You are here: 

Research in fertility options

Fertility problems may occur after certain cancer treatments, such as surgery, chemotherapy or radiation therapy. Sperm or egg banking (freezing) and banking embryos are proven options for people who wish to have children after cancer treatment that could affect fertility. Researchers are studying other ways that may help preserve a person’s fertility, but these are still considered experimental. Find out more about fertility problems from cancer treatment and fertility options currently available.

Although the techniques described below show some promise, more research is needed to find out how effective they are and if they have long-term effects for the children born when these techniques are used. There are concerns that some of the experimental techniques could reintroduce cancer cells, but the chances of this happening are not fully known.

Preserving a person’s fertility may involve one or more procedures such as banking or freezing unfertilized eggs or sperm, in vitro fertilization (IVF) and implantation of a fertilized embryo. There is a cost associated with each of the procedures. Some fertility options may not be covered by medical insurance. It is important for people considering fertility-preserving options to discuss the costs of these procedures with their doctor or fertility clinic.

Research in fertility options for women

Researchers are looking into the following fertility options for women. These experimental fertility options may not be available to all women in Canada.

Freezing ovarian tissue

The entire ovary, or part of ovarian tissue containing immature eggs, is removed and frozen. If the entire ovary is removed, it is sectioned into thin strips of tissue and frozen. The ovarian tissue is kept frozen and is only returned to the woman’s body if treatment is successful and a woman wishes to try to restore ovarian function.

The ovarian tissue is usually implanted close to a Fallopian tube. Doctors have also transplanted the tissue in other places in the body, such as the abdomen, breast or arm. This allows easier access to remove eggs. These may also be the best places for transplantation in women who have a high risk of cancer recurrence or whose pelvis has scarring from radiation therapy. Once the eggs mature, they can be collected and fertilized in the lab (in vitro) and then later implanted in the woman’s uterus or the uterus of another woman, called a surrogate.

The transplanted ovarian tissue usually survives for only a short period of time (a few months to a few years). For this reason, tissue is not usually transplanted until a woman is ready to become pregnant. This technique is in the early stages of development. Only a few live births have been reported using this procedure. Recently, doctors have used a fast-freezing technique called vitrification, which seems to help prevent damage to ovarian tissue.

Researchers are studying freezing ovarian tissue as a way to preserve fertility in women who need to begin treatment right away and can’t wait to prepare for egg collection (ovarian stimulation). This method can also be used for women who don’t want to have ovarian stimulation. Women may also wish to choose this option if they prefer to find a male partner and don’t want to use donated sperm. Freezing ovarian tissue is also an option for girls who have not reached puberty and are having a treatment that may affect their fertility.

Using donated embryos

Embryo donation may be an option for some women whose fertility has been affected by cancer treatment but who still want children. Embryo donations usually come from a couple who used assisted reproductive techniques and who have extra frozen embryos. The woman who uses an embryo donation will not be blood-related to the child.

A woman can have in vitro fertilization (IVF) with a donated embryo as long as she has a healthy uterus. Women who use a donated embryo will have to get hormone treatments to prepare the lining of the uterus for IVF. The embryo is thawed and transferred to the woman. The woman will continue hormone treatments until blood work shows that the placenta is working on its own. This is usually around 8–10 weeks after the embryo is implanted.

There hasn’t been a lot of research on the success rates of embryo donation so it’s important that women find out the IVF success rates at the centre where the procedure is done. Research shows that frozen embryo transfers have a lower live birth rate than fresh embryos. Live birth rates are also related to the age and health of the woman who is undergoing IVF. Cancer survivors may be older and less healthy than a surrogate carrier (another woman carries and bears the child for potential parents) who undergoes IVF with a donated embryo. So, the chance of a live birth for a cancer survivor may be lower than for a surrogate carrier.

Hormone treatment

Researchers are looking into ways of stopping or slowing down the process by which eggs mature and are released.

