Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 

Lynch syndrome

Most colorectal cancers occur randomly or by chance (sporadically). Although about 20%–30% of people with colorectal cancer have a family history of this cancer, less than 10% of all colorectal cancers are due to a hereditary or inherited gene mutation. Lynch syndrome, also called hereditary non-polyposis colorectal cancer (HNPCC), is the most common type of hereditary colorectal cancer. About 2%–5% of all colorectal cancers are due to Lynch syndrome. People with Lynch syndrome have a greatly increased chance of developing colorectal cancer, especially at a young age (usually under 50).

Unlike familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP), most people with Lynch syndrome do not have an unusual number of colon polypspolypsA small cauliflower-like growth on a mucous membrane, such as the lining of the colon, bladder, uterus (womb), vocal cords or nasal passage.. If they do have colon polyps, they occur at an earlier age than in the general population. Although people with Lynch syndrome don’t have more polyps than people in the general population, the polyps that do develop are more likely to become cancerous.

Women with Lynch syndrome also have an increased risk of uterine (endometrial) cancer.

Other, rarer hereditary gene mutations are associated with an increased risk of colorectal cancer, but these are not discussed here.

Gene mutations associated with Lynch syndrome

People with Lynch syndrome have a mutation in one of 4 genes that normally correct mistakes when deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA)The molecules inside the cell that program genetic information. DNA determines the structure, function and behaviour of a cell. is copied during cell division. These genes are called DNA mismatch repair genes (MMR).

The 4 main MMR genes associated with Lynch syndrome are MLH1, MSH2, MSH6 and PMS2. Most mutations (90%) that cause Lynch syndrome are found in the MLH1 or MSH2 genes. The other 2 genes, MSH6 and PMS2, and possibly others, account for the other 10% of mutations.

Researchers have also identified different gene mutations associated with Lynch syndrome, but these are rare. Other mutations may be discovered in the future.

Back to top

Chances of inheriting Lynch syndrome

Men and women can inherit a gene mutation associated with Lynch syndrome from either their mother or father. People with one of these mutations can also pass it on to their children. If one parent has the mutation in 1 of the 2 copies of a Lynch syndrome gene, a child has a 50% chance of inheriting the gene mutation. This also means there is a 50% chance that a child will not inherit the gene mutation.

Healthcare professionals use certain criteria to determine if a Lynch syndrome gene mutation may be present in a family. These are referred to as the Amsterdam criteria.

  • At least 3 family members have colorectal cancer or another cancer related to Lynch syndrome. At least 1 of these family members is a first-degree relative (parent, sibling or child) of the other 2 family members.
  • At least 1 family member was diagnosed with cancer before age 50.
  • Cancer occurs in at least 2 generations in a row.
  • FAP has been ruled out.

Back to top

Risk of cancer

People with Lynch syndrome often have several family members with colorectal cancer and other cancers related to Lynch syndrome. These cancers are often diagnosed at younger ages than usually expected and often occur in several generations.

People with Lynch syndrome have a 70%–80% chance of developing colorectal cancer in their lifetime (lifetime risklifetime riskThe chance or probability that a person will develop a particular disease over his or her entire life.). Their level of risk depends on which gene mutation they have. Cancerous tumours usually develop in the part of the colon closest to the small intestine (the ascending or right side of the colon). Women with Lynch syndrome have a 40%–60% lifetime risk of developing uterine cancer.

People with Lynch syndrome are also at risk for other cancers, including ovarian, small intestine, stomach, pancreatic, urinary tract, liver, biliary tract, skin and brain cancer. These cancers occur less commonly in people with Lynch syndrome than colorectal or uterine cancer.

Back to top

Variants of Lynch syndrome

There are 2 variants of Lynch syndrome:

  • Turcot syndrome is a variant of both Lynch syndrome and familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP). With Lynch syndrome, Turcot syndrome is associated with mutations in the MLH1 and PMS2 genes. Turcot syndrome increases the risk of colorectal cancer, as well as certain brain tumours (most often glioblastoma).
  • Muir-Torre syndrome is another variant of Lynch syndrome. It is caused by a mutation in the MSH2 and MLH1 genes. Muir-Torre syndrome increases the risk of colorectal cancers, sebaceous glandsebaceous glandA gland in the dermis (the lower or inner layer of the skin) that makes oil and releases it into the hair follicle. tumours and certain skin tumours (called keratoacanthomas).

