Celebrating the 30th edition of the Canadian Cancer Statistics

You are here: 

Past editions Canadian Cancer Statistics

The development of Canadian Cancer Statistics is supported by charitable funds collected by the Canadian Cancer Society and by in-kind support from the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.

For print versions of past editions (1987–2011), contact stats@cancer.ca. Starting with the 2012 edition, this publication is only available electronically.

 

Provincial cancer registries contribute annually to Canadian Cancer Statistics by collecting clinical and demographic data on newly diagnosed cancer cases. These are reported annually to Statistics Canada and added to the Canadian Cancer Registry (CCR). Demographic and cause of death information is reported to Canadian Vital Statistics Death Database (CVS:D).

For additional information about cancer incidence, mortality and other statistics for the most common types of cancer by age, sex and year within your province or territory, contact your local cancer registry.

 

Canadian Cancer Statistics is developed jointly by:

Canadian cancer statistics partner logos

Stories

Lusomé Founder and CEO Lara Smith Seeing my sister Erin – a young mother – struggle with the emotional blow and then the physical toll of cancer treatment made me want to do something to help women feel confident.

Read Lara's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer

Célébrons la 30e édition des statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer

Vous êtes ici:

Éditions antérieures des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer

La préparation des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer est assurée par des dons de bienfaisance recueillis par la Société canadienne du cancer et par l'appui non financier de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de Statistique Canada.

Pour obtenir des versions imprimées des éditions antérieures (1987-2011), écrivez à stats@cancer.ca. À partir de l’édition 2012, cette publication est offerte en version électronique seulement.

Les registres provinciaux et territoriaux du cancer contribuent annuellement aux Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer en recueillant des données cliniques et démographiques sur les cas de cancer récemment diagnostiqués. Ces données sont communiquées chaque année à Statistique Canada et ajoutées au Registre canadien du cancer (RCC). Les données démographiques ainsi que les causes de décès sont transmises à la Base canadienne de données sur l’état civil – Décès.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’incidence du cancer et la mortalité par cancer, et pour obtenir d’autres statistiques sur les types de cancer les plus courants selon l’âge, le sexe et l’année dans votre province ou territoire, communiquez avec votre registre local du cancer.

Les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer sont préparées conjointement par :

Histoires

photo of Bree Mon espoir est que les gens soient sensibilisés et voient Bree comme quelqu’un qui fait une différence.

Lisez l’histoire de Bree

Une meilleure qualité de vie grâce à un essai clinique

Illustration d’éprouvettes

Lors d’un essai clinique dirigé par le Groupe d’essais cliniques de l’INCC pour la Société, on a découvert que les hommes atteints d’un cancer de la prostate qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal intermittent vivent aussi longtemps que ceux dont le traitement est ininterrompu.

Apprenez-en plus