Gonadotropin-releasing hormone drugs

A gonadotropin is a pituitary hormone that stimulates the growth and function of the gonads (the testicles in males and the ovaries in females). Gonadotropin-releasing hormone agonist (GnRHa) drugs may be given before and every 1–3 months during chemotherapy treatment. These drugs cause a woman to go into temporary menopause, which stops eggs from maturing and being released. These drugs are usually given once a month and are started before chemotherapy or radiation therapy to the pelvis begins. GnRHa drugs are given every month that a woman is having cancer treatment and in the 3 months following the last treatment. Their effectiveness in preventing ovarian failure is unproven.

Both GnRH agonists (GnRHa) and antagonists (GnRHan) prevent the release of hormones that control ovarian function. Some research shows that GnRHa may protect ovarian function and lower the chance of infertility after chemotherapy. Other studies do not show this effect. There is also some evidence that GnRHa may preserve ovarian function in girls who have not reached puberty.

GnRHan drugs are best used with ovarian stimulation and egg retrieval as part of a program of fertility preservation such as freezing eggs (for women without a male partner) or embryos for those with male partners. Researchers have not yet proven that GnRHan drugs used alone are effective in preserving fertility in women. More research is needed.

Oral contraceptives

Some research suggests that oral contraceptives (birth control pills) may be a way to preserve fertility in women undergoing cancer treatment. Some doctors believe oral contraceptives lower activity in the ovary and protect the eggs. Oral contraceptives have not been shown to be very successful in preserving fertility in women undergoing chemotherapy. Girls who have not reached puberty should not be treated with oral contraceptives because their ovaries are already considered to be in a “resting” state.

Oral contraceptives are not recommended for women with hormone-dependant cancers such as breast cancer. Women should also be aware that cancer and its treatment may carry a risk of blood clots and that oral contraceptives also carry this risk.

Progestin therapy

Hysterectomy is sometimes used to treat women with early stage endometrial cancer (a type of uterine cancer). Researchers are studying other treatment options for women of child-bearing age who would like to preserve their fertility. Progestin therapy may be an option for some of these women.

Progestin therapy is an experimental cancer treatment that uses the hormone progesterone. Progestin therapy can be given by mouth (oral progesterone) or an intrauterine device (IUD) that releases progestin. It can help shrink a uterine tumour or may even cause it to go away completely.

Women who receive progestin therapy are watched closely for signs that the cancer is not responding to the treatment or growing larger. The risks linked with progestin therapy for uterine cancer are a high rate of recurrence and spread outside of the uterus.

Research in fertility options for men

Researchers are looking into the following fertility options for men. These experimental fertility options may not be available to all men in Canada.

Testicular sperm extraction and percutaneous epididymal sperm aspiration

Testicular sperm extraction (TESE) and percutaneous epididymal sperm aspiration (PESA) are techniques used to collect sperm. TESE is a surgical procedure that removes tiny pieces of tissue from the testicle. PESA is a less invasive procedure. It removes sperm cells from the epididymus (the coiled tube that sits on top of the testicle that stores sperm before ejaculation) using a very thin needle (called fine needle aspiration).

The tissue or fluid removed during TESE or PESE is examined for sperm cells. Any sperm cells found can be used right away for IVF or they can be frozen for future use.

These techniques have been tried in men who don’t have cancer but who have very low sperm counts or no sperm in their semen (azoospermia). Researchers are also studying TESE and PESA in boys and men before they start cancer treatments like chemotherapy.

Men with prostate or bladder cancer may have had surgery to remove the prostate gland and seminal vesicles. These organs make most of the fluid in semen. The vas deferens (tubes that connect the testicles to the prostate) are also usually cut during surgery for these types of cancer. In these men, there is no way for sperm to leave the body and there is no semen. These men may choose TESE or PESA as a way to collect sperm.

Freezing testicular tissue

Researchers are studying the effectiveness of freezing testicular tissue in boys who haven’t reached puberty. Testicular tissue, including the cells that make sperm, may be removed by surgery, frozen and stored. After cancer treatment, the tissue may be transplanted back into one or both testicles, or immature sperm cells from the removed tissue can be injected into one or both testicles. No live births have yet been reported with this method.

