You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Cancer and research: 10 reasons for giving

Thanks to generous donors like you, the Canadian Cancer Society is able to fund more research projects than any other cancer charity in the country. In 2015, the CCS invested $7.3 million in about a hundred projects in Quebec alone. Here are the top 10 results obtained.

 Robert Day

1. A giant leap in the treatment of prostate cancer

Dr Robert Day, of Université de Sherbrooke, has discovered an enzyme that can be blocked with a drug to stop the growth of advanced prostate cancer and shrink tumours in the laboratory. This important discovery has attracted the interest of an organization specializing in the development of new drugs. It is working with Dr Day to transform this discovery into an easy-to-administer treatment.


2. A better understanding of cancer for improved treatments

A better understanding of all cancers increases the chances of their successful diagnosis and treatment. By studying the genetic activity of two types of acute myeloblastic leukemia, Dr Guy Sauvageau and his team at the Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC) discovered that one of them responds particularly well to certain treatments. This is a discovery that promises a better prognosis and survival rates for certain patients.

3. Early detection of breast cancer in a droplet of blood

Thanks to McGill University’s Dr David Juncker, a new diagnostic tool could help diagnose breast cancers early and monitor how patients respond to therapy. With his team, Dr Juncker has discovered six biomarkers in the blood of mice that can be detected and that increase with the size of the tumour, sometimes even before it’s visible to the naked eye. In time, this will lead to earlier diagnoses and more lives saved.

4. Increasing the anticancer properties of a protein

The Stat1 protein has a surprising dual role: it blocks the growth of tumours, but it also increases their resistance to chemotherapy treatments! To solely activate its anticancer role, Dr Antonis Koromilas, with his team at the Jewish General Hospital, has analyzed the Stat1 protein in detail. His work will facilitate the development of new drugs.


5. 3D vision

One of the worst characteristics of cancer cells is their ability to grow and multiply. Thanks to the work of Dr Marc Therrien’s team at Université de Montréal, we know a little more about a substance at the heart of these processes: the BRAF protein. These researchers have unveiled the three-dimensional structure of this protein, which will facilitate the development of new drugs to “turn it off”.

 Caroline Diorio

6. Preventing breast cancer through healthy eating

What impact does diet have on the risk of developing cancer? Caroline Diorio at Université Laval has found a part of the answer: premenopausal women with a high intake of sugar-sweetened drinks have greater breast density, so their risk of breast cancer is higher. This new knowledge was integrated into healthy eating guidelines, providing yet another way to prevent a disease which affects thousands of women in Quebec each year.

7. How do youths become smokers?

Why do some youths start smoking? How do they succeed in quitting? Thanks to Dr Jennifer O’Loughlin at the CHUM Research Centre, the answers are becoming clearer and clearer. The researcher and her team have been investigating tobacco addiction in the same group of youths since 1999 for the Nicotine Dependence in Teens (NDIT) study. This unique research project will help prevent the consumption of such a toxic and dangerous product more effectively in the years to come.

8. Fighting cancer resistance

Since the worst characteristic of cancer cells is their resistance to destruction, understanding how a cell dies is at the heart of the combat against cancer. This mechanism is now clearer thanks to the work of Dr Heidi McBride of the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital. The key to better fight the near indestructibility of cancer cells lies in the new tools that will evolve from these results.


9. Two treatments are better than one

To get to the bottom of drug-resistant cancers, Dr John White is synergizing several treatments to maximize their effect. With his McGill University team, he has created a hybrid treatment that activates vitamin D receptors and regulates the activity of certain genes. This combination has shown a positive impact against oral cancers.


10. Learn the language of cancer cells

The onset of cancer depends on a number of chemical signals telling cells how to multiply and grow. Dr Sylvain Meloche of the Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC) has discovered that two proteins – ERK1 and ERK2 – play very similar roles in these communications. This discovery is yet another lead to help us understand and beat cancer!

Make a donation for research today to enable researchers like Dr Day to continue their work. You’re perhaps not behind the microscope, but your role is just as important. You fund innovation. You save lives.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Stephanie Hermsen Thanks to the incredible progress in retinoblastoma research made possible by Canadian Cancer Society funding, my son won’t have to go through what I did.

Read Stephanie's story

How can you stop cancer before it starts?

It's My Life! icon

Discover how your lifestyle choices can affect cancer risk and how you can take action with our interactive tool – It’s My Life!

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Recherche et cancer : 10 raisons de donner

C’est grâce à la générosité de donateurs tels que vous que la Société canadienne du cancer peut soutenir plus de recherches sur le cancer que tout autre organisme de bienfaisance au pays. En 2015, la SCC a versé 7,3 millions de dollars à une centaine de projets, rien qu’au Québec. Voici le top 10 des résultats obtenus.

 Robert Day

1. Un pas de géant dans le traitement du cancer de la prostate

Le Dr Robert Day, de l’Université de Sherbrooke, a découvert qu’il est possible d’interrompre la croissance de la tumeur d’un cancer avancé de la prostate chez la souris en neutralisant une enzyme appelée PACE4. Cette percée a attiré l’attention d’un organisme spécialisé dans le développement de médicaments. En collaboration avec le Dr Day, il travaille à transformer sa découverte en un traitement facile à administrer.


