Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori)

Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) is a bacteriumbacteriumAny of a variety of single-celled micro-organisms that can cause infectious diseases in humans and animals. that grows in the inner lining of the stomach (mucosa). H. pylori causes a common stomach infection. It is also an important cause of stomach cancer and some types of lymphoma of the stomach.

H. pylori infection is common. Generally, rates of H. pylori infection are higher in developing countries than in developed countries. Some Canadians have much higher infection rates, including First Nations communities and immigrants from countries such as Japan, Korea and China, where there is a high incidence of H. pylori infection.

Most people are infected with H. pylori during childhood. H. pylori infection usually lasts for life unless it is treated. Most people infected with H. pylori don’t have any symptoms or health problems related to the bacterium. Some people with chronic infection develop symptoms, such as stomach pain, nausea or vomiting. H. pylori can cause chronic inflammation of the inner lining of the stomach (gastritis) and stomach ulcers. About 10%–15% of people with H. pylori infection develop peptic ulcer disease (sores or ulcers in the lining of the stomach or duodenum of the small intestine).

Exposure

It is not known for sure how H. pylori spreads, but it is thought to spread through contaminated food and water. People may pick up the bacterium from food that has not been washed well or cooked properly. They may also get it from drinking water from an unclean source. It may also be passed from person to person through direct contact with the saliva or stool of an infected person.

Risk factors associated with H. pylori infection include:

  • crowded living conditions
  • poor sanitation
  • increased number of siblings (especially when sharing beds)
  • lower socio-economic status

Back to top

H. pylori and cancer

H. pylori infection causes certain cancers and other illnesses.

Stomach cancer

H. pylori infection is a major cause of stomach (gastric) cancer. H. pylori causes chronic gastritis, which is thought to be the first step in the development of stomach cancer. H. pylori infection is a necessary, but not the only, cause of adenocarcinoma, which is the most common type of cancer that occurs in the non-cardia regions of the stomach. The cardia region of the stomach is the small, upper part of the stomach near the esophagus. The non-cardia regions are the remaining parts of the stomach. Adenocarcinoma accounts for up to 95% of all stomach cancers.

Less than 3% of people with H. pylori infection develop stomach cancer.

MALT lymphoma

H. pylori infection is associated with a higher risk of MALT lymphoma of the stomach. This is a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). MALT lymphoma of the stomach accounts for less than 2% of all stomach cancers. Nearly all MALT lymphomas of the stomach are related to H. pylori infection. People infected with H. pylori have a low risk of developing MALT lymphoma (less than 1%).

Other illnesses

H. pylori has been linked with other cancers, such as pancreatic and colorectal cancer, but there is not enough evidence to say for sure whether or not it is a risk factor for these cancers.

There is some evidence that H. pylori may also help prevent some childhood diseases, such as asthma. It may also prevent adult diseases, such as esophageal adenocarcinoma. More research is needed to confirm these findings.

Back to top

How to test for H. pylori infection

Testing for H. pylori can be done using a variety of tools.

TestDescription

breath test

The urea breath test (UBT) is a non-invasive tool used to detect H. pylori infection. It is very good at detecting H. pylori. In Canada, UBT is the preferred non-invasive test for H. plylori infection.

blood test

A blood test (serology) detects specific antibodies to H. pylori, which the immune system develops in response to the bacterium. The blood test shows if someone has been exposed to H. pylori. A positive test indicates an infection is present or the person had an infection in the past.

stool test

Some tests detect H. pylori  antigensantigensA foreign substance that stimulates the immune system to produce antibodies against it. in stool. Although stool antigen testing is accurate and easy to do, it is not as good at finding H. pylori as the other tests.

In certain situations, an upper GI endoscopy (gastroscopy) is done to diagnose H. pylori infection. During endoscopy, the doctor takes biopsies of the stomach lining. These samples are used to confirm a diagnosis of H. pylori, detect complications associated with H. pylori infection (such as suspected peptic ulcer) or rule out other health problems.

Back to top

Who should be tested for H. pylori infection

The Canadian Helicobacter Study Group (CHSG) developed guidelines for the care of Canadians with H. pylori infection, including children and adults. Routine testing for H. pylori is not recommended if an adult or child does not have any symptoms (asymptomatic) and does not have a past history of peptic ulcer disease. Most experts agree that the current evidence does not support widespread testing for and treating H. pylori infection.

However, there is evidence to support testing and treating H. pylori in certain high-risk individuals.

