Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Pregnancy after cancer treatment

For some people, life after cancer includes plans to have a baby. Before starting cancer treatments, you should have a conversation with your healthcare team about your plans. This way your treatment can be planned so it will have a smaller risk on your ability to have children.

It’s important to talk to your healthcare team about becoming pregnant after cancer treatment. In advising you on when and if it is safe to try to have a baby after cancer treatment, your healthcare team usually consider these factors: 

  • the type and stage of cancer
  • the chances of the cancer coming back
    • Since some cancers do recur, people are usually advised to wait a few years after finishing cancer treatment until the risk of recurrence has decreased.
  • the type of cancer treatment you received
  • the prognosisprognosis1. The expected outcome or course of a disease. 2. The chance of recovery or recurrence.
  • your age and wishes
  • other social aspects

Cancer treatments should be finished for a period of time before you try to have a child. Women should wait at least 6 months to allow any eggs that were damaged by treatment to leave the body. Men may have to wait up to 2 years after treatment for sperm to repair itself. In some cases, the healthcare team may recommend waiting 2 to 5 years, as most cancers recur in that time.

Concerns about infertility

Unfortunately, cancer treatments can cause fertility problems and you may have trouble conceiving, at least for a period of time. Radiation therapy can affect fertility for men and women. Chemotherapy can cause reproductive organ damage. Hormonal therapy can also cause fertility problems. There are many fertility options for people who wish to become pregnant after treatment, although some people may find it very difficult or impossible to have children after treatment.

Other concerns

As much as you may want a baby, it’s normal to worry that being pregnant may make your cancer come back. Current research suggests that pregnancy after cancer does not cause recurrence, even after breast cancer.

As a cancer survivor, it’s normal to worry that you will pass a cancer gene to your children or that they will have an increased risk of cancer. Only a very small percentage of cancers are inherited, so in most cases, your child’s risk of developing cancer appears to be the same as that of the general public. If you had a genetically linked cancer, talk to your doctor about your concerns and ask about genetic counselling.

You may worry that your treatment may cause birth defects or health problems for your future child. If you’ve waited for the suggested period of time to become healthy after your cancer treatment has ended, your child doesn’t have a higher risk of birth defects or other health problems. Problems are more likely if a baby is conceived during or too soon after treatment.

You may have questions about having a normal pregnancy. For many women, pregnancy after cancer treatment has few problems. In some women, pregnancy may be more complicated or difficult because of cancer treatment side effects, and they may be referred to a specialist in high-risk pregnancies.


Mary Antonenko We all need our own personal support system, but no matter how good your own personal support system is, it’s not the same as connecting with other survivors.

Read Mary's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:

Grossesse après un traitement du cancer

Pour certaines personnes, la vie après un cancer comporte une grossesse. Avant de commencer le traitement du cancer, vous devriez discuter avec votre équipe de soins de santé de ce projet. Elle pourra planifier votre traitement de façon à ce que votre capacité d’engendrer des enfants soit moins affectée.

Il est important de dire à votre équipe de soins que vous souhaitez avoir un enfant après le traitement du cancer. L'équipe considère habituellement tous les facteurs qui suivent avant de vous indiquer quand et si cela ne présenterait pas de danger d'essayer d'avoir un enfant après un traitement du cancer :

  • type et stade du cancer
  • risque de réapparition du cancer
    • Puisque certains cancers récidivent, on conseille habituellement d'attendre quelques années à la suite du traitement afin que le risque diminue.
  • type de traitement administré
  • pronosticpronostic1. Issue ou évolution prévue d’une maladie. 2. Chance de guérison ou risque de récidive.
  • âge et désirs
  • autres aspects sociaux

Le traitement du cancer devrait être fini depuis un certain temps avant d’essayer d’avoir un enfant. Une femme devrait attendre au moins 6 mois afin de permettre à ses ovules endommagés par le traitement d’évacuer son corps. Un homme doit attendre jusqu’à 2 ans afin que son sperme se rétablisse. Dans certains cas, l’équipe de soins peut recommander d’attendre entre 2 à 5 ans, puisque la plupart des cancers récidivent au cours de cette période.

Inquiétudes à l’égard de la fertilité

Malheureusement, il y a des traitements du cancer qui peuvent causer des troubles de la fertilité et vous pourriez avoir de la difficulté à faire un enfant, au moins pendant un certain temps. La radiothérapie risque d’affecter la fertilité de l’homme et de la femme. La chimiothérapie peut causer des dommages aux organes reproducteurs. L’hormonothérapie peut aussi provoquer des troubles de la fertilité. Il existe des options de fertilité pour les personnes qui souhaitent engendrer un enfant après leur traitement, bien que certaines trouvent très difficile ou impossible de concevoir des enfants après leur traitement.

Autres préoccupations

Même si vous voulez vraiment avoir un enfant, il est normal que vous vous demandiez si une grossesse peut faire réapparaître le cancer. La recherche actuelle laisse entendre qu’une grossesse après un cancer ne cause pas de récidive, même après un cancer du sein.

En tant que survivant au cancer, il est normal que vous vous demandiez si vous transmettrez un gène du cancer à vos enfants ou s’ils risquent davantage d’être atteints de cancer. Seul un très faible pourcentage de cancers sont héréditaires, alors, dans la plupart des cas, le risque de vos enfants semble être à peu près le même que celui de la population en général. Si votre cancer était lié à un gène, parlez de vos inquiétudes à votre médecin et posez des questions sur les consultations génétiques.

Vous pouvez vous demander si votre traitement peut causer des anomalies congénitales ou des problèmes de santé à vos futurs enfants. Si vous avez attendu le temps suggéré pour retrouver la santé après le traitement du cancer, votre enfant ne risque pas davantage d’être affecté d’une anomalie congénitale ou d’autres problèmes de santé. Les problèmes sont plus susceptibles d’apparaître si un bébé a été conçu en cours de traitement ou peu de temps après.

Vous pourriez vous poser des questions sur la possibilité d’avoir une grossesse normale. Pour de nombreuses femmes, une grossesse après le traitement du cancer engendre peu de problèmes. Chez certaines femmes, la grossesse peut être plus compliquée ou difficile en raison des effets secondaires du traitement, et on pourrait alors les référer à un spécialiste en grossesse à haut risque.

Histoires

Photo of Pat Hartley Malgré l’expérience et les connaissances que j’avais sur le cancer, j’étais en état de choc.

Lisez l'histoire de Pat

Défense des intérêts des personnes atteintes de cancer

Illustration d’un mégaphone

Nos employés et bénévoles rencontrent les élus des divers paliers de gouvernement (municipal, provincial et fédéral) pour les convaincre de faire de la lutte contre le cancer une de leurs priorités.

Apprenez-en plus