Back to top

Genetic testing

Genetic testing is available for specific types of hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes. It can be used to confirm a suspected diagnosis, clarify the risk of cancer in affected people and identify relatives who are also at risk.

It may be possible to diagnose Lynch syndrome when several family members on the same side of the family have colorectal cancer or a person develops multiple cancers during their lifetime. A diagnosis of Lynch syndrome or a family history of Lynch syndrome is the main risk factor that suggests genetic testing for a gene mutation related to Lynch syndrome.

In most cases, genetic testing for Lynch syndrome begins on a sample from a colorectal or uterine tumour. Special tests, called microsatellite instability (MSI) assay and immunohistochemical (IHC) analysis, are done to see if the tumour has a Lynch syndrome gene mutation. If the tumour tests positive for Lynch syndrome, a blood sample is taken and genetic testing is done to look for Lynch syndrome gene mutations. The person will also receive genetic counselling.

A healthcare professional will determine if people are eligible for genetic screening. If they qualify for testing, they will likely be referred to a genetic program where geneticists or genetic counsellors do more detailed assessments. In Canada, genetic testing to see if a family member carries a gene mutation related to Lynch syndrome is done through hereditary (familial) cancer programs. People have to meet certain criteria before they have genetic testing for hereditary colorectal cancer.

Back to top

Reducing your risk and early detection

People who know they have a Lynch syndrome gene mutation (they tested positive for one of the Lynch syndrome-related genes) should talk to their doctor about taking steps to help reduce their risk of cancer and to find it early.

  • People with Lynch syndrome and a high risk of colorectal cancer may need to be screened at an earlier age and more often than those with an average risk for colorectal cancer. This often includes having a colonoscopy every 1–2 years, starting at 20–25 years of age. For more information, go to screening for colorectal cancer.
  • People with Lynch syndrome may be offered prophylactic surgery (such as colectomy) if they:
    • can’t or refuse to have screening colonoscopies
    • have adenomatous polyps that can’t be removed during a colonoscopy
  • Women with Lynch syndrome may need to be tested at an earlier age and more often than those with an average risk for uterine or ovarian cancer. For more information, go to early detection of uterine cancer and early detection of ovarian cancer.
  • Women with Lynch syndrome who don’t want to have children in the future may be offered a prophylactic hysterectomyhysterectomyA surgical procedure to remove the uterus (womb). The cervix (the lower, narrow part of the uterus) may also be removed. or salpingo-oophorectomysalpingo-oophorectomyA surgical procedure to remove a Fallopian tube and an ovary. to help prevent uterine or ovarian cancer.

Back to top

Stories

Photo of Stuart Peacock Dr Peacock analyzed the costs and benefits of lung cancer screening.

Read more

Support from someone who has ‘been there’

Illustration of conversation

The Canadian Cancer Society’s peer support program is a telephone support service that matches cancer patients and their caregivers with specially trained volunteers.

Learn more

A A A


Syndrome de Lynch

Mutations génétiques liées au syndrome de Lynch

Risque d’hériter du syndrome de Lynch

Risque de cancer

Variantes du syndrome de Lynch

Dépistage génétique

Réduction du risque et détection précoce

 

La plupart des cancers colorectaux se manifestent de façon aléatoire, soit par hasard : ils sont donc sporadiques. Bien qu’environ 20 à 30 % des personnes atteintes d’un cancer colorectal aient des antécédents familiaux de cette maladie, moins de 10 % de tous les cancers colorectaux sont causés par une mutation génétique héréditaire. Le syndrome de Lynch, aussi appelé cancer colorectal héréditaire sans polypose (HNPCC), est le type de cancer colorectal héréditaire le plus courant. Environ 2 à 5 % de tous les cancers colorectaux sont attribuables au syndrome de Lynch. Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch risquent beaucoup plus d’être un jour atteintes d’un cancer colorectal, en particulier à un jeune âge (habituellement avant 50 ans).

 

Contrairement à la polypose adénomateuse familiale (PAF), le syndrome de Lynch n’est pas caractérisé par un nombre inhabituel de polypes dans le côlon. S’il y a des polypes dans le côlon, ils apparaissent à un plus jeune âge que chez la population générale. Bien que les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch n’aient pas plus de polypes que les gens faisant partie de la population générale, les polypes qui se développent sont plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreux.

