Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Richard Lessard

Richard Lessard

Dr. Richard Lessard is a medical specialist in community health. He is a member of the Collège des médecins du Québec and of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. In August 1992, he was appointed Director of Public Health with the Agence de la santé et des services sociaux de Montréal. He is also an Assistant Clinical Professor with the Université de Montréal’s Department of Social and Preventive Medicine and McGill University’s Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

In the past decade, Dr. Lessard has been a member of the Governing Council for the Canadian Population Health Initiative and has sat on the board of directors of the Canadian Institute for Health Information. He has also been a member of Health Canada's Science Advisory Board and of the National Collaborating Centres for Public Health.

In addition, Dr. Lessard is a member of the board of directors of the Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ). In September 2006, he was mandated by the Public Health Agency of Canada to work at the World Health Organization, in Geneva, where he contributed to the development of the Global Cancer Control Strategy.

“I regularly encounter people with cancer, and I wanted to become involved with the Canadian Cancer Society to do my part and help make a difference in the fight against cancer.”

A-|A|A+

Stories

Dr Artem Cherkasov Research could lead to better cancer treatments with fewer side effects.

Read more

Providing rides to cancer treatment

Illustration of car

For more than 50 years, the Canadian Cancer Society’s transportation program has enabled patients to focus their energy on fighting cancer and not on worrying about how they will get to treatment.

Learn more

Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Richard Lessard

Richard Lessard

Dr Richard Lessard est médecin spécialiste en santé communautaire. Il est membre du Collège des médecins du Québec ainsi que du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. En août 1992, il a été nommé directeur de la santé publique à l’Agence de la santé et des services sociaux de Montréal. Il est également professeur agrégé de clinique au Département de médecine sociale et préventive de l’Université de Montréal et au Département d’épidémiologie et de biostatistiques de l’Université McGill.

Durant les dix dernières années, il a été membre du conseil de l’Initiative sur la santé de la population canadienne, du conseil d’administration de l’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé, du comité consultatif des sciences de Santé Canada et des Centres de collaboration nationale en santé publique.

Il est également membre du conseil d’administration de l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ). En septembre 2006, il a été mandaté par l’Agence canadienne de santé publique pour travailler à l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé à Genève où il a participé au développement du Plan global de stratégie sur la lutte au cancer. « Je côtoie régulièrement des gens atteints de cancer et je désirais m’impliquer avec la Société canadienne du cancer pour faire ma part et faire avancer la lutte contre le cancer. »

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Dr Sean McKenna De nouveaux traitements pour déjouer le cancer

Plus de details

D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis

Icône – flèche

Pour certains cancers, comme ceux de la thyroïde et du testicule, les taux de survie dépassent 90 pour cent. Pour d’autres cancers, comme ceux du pancréas, du cerveau et de l’œsophage, les taux de survie demeurent très bas.

Apprenez-en plus