Hormone treatment

GnRH agonists and antagonists, steroids and anti-androgens may put the testicles into a “resting” state similar to the time before puberty (pre-puberty). Some doctors think these drugs may protect testicular function and lower the chance of infertility after chemotherapy or radiation therapy. More research that includes long-term follow-up is needed before GnRH drugs can be recommended to preserve a man’s fertility.

Electroejaculation

Retroperitoneal lymph node dissection (RPLND) is sometimes done to treat testicular cancer. It is surgery to remove lymph nodes from the back of the abdomen behind the abdominal cavity (called the retroperitoneum) that are around the large blood vessels called the aorta and inferior vena cava. Sometimes the nerves that control ejaculation are damaged during RPLND. Damage to these nerves can lead to no ejaculation or retrograde ejaculation where semen goes into the bladder instead of the urethra and out the end of the penis.

Doctors are studying electroejaculation as a way to collect sperm for IVF in men with ejaculation problems. Electroejaculation involves using a rectal probe to stimulate the prostate gland and seminal vesicles. Since retrograde ejaculation may occur, a catheter is also put into the bladder to collect sperm. Electroejaculation is done under general anesthesia (you will be unconscious).

Stories

Brock Taraba Brock has been cancer free for over a decade, thanks to the support we received from the Canadian Cancer Society.

Read Brock's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:

Recherche sur les options de fertilité

Des troubles de la fertilité peuvent se manifester après certains traitements du cancer dont la chirurgie, la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie. La mise en banque de spermatozoïdes ou d’ovules (congélation) et la mise en banque d’embryons sont des options qui ont fait leurs preuves pour les personnes qui souhaitent avoir des enfants après un traitement du cancer risquant d’affecter leur fertilité. Les chercheurs étudient d'autres façons susceptibles d’aider à préserver la fertilité, mais elles sont encore considérées comme expérimentales. Apprenez-en davantage sur les troubles de la fertilité liés aux traitements du cancer et sur les options de fertilité disponibles.

Bien que les techniques décrites ci-dessous soient prometteuses, on doit effectuer plus de recherches pour vraiment connaître leur efficacité  et les effets à long terme possibles chez les enfants nés à partir de ces techniques. On s'inquiète de la possibilité que certaines de ces techniques expérimentales réintroduisent des cellules cancéreuses, mais le risque n'est pas pleinement connu.

Pour préserver la fertilité, on peut avoir recours à une ou à plusieurs interventions comme la mise en banque (congélation) d’ovules non fécondés ou de spermatozoïdes, la fécondation in vitro (FIV) et l’implantation d’un embryon. Chacune de ces interventions engendre des coûts. Certaines options de fertilité peuvent ne pas être couvertes par l’assurance-maladie. Il est important qu’une personne qui envisage avoir recours à des options de préservation de la fertilité discute des coûts de ces interventions avec son médecin ou un membre de la clinique de fertilité.

Recherche sur les options de fertilité chez la femme

Les chercheurs étudient les options de fertilité qui suivent pour la femme. Il est possible que ces techniques expérimentales ne soient pas disponibles pour toutes les femmes au Canada.

Congélation du tissu ovarien

On enlève et on congèle tout l'ovaire ou une partie du tissu ovarien contenant des ovules immatures. Si on enlève tout l'ovaire, on le sectionne en fine tranches de tissu qu'on congèle. On garde le tissu ovarien congelé et on le remet dans le corps de la femme seulement si le traitement du cancer a été efficace et qu’elle souhaite essayer de rétablir sa fonction ovarienne.