  • Testing for H. pylori infection is reasonable in people with symptoms of dyspepsia (such as upper abdominal pain or discomfort), a gastric or duodenal ulcer or a past history of ulcers.
  • People who come from or have ancestors from a region where there is a high incidence of H. pylori infection and a higher incidence of stomach cancer should be tested and treated for this bacterium.
  • People with a strong family history of stomach cancer in first-degree relatives (parents, brothers, sisters or children) should be tested and treated for H. pylori infection.
    • First-degree relatives may have a 2–3 times greater risk of developing gastric cancer.
  • People with MALT lymphoma should be tested for H. pylori and treated if the test result is positive.
  • People having surgery (resection) for early stomach cancer should be tested for H. pylori infection.
  • People starting long-term treatment with non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) or acetylsalicylic acid (aspirin, ASA) should be tested for H. pylori infection and treated if the test result is positive.

Japan, Korea and Matsu Island in Taiwan continue to have a high incidence of H. pylori infection and gastric cancer. These countries have population-based screening programs to find and treat H. pylori infection.

Back to top

Treating H. pylori infection

People infected with H. pylori are usually given a course of triple therapy that lasts 7–14 days.

  • Triple therapy includes a proton pump inhibitor (PPI) and 2 antibiotics.
    • The PPI medication lowers stomach acid production, which allows the tissues damaged by the infection to heal.
    • Antibiotics help make sure the treatment works.
  • Quadruple therapy is another treatment. It consists of a PPI, 2 antibiotics and bismuth subsalicylate.
    • Bismuth subsalicylate is a drug used for upset stomach. It helps slow the growth of bacteria.

H. pylori infection usually responds to treatment. Treatment cures H. pylori infection in 80%–90% of people.

  • Most low-grade MALT lymphomas linked to H. pylori infection can be cured by getting rid of H. pylori. Treating H. pylori is strongly associated with remission of low-grade MALT lymphoma.

There is not enough evidence to support treating children for H. pylori infection to prevent stomach cancer later in life.

Back to top

Reducing your risk

The source of H. pylori is not yet known, so there aren’t specific recommendations for avoiding infection. In general, it is always wise for you to:

  • Wash your hands thoroughly.
  • Eat food that has been properly prepared.
  • Drink water from a safe, clean source.

Back to top

Stories

Dave McKeage Within about 12 hours of being at Camp Goodtime, everything started to change, and that week was cathartic, transformative. It was the first time I got to know myself.

Read Dave's story

Trusted online community of support

Illustration of computer

Cancerconnection.ca provides a trusted online community for cancer patients, their family and friends.

Learn more

A A A


Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori)

Exposition

H. pylori et cancer

Comment détecter l’infection à H. pylori

Qui devrait passer un test de dépistage de l’infection à H. pylori

Traitement de l’infection à H. pylori

Réduction du risque

 

Le Helicobacter pylori (H. pylori) est une bactérie qui croît dans le revêtement interne de l’estomac (muqueuse). Le H pylori cause une infection courante de l’estomac. Il est aussi une cause importante du cancer de l’estomac et de certains types de lymphome de l’estomac.

 

L’infection à H. pylori est courante. En général, les taux d’infection à H. pylori sont plus élevés dans les pays en développement que dans les pays développés. Chez certains Canadiens, les taux d’infection sont beaucoup plus élevés, entre autres chez les peuples des Premières Nations et les immigrants du Japon, de la Corée et de la Chine, où l’incidence de l’infection à H. pylori est élevée.

 

Dans la plupart des cas, les gens sont infectés par le H. pylori alors qu’ils sont enfants. L’infection à H. pylori dure généralement toute la vie sauf si elle est traitée. La majorité des personnes atteintes de cette infection ne présentent pas de symptômes ou de problèmes de santé liés à la bactérie. Certaines personnes dont l’infection est chronique éprouvent des symptômes, comme une douleur à l’estomac, des nausées ou des vomissements. Le H. pylori peut causer une inflammation chronique du revêtement interne de l’estomac (gastrite) et des ulcères à l’estomac. Environ 10 à 15 % des personnes atteintes d’une infection à H. pylori développeront une maladie ulcéreuse gastroduodénale, soit des lésions ou des ulcères dans le revêtement de l’estomac ou du duodénum (première partie de l’intestin grêle).