 

Une femme atteinte du syndrome de Lynch risque également davantage de développer un cancer de l’utérus (endomètre).

 

D’autres mutations génétiques héréditaires plus rares sont liées à une hausse du risque de cancer colorectal, mais on ne les aborde pas ici.

Mutations génétiques liées au syndrome de Lynch

Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch sont porteuses d’une mutation dans l’un des 4 gènes qui corrigent normalement les erreurs commises lors de la copie de l’acide désoxyribonucléique (ADN) pendant la division cellulaire. Ces gènes sont appelés gènes de réparation mésappariés.

 

Les 4 principaux gènes de réparation mésappariés liés au syndrome de Lynch sont le MLH1, MSH2, MSH6 et PMS2. On observe la plupart des mutations (90 %) qui causent le syndrome de Lynch dans les gènes MLH1 et MSH2. Les 2 autres gènes, soit MSH6 et PMS2, et possiblement d’autres aussi, causent donc 10 % des mutations.

 

Des chercheurs ont également identifié différentes mutations génétiques liées au syndrome de Lynch, mais elles sont rares. Il est possible qu’on découvre d’autres mutations un jour.

 

Retour au menu

Risque d’hériter du syndrome de Lynch

L'homme et la femme peuvent hériter d’une mutation génétique liée au syndrome de Lynch de leur mère ou de leur père, et ils peuvent également la transmettre à leurs enfants. Si la mutation est présente dans l'une des deux copies d'un gène du syndrome de Lynch du père ou de la mère, le risque d'un enfant d'hériter de cette mutation génétique est de 50 %. Cela signifie également que l'enfant a 50 % de chances de ne pas hériter de la mutation.

 

Les professionnels de la santé ont recours à certains critères pour déterminer si une mutation du gène du syndrome de Lynch peut être présente dans une famille. Ce sont les critères d’Amsterdam :

  • au moins 3 membres de la famille sont atteints d’un cancer colorectal ou d’un autre cancer lié au syndrome de Lynch; au moins l’un d’entre eux est un parent au premier degré (mère, père, frère, sœur ou enfant) des 2 autres membres de la famille;
  • au moins 1 membre de la famille a reçu un diagnostic de cancer avant 50 ans;
  • le cancer a frappé au moins 2 générations de suite;
  • le diagnostic de PAF a été écarté.

 

Retour au menu

Risque de cancer

Il y a souvent plusieurs membres de la famille d’une personne atteinte du syndrome de Lynch qui sont affectées par le cancer colorectal et d’autres cancers liés au syndrome de Lynch. Ces cancers sont souvent diagnostiqués à un jeune âge que ce à quoi on s’attend habituellement et ils touchent souvent plusieurs générations.

 

Le risque d’une personne atteinte du syndrome de Lynch d’avoir un cancer colorectal au cours de sa vie (risque à vie) est de 70 à 80 %. Son niveau de risque dépend de quelle mutation génétique elle est porteuse. La tumeur cancéreuse se développe habituellement dans la partie du côlon la plus près de l’intestin grêle, soit le côlon ascendant qui est du côté droit. Le risque à vie d’une femme atteinte du syndrome de Lynch d’avoir un cancer de l’utérus est de 40 à 60 %.

 

Une personne atteinte du syndrome de Lynch risque également de voir apparaître d’autres cancers, dont les cancers de l’ovaire, de l’intestin grêle, de l’estomac, du pancréas, des voies urinaires, du foie, des voies biliaires, de la peau et du cerveau. Ces cancers se manifestent moins souvent chez une personne atteinte du syndrome de Lynch que le cancer colorectal ou le cancer de l’utérus.

 

Retour au menu

Variantes du syndrome de Lynch

Il existe 2 variantes du syndrome de Lynch.

  • Le syndrome de Turcot est une variante du syndrome de Lynch et de la polypose adénomateuse familiale (PAF). En tant que variante du syndrome de Lynch, le syndrome de Turcot est lié à des mutations dans les gènes MLH1 et PMS2. Le syndrome de Turcot accroît le risque de cancer colorectal ainsi que de certaines tumeurs cérébrales, plus souvent de glioblastome.
  • Le syndrome de Muir-Torre est une autre variante du syndrome de Lynch. Il est causé par une mutation dans les gènes MSH2 et MLH1. Le syndrome de Muir-Torre accroît le risque de cancer colorectal, de tumeur des glandes sébacées et de certaines tumeurs de la peau appelées kérato-acanthomes.

