Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Don Paterson

Don Paterson is past Chairman of Paterson Global Foods of Winnipeg, a fully integrated international agri-food enterprise involved in the storage, handling, transportation, marketing, manufacturing and merchandising of all Canadian grain products. Don worked in many departments of the company over a thirty year career and currently is Chair of the Paterson Foundation. Another one of Don’s past roles was as Chairman of the Board of Directors for TBayTel, Canada’s largest independently owned telecommunications company. Don holds the designation ICD.D and is a member in good standing of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Over the years, Don has been very involved in various aspects of the Thunder Bay community and the north-western Ontario region. His volunteer interests range from the arts and culture sector to health, education and social welfare issues. Don has been a director and an executive on the Thunder Bay Community Foundation, and served as Chair for the foundation sector for campaigns with Magnus Theatre, Port Arthur General Hospital, Thunder Bay Boys and Girls Club, and the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society. Don served for six years as a director of the Ontario Arts Council and is the Founding President of the Ontario Arts Foundation, an organization he spent seven years with. In 2003, Don joined Leadership Thunder Bay, a unique action study program designed to identify emerging leaders in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors, as its founding chair.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Dr Shana Kelley An ultrasensitive blood test for cancer

Read more

Clinical trial discovery improves quality of life

Illustration of test tubes

A clinical trial led by the Society’s NCIC Clinical Trials group found that men with prostate cancer who are treated with intermittent courses of hormone therapy live as long as those receiving continuous therapy.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Don Paterson

Don Paterson est ancien président de Paterson Global Foods de Winnipeg, une entreprise agroalimentaire totalement intégrée s’occupant de l’entreposage, de la manutention, du transport, du marketing, de la production et le marchandisage de tous les produits céréaliers au Canada. Don a travaillé au sein de plusieurs départements de l’entreprise pendant sa carrière d'une trentaine d'année et est présentement président de la Paterson Foundation. Don a également été président du conseil d’administration de TbayTel, plus importante entreprise privée de télécommunications au Canada. Don porte le titre de ICD.D et est membre en règle de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Au fil des ans, Don a beaucoup participé aux divers aspects de la communauté de Thunder Bay et de la région du Nord-Ouest. Ses intérêts de bénévolat sont variés : du secteur des arts et de la culture en passant par la santé, l’éducation et le bien-être social. Il a été un directeur et un cadre supérieur de la Thunder Bay Community Foundation, et a agit comme président des campagnes de la fondation du Magnus Theatre, du Port Arthur General Hospital, du Thunder Bay Boys and Girls Club et de la Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society. Pendant six ans, Don a été directeur du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et est le président-fondateur de la Ontario Arts Foundation où il fait du bénévolat pendant sept ans. En 2003, Don s’est joint à Leadership Thunder Bay, programme d’étude unique conçu pour identifier les nouveaux leaders dans les secteurs publics, privés et à but non lucratifs, et ce, en tant que président-fondateur.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Sister Audrey Daoust Je n’aurais pas pu être mieux soutenue. Cela a été une véritable bénédiction. Je n’aurais pas pu m’en sortir toute seule.

Lisez l’histoire de Audrey

Une célébration pour les survivants du cancer au Relais pour la vie

Illustration du Relais pour la vie

La Société canadienne du cancer fournit une occasion en or de célébrer le courage des survivants du cancer dans la bataille contre la maladie. Lors des centaines d’événements du Relais pour la vie qui ont lieu d’un bout à l’autre du pays, des milliers de gens se réunissent pour effectuer le Tour des survivants.

Apprenez-en plus