You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Dr Camilla Zimmermann

William E. Rawls Prize recipient in 2010

Dr Camilla ZimmermannDr Zimmermann is interested in determining and improving the effectiveness of specialized palliative care. Her current Canadian Cancer Society grant focuses on the effectiveness of early versus routine specialized palliative team involvement in patients with metastatic cancer. Outcomes include patient quality of life, satisfaction with care, and physician-patient communication.

Dr Zimmermann is head of palliative services at the University Health Network, palliative care co-lead in the Toronto Central Regional Cancer Program, Cancer Care Ontario, and associate professor, department of medicine, University of Toronto. She is also a scientist at the Ontario Cancer Institute and has her PhD from the University of Toronto.

Dr Zimmermann has built a remarkable research program in a short period of time and her progress has been extraordinary. She has already become an internationally recognized expert in palliative care. She has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals, including an important systematic review of the effectiveness of palliative care. In this landmark paper, she has stimulated critical evaluation of the field and a rethinking of the methodology of clinical trials in palliative care.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Nikki Ross Volunteering during Daffodil Month is a fun way to show your support.

Read Nikki's story

Together we can reduce the burden of cancer

Icon - beaker

Last year, we only had the resources available to fund 40% of high-priority research projects. Imagine the impact we could have if we were able to fund 100%.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Dre Camilla Zimmermann

Prix William E. Rawls récipiendaire en 2010

Dr Camilla ZimmermannLa Dre Zimmermann s’emploie à évaluer et améliorer l’efficacité des soins palliatifs spécialisés. Elle consacre la subvention que lui verse actuellement la Société canadienne du cancer à comparer l’efficacité d’une intervention hâtive (par rapport aux interventions habituelles) de la part de l’équipe de soins palliatifs spécialisés chez les patients atteints de métastases cancéreuses. L’étude vise en particulier la qualité de vie des patients, leur degré de satisfaction des soins reçus et la communication avec leurs médecins.

La Dre Zimmermann est chef des services palliatifs à l’Université Health Network, coresponsable des soins palliatifs dans le cadre du Programme régional de cancérologie de Toronto-Centre d’Action Cancer Ontario, et professeure agrégée au Département de médecine de l’Université de Toronto. Détentrice d’un doctorat de l’Université de Toronto, elle est également chercheuse à l’Institut ontarien du cancer.

La Dre Zimmermann a mis sur pied un remarquable programme de recherche en peu de temps et a accompli des progrès extraordinaires. Elle bénéficie déjà d’une renommée internationale en tant qu’experte en soins palliatifs. Elle a beaucoup publié dans des revues évaluées par des pairs et a notamment effectué une importante analyse systématique de l’efficacité des soins palliatifs. Ce dernier article, devenu une référence, a suscité une évaluation critique des soins palliatifs et redéfini la méthodologie des essais cliniques dans le domaine.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Le Dr Stuart Peacock, chercheur, Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control Une étude menée au Canadian Centre for Applied Research in Cancer Control a donné lieu à une nouvelle norme d’analyse pour la leucémie.

Plus de details

Ensemble, nous pouvons réduire le fardeau du cancer

Icône – bécher

L’an dernier, avec les fonds dont nous disposions, nous avons réussi à financer seulement 40 pour cent des projets de recherche considérés comme de grandes priorités. Imaginez l’impact que nous pourrions avoir si nous étions capables d’en financer 100 pour cent.

Apprenez-en plus