Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Living with cancer

When you or someone you love is diagnosed with cancer, it’s hard to know what to expect. In the early days after diagnosis, your main focus might be learning about the cancer and working with your healthcare team to come up with a treatment plan. But medical issues are only one part of living with cancer.

It’s important to know that everyone’s cancer experience is different. Some people get through treatment and find that their life hasn’t changed as much as they had expected. For others, their life changes completely. Some people find living with cancer to be the biggest challenge of their life. It changes everything from relationships to work, finances to daily routines. Cancer treatments can affect the way you look and feel and the way that your body works. Cancer also affects your emotions and your plans for the future.

Most people living with cancer need to find ways of coping with the practical issues and other changes that cancer can bring. And everyone does this in their own way.


 Bree Garnier at Relay For Life I think the hope is that it creates awareness – that others see Bree as someone who is making a difference.

Read Bree's story

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Vivre avec le cancer

Lorsque vous ou l’un de vos proches recevez un diagnostic de cancer, il est difficile de savoir à quoi s’attendre. Dans les premiers jours qui suivent le diagnostic, votre principale préoccupation pourrait être d’en apprendre davantage sur le cancer et de collaborer avec votre équipe de soins de santé afin de vous entendre sur un plan de traitement. Mais les questions médicales ne constituent qu’une partie de la vie avec un cancer.

Il est important de savoir que l’expérience du cancer diffère pour chacun. Certaines personnes passent à travers leur traitement en trouvant que leur vie n’a pas changé autant qu’elles le croyaient. Pour d’autres, la vie change complètement. Il y a des gens qui trouvent que vivre avec le cancer est le plus gros défi de leur vie. Il change tout, des relations au travail, de la situation financière à la routine quotidienne. Les traitements du cancer peuvent affecter votre apparence et comment vous vous sentez ainsi que la façon dont votre corps fonctionne. Le cancer affecte aussi vos émotions et vos plans d’avenir.

La plupart des gens atteints de cancer doivent trouver comment faire face aux questions pratiques et autres changements que le cancer apporte. Et chacun le fait à sa façon.

Histoires

Hannah Toutefois, pouvoir aller au camp Goodtimes tous ensemble en famille nous a aidé.

Lisez l'histoire de Hannah

Accès aux services offerts dans votre communauté

Illustration de maisons côte à côte

Le répertoire de services à la communauté de la Société canadienne du cancer aide les personnes atteintes de cancer et leurs familles à trouver les services et programmes disponibles dans leur communauté.

Apprenez-en plus