L'implantation du tissu ovarien se fait habituellement près d'une trompe de Fallope. Les médecins ont aussi implanté ce tissu ailleurs dans le corps de la femme, comme dans l'abdomen, un sein ou un bras. Cela permet d’accéder plus facilement aux ovules quand on veut les enlever. Ces emplacements peuvent aussi être les meilleurs chez les femmes dont le risque de récidive de cancer est élevé ou dont le bassin présente du tissu cicatriciel à cause de la radiothérapie. Une fois à maturité, les ovules sont prélevés et fécondés en laboratoire (in vitro) pour être implantés plus tard dans l'utérus de la femme ou celui d’une autre femme qu’on appelle mère porteuse.

Le tissu ovarien greffé ne survit habituellement que pendant une courte période, soit de quelques mois à quelques années. C'est pourquoi on ne le greffe généralement que lorsque la femme souhaite tomber enceinte. Cette technique en est encore aux premiers stades de développement. Seules quelques naissances vivantes ont été engendrées par cette méthode. Des médecins ont récemment eu recours à une technique de congélation rapide appelée vitrification, qui semble aider à prévenir les dommages au tissu ovarien.

Des chercheurs étudient la congélation de tissu ovarien comme méthode de préservation de la fertilité des femmes qui doivent commencer leur traitement immédiatement et qui ne peuvent pas prendre le temps de se préparer au prélèvement des ovules (stimulation ovarienne). On peut aussi avoir recours à cette méthode chez la femme qui ne veut pas passer par la stimulation ovarienne. Une femme peut aussi choisir cette option si elle préfère trouver un partenaire masculin et ne pas avoir recours au don de sperme. La congélation de tissu ovarien est également une option pour les filles qui n’ont pas atteint la puberté et qui reçoivent un traitement qui risque d’affecter leur fertilité.

Don d’embryons

Le don d’embryons peut être une option pour certaines femmes dont la fertilité a été affectée par un traitement du cancer mais qui veulent malgré tout porter des enfants. Le don d’embryons provient habituellement d’un couple qui a eu recours  à des techniques de reproduction assistée et qui ont des embryons congelés en trop. La femme qui choisit le don d’embryons n’aura pas un enfant apparenté par le sang.

Une femme peut avoir recours au don d’embryon pour une fécondation in vitro (FIV) si son utérus est en santé. Dans ce cas-là, elle devra recevoir un traitement hormonal pour préparer le revêtement de son utérus à l’implantation. On décongèle l’embryon avant de le transférer à la femme. Cette dernière poursuivra le traitement hormonal jusqu’à ce que l’analyse sanguine indique que le placenta agit de lui-même. Cela prend habituellement de 8 à 10 semaines une fois l’embryon implanté.

Il n’y a pas eu beaucoup de recherches sur le taux de succès du don d’embryons, alors il est important que la femme vérifie le taux de succès de la FIV du centre où l’intervention aura lieu. La recherche révèle que le transfert d’embryons congelés engendre un taux brut de natalité plus bas que celui des embryons frais. Le taux brut de natalité est aussi lié à l’âge et à la santé de la femme qui est fécondée in vitro. La survivante au cancer peut être plus âgée et en moins bonne santé qu’une mère porteuse (une autre femme qui porte et met au monde l’enfant pour les parents potentiels) qui est fécondée in vitro avec un don d’embryon. La possibilité d’une naissance vivante pour une survivante au cancer peut donc être plus faible que pour une mère porteuse.

Traitement hormonal

Des chercheurs étudient des moyens pour interrompre ou ralentir le processus de maturation et de libération des ovules.

Médicaments de type hormone de libération de la gonadotrophine

La gonadotrophine est une hormone hypophysaire qui favorise la croissance et la fonction des gonades, c’est-à-dire les testicules chez l’homme et les ovaires chez la femme. On peut administrer des médicaments appelés analogues de l'hormone de libération de la gonadotrophine (GnRH) avant la chimiothérapie et aux 1 à 3 mois en cours de traitement. Ces médicaments provoquent une ménopause temporaire chez la femme, ce qui interrompt la maturation et la libération des ovules. On administre habituellement les analogues de la GnRH une fois par mois et avant une chimiothérapie ou une radiothérapie au bassin. Les GnRH sont administrés chaque mois où la femme reçoit un traitement du cancer et aux 3 mois après la dernière séance de traitement. Leur efficacité à prévenir le déficit ovarien n’a pas encore été démontrée.