Exposition

On ne sait pas exactement comment le H. pylori se propage, mais on croit que c’est dans la nourriture et l’eau contaminées. Une personne peut attraper cette bactérie en mangeant un aliment qui n’a pas été bien lavé ou cuit correctement. Elle pourrait aussi l’attraper en buvant de l’eau provenant d’une source souillée. La bactérie pourrait aussi se transmettre d’une personne à une autre par contact direct avec la salive ou les selles d’une personne infectée.

 

Les facteurs de risque liés à l’infection au H. pylori sont entre autres ceux-ci :

  • logement surpeuplé
  • mauvaise hygiène
  • beaucoup de frères et de sœurs (en particulier s’ils partagent leur lit)
  • statut socio-économique moins élevé

 

Retour au menu

H. pylori et cancer

L’infection à H. pylori cause certains cancers et d’autres maladies.

Cancer de l’estomac

L’infection à H. pylori est une cause majeure du cancer de l’estomac (gastrique). Le H. pylori provoque la gastrite chronique, qu’on croit être la première étape du développement du cancer de l’estomac. L’infection à H. pylori est une cause nécessaire, mais non la seule, à l’apparition de l’adénocarcinome, type le plus courant de cancer qui apparaît dans les régions non cardiales de l’estomac. La région cardiale de l’estomac est la petite partie supérieure de l’estomac située près de l’œsophage. Les régions non cardiales sont les autres parties de l’estomac. L’adénocarcinome représente jusqu’à 95 % de tous les cancers de l’estomac.

 

Moins de 3 % des personnes qui ont une infection à H. pylori seront un jour atteintes d’un cancer de l’estomac.

Lymphome du MALT

L’infection à H. pylori est liée à une hausse du risque d’apparition d’un lymphome du MALT de l’estomac. C’est un type de lymphome non hodgkinien (LNH). Le lymphome du MALT de l’estomac représente moins de 2 % de tous les cancers de l’estomac. Presque tous les lymphomes du MALT de l’estomac sont liés à l’infection à H. pylori. Les personnes infectées par le H. pylori risquent peu d’être atteintes d’un lymphome du MALT (moins de 1 %).

Autres maladies

On a établi un lien entre le H. pylori et d’autres cancers, comme le cancer du pancréas et le cancer colorectal, mais on n’a pas suffisamment de preuves pour dire avec certitude si c’est un facteur de risque de ces cancers.

 

Quelques observations permettent d’avancer que le H. pylori peut aussi aider à prévenir certaines maladies infantiles, comme l’asthme. Il pourrait aussi prévenir des maladies chez l’adulte, comme l’adénocarcinome de l’œsophage. On doit faire plus de recherches pour confirmer ces découvertes.

 

Retour au menu

Comment détecter l’infection à H. pylori

On peut détecter le H. pylori à l’aide de diverses méthodes.

 

Test

Description

Test respiratoire

Le test respiratoire à l’urée (UBT) est un outil non effractif qui permet de détecter l’infection à H. pylori. Il est très efficace. Au Canada, on privilégie ce test parmi tous les tests non effractifs pour détecter l’infection à H. pylori.

Analyse sanguine

Une analyse sanguine (sérologie) permet de détecter des anticorps spécifiques au H. pylori que le système immunitaire fabrique en réponse à cette bactérie. L’analyse sanguine révèle si une personne a été exposée au H. pylori. Un résultat positif indique que l’infection est présente ou que la personne a déjà été infectée autrefois.

Analyse des selles

Certaines analyses permettent de détecter les antigènes du H. pylori dans les selles. Bien que l’analyse des selles à la recherche des antigènes soit précise et facile à faire, elle n’est pas aussi efficace que les autres tests pour détecter le H. pylori.

Endoscopie

Dans certains cas, on fait une endoscopie digestive haute (gastroscopie) pour diagnostiquer l’infection à H. pylori. Lors de l’intervention, le médecin fait des biopsies du revêtement de l’estomac. Ces prélèvements servent à confirmer un diagnostic de H. pylori, à détecter des complications liées à une infection à H. pylori, comme un ulcère gastroduodénal présumé, ou à écarter d’autres problèmes de santé.

 

Retour au menu

Qui devrait passer un test de dépistage de l’infection à H. pylori

Le Canadian Helicobacter Study Group (CHSG) a élaboré des lignes directrices sur les soins à apporter aux personnes atteintes d’une infection à H. pylori, dont les enfants et les adultes. On ne recommande pas de faire systématiquement passer un test de dépistage à un adulte ou à un enfant qui ne présente pas de symptômes (asymptomatique) et qui n’a pas d’antécédents de maladie ulcéreuse gastroduodénale. La plupart des experts s’entendent pour dire que la preuve actuelle ne permet pas d’appuyer le dépistage à grande échelle de l’infection à H. pylori ainsi que son traitement.