 

Retour au menu

Dépistage génétique

Le dépistage génétique se fait pour des types spécifiques de syndromes du cancer colorectal héréditaire. On peut y avoir recours pour confirmer un diagnostic présumé, clarifier le risque de cancer de personnes affectées et déterminer quels parents sont également à risque.

 

Il peut être possible de diagnostiquer le syndrome de Lynch quand plusieurs membres de la famille du même côté de la famille sont atteints d’un cancer colorectal ou quand une personne est atteinte de multiples cancers au cours de sa vie. Un diagnostic de syndrome de Lynch ou des antécédents familiaux de syndrome de Lynch sont les principaux facteurs de risque qui mènent au dépistage génétique d’une mutation liée au syndrome de Lynch.

 

Dans la plupart des cas, le dépistage génétique du syndrome de Lynch débute avec un prélèvement fait dans une tumeur colorectale ou utérine. On fait des tests particuliers, appelés analyse de l’instabilité des microsatellites (MSI) et analyse immunohistochimique (IHC), pour savoir si la tumeur présente la mutation du gène du syndrome de Lynch. Si le résultat est positif pour le syndrome de Lynch, on fait un prélèvement sanguin qui permet le dépistage génétique de mutations du gène du syndrome de Lynch. On offre également une consultation génétique à la personne.

 

Un professionnel de la santé détermine si une personne est admissible au dépistage génétique. Si c’est le cas, on la dirigera probablement vers un programme de génétique où des généticiens ou des conseillers génétiques feront une évaluation plus détaillée. Au Canada, le dépistage génétique visant à déterminer si une personne est porteuse d’une mutation génétique liée au syndrome de Lynch se fait par le biais de programmes de cancer héréditaire (familial). Une personne doit répondre à certains critères avant de passer un test de dépistage génétique du cancer colorectal héréditaire.

 

Retour au menu

Réduction du risque et détection précoce

Une personne qui sait qu’elle est porteuse d’une mutation du gène du syndrome de Lynch, c’est-à-dire qu’elle a reçu un résultat positif au test de dépistage d’un des gènes liés au syndrome de Lynch, devrait demander à son médecin quelles démarches suivre pour aider à réduire son risque de cancer et pour parvenir à le détecter à un stade précoce.

  • Une personne atteinte du syndrome de Lynch dont le risque de cancer colorectal est élevé pourrait devoir passer un test de dépistage à un plus jeune âge et plus souvent qu’une personne dont le risque de cancer colorectal est moyen. Cela comporte fréquemment une coloscopie aux 1 à 2 ans, dès l’âge de 20 ou 25 ans. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section « Dépistage du cancer colorectal ».
  • On peut proposer aux personnes atteintes du syndrome de Lynch une chirurgie prophylactique, comme une colectomie, si elles :
    • ne peuvent pas ou ne veulent pas passer de coloscopies de dépistage
    • ont des polypes adénomateux qu’on ne peut pas enlever lors d’une coloscopie
  • Une femme atteinte du syndrome de Lynch pourrait devoir passer un test de dépistage à un plus jeune âge et plus souvent qu’une femme dont le risque de cancer de l’utérus ou de cancer de l’ovaire est moyen. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez les sections « Détection précoce du cancer de l’utérus » et « Détection précoce du cancer de l’ovaire ».
  • On peut proposer à une femme atteinte du syndrome de Lynch qui ne souhaite pas porter d’enfants une hystérectomie ou une salpingo-ovariectomie prophylactique pour aider à prévenir le cancer de l’utérus ou de l’ovaire.

 

Retour au menu

References

Nous sommes là pour vous. Dites-nous ce que vous désirez savoir, et un de nos spécialistes en information vous répondra par courriel ou par téléphone.

500

Nom:

Courriel:

Numéro de téléphone:

Code postal:

Nous pouvons fournir des renseignements sur les soins et les services de soutien pour le cancer au Canada uniquement. Si vous recherchez un organisme de lutte contre le cancer dans votre pays, visitez les sites de l’Union For International Cancer Control ou de l’International Cancer Information Service Group.