Les analogues de la GnRH et les antagonistes de la GnRH empêchent la libération des hormones qui contrôlent la fonction ovarienne. Certaines recherches démontrent que les agonistes de la GnRH protégeraient la fonction ovarienne et réduiraient le risque de devenir infertile après une chimiothérapie. D'autres études ne révèlent pas cet effet. Il y a aussi des données qui indiquent que les analogues de la GnRH peuvent protéger la fonction ovarienne chez les filles qui n'ont pas encore atteint la puberté.

Les antagonistes de la GnRH sont des plus efficaces pour la stimulation ovarienne et le prélèvement d’ovules dans le cadre d’un programme de préservation de la fertilité comme la congélation d’ovules, pour les femmes sans partenaire masculin, et la congélation d’embryons pour celles qui ont un partenaire masculin. Les chercheurs n’ont pas encore démontré que l’administration d’antagonistes de la GnRH seulement est efficace pour préserver la fertilité des femmes. On doit faire plus de recherches.

Contraceptifs oraux

Certaines recherches laissent entendre que les contraceptifs oraux (la pilule) peuvent être un moyen de préserver la fertilité des femmes traitées pour un cancer. Il y a des médecins qui croient que les contraceptifs oraux réduisent l’activité dans les ovaires et protègent les ovules. Les contraceptifs oraux ne se sont pas révélés très efficaces pour préserver la fertilité des femmes qui reçoivent une chimiothérapie. On devrait éviter d’en administrer aux filles qui n’ont pas encore atteint la puberté puisque leurs ovaires sont déjà considérés comme étant au « repos ».

On ne recommande pas la prise de contraceptifs oraux par les femmes atteintes d’un cancer hormonodépendant comme le cancer du sein. Les femmes devraient aussi être conscientes que le cancer et son traitement risquent de causer la formation de caillots sanguins et que les contraceptifs oraux engendrent également ce risque.

Traitement progestatif

On a parfois recours à l’hystérectomie pour traiter les femmes atteintes d’un cancer de l’endomètre précoce, un type de cancer de l’utérus. Des chercheurs étudient d’autres options de traitement pour les femmes en âge de procréer qui souhaiteraient préserver leur fertilité. Le traitement progestatif pourrait être une option pour certaines d’entre elles.

Le traitement progestatif est un traitement expérimental du cancer qui a recours à l’hormone appelée progestérone. On peut l’administrer par la bouche (progestérone orale) ou à l’aide d’un dispositif intra-utérin (DIU) qui libère un progestatif. Ce traitement peut aider à réduire la taille d’une tumeur utérine ou même la faire disparaître.

On surveille attentivement les femmes qui suivent un traitement progestatif pour tout signe que le cancer ne réagit pas au traitement ou qu’il grossit. Les risques liés au traitement progestatif du cancer de l’utérus sont un taux élevé de récidive et la propagation hors de l’utérus.

Recherche sur les options de fertilité chez l’homme

Les chercheurs étudient les options de fertilité qui suivent pour l’homme. Il est possible que ces techniques expérimentales ne soient pas disponibles pour tous les hommes au Canada.

Extraction testiculaire de spermatozoïdes et ponction percutanée de spermatozoïdes épididymaires

L'extraction testiculaire de spermatozoïdes (TESE) et la ponction percutanée de spermatozoïdes épididymaires (PESA) sont des techniques qui permettent de recueillir des spermatozoïdes. La TESE est une intervention chirurgicale au cours de laquelle on prélève de très petits fragments de tissu du testicule. La PESA est une intervention moins effractive lors de laquelle on prélève des spermatozoïdes de l'épididyme (tube spiralé qui repose sur le haut du testicule où le sperme est emmagasiné avant d'être éjaculé) à l’aide d’une aiguille très mince (ponction à l'aiguille fine).