2. Une meilleure compréhension du cancer pour des traitements améliorés

Une compréhension plus fine de tous les cancers améliore leur diagnostic et leur traitement. En mesurant l’activité génétique de deux formes de leucémie aiguë myéloblastique, le Dr Guy Sauvageau et son équipe de l’Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie ont découvert que l’une d’elles répond particulièrement bien à certains traitements. Une découverte qui promet de meilleurs pronostics et taux de survie.

3. Une goutte de sang pour un dépistage précoce du cancer du sein

Grâce au Dr David Juncker, de l’Université McGill, un nouvel outil pourrait faciliter le diagnostic des cancers du sein et mesurer comment les patients répondent à leurs traitements. Avec son équipe, le Dr Juncker a découvert six substances présentes dans le sang qui augmentent avec la taille de la tumeur, parfois même avant qu’elle soit visible à l’œil nu. Avec le temps, cela mènera à des diagnostics encore plus précoces et plus de vies sauvées.

4. Accroître les qualités anticancer d’une protéine

La protéine Stat1 est étonnante : elle bloque la croissance des tumeurs, mais augmente leur résistance aux traitements de chimiothérapie! Afin que les chercheurs puissent exploiter uniquement ses qualités anticancer, l’équipe du Dr Antonis Koromilas, de l’Hôpital général juif, a analysé la Stat1 en détail. Ses travaux faciliteront le développement de nouveaux médicaments.


5. Une vision en 3D

L’un des pires défauts des cellules cancéreuses est leur habileté à croître et à se multiplier. Grâce aux travaux du Dr Marc Therrien et son équipe de l’Université de Montréal, on en sait un peu plus sur une substance au cœur de ces processus : la protéine BRAF. En effet, les chercheurs ont dévoilé la structure tridimensionnelle de cette protéine, ce qui facilitera le développement de nouveaux médicaments permettant de l’inhiber.

 Caroline Diorio

6. Prévenir le cancer du sein grâce à une alimentation plus saine

Comment l’alimentation joue-t-elle sur le risque de cancer? Caroline Diorio, de l’Université Laval, a découvert une partie de la réponse : les femmes en préménopause qui consomment beaucoup de boissons sucrées augmentent leur densité mammaire et, donc, leur risque de cancer du sein. Cette nouvelle connaissance a été intégrée à des guides sur la saine alimentation, apportant une façon de plus de prévenir une maladie qui touche des milliers de Québécoises chaque année.

7. Comment les jeunes deviennent-ils des fumeurs?

Pourquoi certains jeunes commencent-ils à fumer? Comment arrivent-ils à s’en libérer? Grâce à la Dre Jennifer O’Loughlin, du Centre de recherche du CHUM, cela est de plus en plus clair. Au moyen de l’étude NICO, cette chercheuse et son équipe étudient le tabagisme chez le même groupe de jeunes depuis 1999. Une recherche unique, qui permettra de mieux prévenir l’usage d’un produit aussi toxique que dangereux.

8. Combattre la résistance du cancer

Puisque le grand défaut des cellules cancéreuses est de résister à leur mort, comprendre comment une cellule meurt est au cœur du combat contre le cancer. Ce mécanisme est désormais plus clair grâce aux travaux de la Dre Heidi McBride, de l’Institut et hôpital neurologiques de Montréal. À la clé, de nouveaux outils pour mieux combattre la quasi-immortalité des cellules cancéreuses.


9. Deux traitements valent mieux qu’un

Pour venir à bout des cancers qui résistent aux médicaments, le Dr John White combine plusieurs traitements afin de maximiser leurs effets. Avec son équipe de l’Université McGill, il a créé un traitement hybride qui active les récepteurs de vitamine D et régule l’activité de certains gènes. Une combinaison qui a montré son effet sur les cancers oraux.


10. Apprendre le langage des cellules cancéreuses

L’apparition du cancer dépend des nombreux signaux chimiques indiquant aux cellules comment se multiplier et grandir. Le Dr Sylvain Meloche, de l’Institut de recherche en immunologie et en cancérologie, a découvert que deux protéines – ERK1 et ERK2 – jouent des rôles très semblables dans ces communications. Une piste de plus pour mieux comprendre et vaincre le cancer!

Faites un don aujourd'hui et permettez aux chercheurs comme Dr Day de poursuivre leur travail. Vous n'êtes peut-être pas derrière le microscope, mais votre rôle est tout aussi indispensable. Vous financez l'innovation. Vous sauvez des vies.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Stephanie Hermsen Grâce au financement de la Société canadienne du cancer, on a fait des pas de géant dans la recherche sur le rétinoblastome, et Liam n’aura pas à vivre ce que moi, j’ai vécu.

Lisez l’histoire de Stephanie

Le cancer touche tous les Canadiens

Icône - 1 sur 2

On prévoit que près de 1 Canadien sur 2 recevra un diagnostic de cancer au cours de sa vie.

Apprenez-en plus