diffère pour chacun. Certaines personnes passent à travers leur traitement en trouvant que leur vie n’a pas changé autant qu’elles le croyaient. Pour d’autres, la vie change complètement. Il y a des gens qui trouvent que vivre avec le cancer est le plus gros défi de leur vie. Il change tout, des relations au travail, de la situation financière à la routine quotidienne. Les traitements du cancer peuvent affecter votre apparence et comment vous vous sentez ainsi que la façon dont votre corps fonctionne. Le cancer affecte aussi vos émotions et vos plans d’avenir.

La plupart des gens atteints de cancer doivent trouver comment faire face aux questions pratiques et autres changements que le cancer apporte. Et chacun le fait à sa façon.

Histoires

Sarah Metcalfe Il est primordial que la Société canadienne du cancer offre du soutien et finance la recherche.

Lisez l'histoire de Sarah

Ensemble, nous pouvons réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – bécher

L’an dernier, avec les fonds dont nous disposions, nous avons réussi à financer seulement 40 pour cent des projets de recherche considérés comme de grandes priorités. Imaginez l’impact que nous pourrions avoir si nous étions capables d’en financer 100 pour cent.

Apprenez-en plus