On examine le tissu ou le liquide prélevé par TESE ou PESA afin de savoir s'il contient des spermatozoïdes. Si on en trouve, on les recueille et on les utilise tout de suite pour la FIV ou on les congèle pour usage futur.

Ces techniques ont été réalisées chez des hommes non atteints de cancer mais dont le nombre de spermatozoïdes était très bas ou dont le sperme ne contenait pas de spermatozoïdes (azoospermie). Les chercheurs étudient aussi la TESE et la PESA chez des garçons et des hommes qui n'ont pas encore commencé à recevoir leur traitement, comme une chimiothérapie.

Les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate ou de la vessie peuvent avoir subi une chirurgie afin qu’on enlève leur prostate et leurs vésicules séminales. Ces organes fabriquent la plus grande partie du liquide dans le sperme. Habituellement, on coupe aussi les canaux déférents (tubes qui relient les testicules à la prostate) lors de la chirurgie pratiquée pour l’un de ces types de cancers. Les spermatozoïdes ne sont donc plus en mesure d’évacuer le corps et il n’y a pas de sperme. Ces hommes peuvent opter pour la TESE ou la PESA comme méthode de prélèvement des spermatozoïdes.

Congélation de tissu testiculaire

Les chercheurs tentent d'évaluer l'efficacité de la congélation de tissu testiculaire chez des garçons qui n'ont pas encore atteint la puberté. On peut prélever du tissu testiculaire, dont les cellules qui produisent les spermatozoïdes, par le biais de la chirurgie, le congeler et l'entreposer. Une fois le traitement du cancer terminé, on peut réintroduire le tissu dans un testicule ou dans les deux ou bien injecter des spermatozoïdes immatures provenant du tissu prélevé dans un testicule ou dans les deux. À ce jour, aucune naissance vivante n'a été engendrée par cette méthode.

Traitement hormonal

Les analogues et les antagonistes de la GnRH, les stéroïdes et les anti-androgènes peuvent mettre les testicules dans un état de « repos » semblable à la période qui précède la puberté (prépuberté). Certains médecins pensent que ces médicaments peuvent ainsi protéger la fonction testiculaire et réduire le risque d'infertilité après une chimiothérapie ou une radiothérapie. On doit mener d'autres recherches portant entre autres sur le suivi à long terme avant qu’on puisse recommander les médicaments de type GnRH pour préserver la fertilité de l'homme.

Électroéjaculation

On fait parfois un curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal pour traiter le cancer du testicule. C’est une chirurgie qui permet d’enlever les ganglions lymphatiques situés à l’arrière de l’abdomen, derrière la cavité abdominale, soit le rétropéritoine, et qui entourent les gros vaisseaux sanguins appelés aorte et veine cave inférieure. Il arrive que les nerfs qui contrôlent l’éjaculation soient endommagés lors du curage ganglionnaire rétropéritonéal. Ce type de dommage peut causer l’absence d’éjaculation ou l’éjaculation rétrograde, c’est-à-dire que le sperme remonte dans la vessie plutôt que de se rendre dans l’urètre puis d’être évacué par le pénis.

Les médecins étudient l’électroéjaculation comme méthode de prélèvement des spermatozoïdes pour la FIV chez les hommes éprouvant des troubles éjaculatoires. L’électroéjaculation consiste à utiliser une sonde rectale pour stimuler la prostate et les vésicules séminales. Puisque l’éjaculation peut être rétrograde, on insère également un cathéter dans la vessie pour recueillir les spermatozoïdes. On fait l’électroéjaculation sous anesthésie générale, c’est-à-dire que vous serez inconscient.

Histoires

La Dre Jean Marshall, chercheuse La Dre Jean Marshall étudie une nouvelle stratégie prometteuse pour mettre le cancer du sein en échec.

Plus de details

Un chez-soi loin de chez soi

Illustration d’une maison

La Société canadienne du cancer offre son hospitalité aux personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent parcourir de longues distances pour recevoir leurs traitements.

Apprenez-en plus