 

Cependant, on a des preuves qui permettent d’appuyer le dépistage et le traitement du H. pylori chez certaines personnes à risque élevé.

  • Il est raisonnable de dépister l’infection à H. pylori chez les personnes présentant des symptômes de dyspepsie, comme une douleur ou un malaise dans la partie supérieure de l’abdomen, un ulcère gastrique ou duodénal ou des antécédents d’ulcères.
  • On devrait faire passer un test de dépistage aux personnes qui viennent d’une région où l’incidence de l’infection à H. pylori est élevée et où l’incidence de cancer de l’estomac est encore plus élevée ou bien dont les ancêtres viennent d’une de ces régions et il faudrait aussi les traiter pour cette bactérie.
  • On devrait faire passer un test de dépistage aux personnes ayant d’importants antécédents familiaux de cancer de l’estomac chez des parents au premier degré (père, mère, frères, sœurs ou enfants) et il faudrait aussi les traiter pour l’infection à H. pylori.
    • Les parents au premier degré peuvent risquer de 2 à 3 fois plus d’être un jour atteints d’un cancer de l’estomac.
  • On devrait faire passer un test de dépistage du H. pylori aux personnes atteintes d’un lymphome du MALT et les traiter si le résultat est positif.
  • On devrait faire passer un test de dépistage de l’infection à H. pylori aux personnes qui doivent subir une chirurgie (résection) pour un cancer précoce de l’estomac.
  • On devrait faire passer un test de dépistage de l’infection à H. pylori aux personnes qui prendront à long terme des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) ou de l’acide acétylsalicylique (aspirine, AAS) et les traiter si le résultat est positif.

 

Au Japon, en Corée et à l’île Matsu à Taïwan, l’incidence d’infection à H. pylori et de cancer de l’estomac est toujours élevée. Ces pays offrent des programmes de dépistage fondés sur la population afin de détecter et de traiter l’infection à H. pylori.

 

Retour au menu

Traitement de l’infection à H. pylori

Les personnes infectées par le H. pylori reçoivent habituellement une trithérapie qui dure en tout de 7 à 14 jours.

  • La trithérapie comprend un inhibiteur de la pompe à protons (IPP) et 2 antibiotiques.
    • Le médicament appelé IPP réduit la production d’acide dans l’estomac, ce qui permet aux tissus endommagés par l’infection de guérir.
    • Les antibiotiques aident à s’assurer que le traitement soit efficace.
  • La quadrithérapie est un autre traitement. Elle comprend un IPP, 2 antibiotiques ainsi que du sous-salicylate de bismuth.
    • Le sous-salicylate de bismuth est un médicament employé pour les dérangements d’estomac. Il aide à ralentir la croissance des bactéries.

 

L’infection à H. pylori réagit habituellement au traitement. Le traitement guérit l’infection à H. pylori chez 80 à 90 % des gens.

  • La plupart des lymphomes du MALT de bas grade qui sont liés à l’infection à H. pylori peuvent être guéris si on se débarrasse de cette bactérie. Le traitement du H. pylori est fortement lié à la rémission du lymphome du MALT de bas grade.

 

On n’a pas suffisamment de preuves pour appuyer le traitement des enfants atteints d’une infection à H. pylori afin de prévenir le cancer de l’estomac plus tard.

 

Retour au menu

Réduction du risque

On ne sait pas encore d’où provient le H. pylori, alors il n’existe pas de recommandations spécifiques pour éviter l’infection. En général, il est toujours sage de :

  • se laver les mains à fond
  • consommer des aliments qui ont été préparés adéquatement
  • boire de l’eau provenant d’une source salubre et sécuritaire

 

Retour au menu

References

Nous sommes là pour vous. Dites-nous ce que vous désirez savoir, et un de nos spécialistes en information vous répondra par courriel ou par téléphone.

500

Nom:

Courriel:

Numéro de téléphone:

Code postal:

Nous pouvons fournir des renseignements sur les soins et les services de soutien pour le cancer au Canada uniquement. Si vous recherchez un organisme de lutte contre le cancer dans votre pays, visitez les sites de l’Union For International Cancer Control ou de l’International Cancer Information Service Group.