Canadian Cancer Society logo
You are here: 
A-|A|A+

Dr Sheldon Fine

Sheldon's medical education and medical oncology training was obtained at the University of Toronto and the Princess Margaret Hospital. Following completion of his fellowship program, he did postgraduate work with the late Dr. Ron Buick, evaluating drug sensitivity in stem cell cultures. He worked as a staff physician at the Princess Margaret Hospital between 1981 and 1987, and had an opportunity to participate in and co-author one of the seminal projects evaluating new treatments for colorectal cancer.

In 1987, he moved to the Credit Valley Hospital and helped to establish the Oncology Program at this organization. Working with a strong clinical and administrative team, he helped to plan, develop and subsequently build the Carlo Fidani Peel Regional Cancer Centre. The centre opened in 2005 and now records almost 100,000 patient encounters per year.

Professionally, Sheldon has had the opportunity to work with the team at CCO to initiate and formulate the development of what is now the Colon Cancer Check Program. He has had the opportunity to serve as Section Chair for Medical Oncology at the Ontario Medical Association and worked with the medical oncologists in Ontario to develop the first alternate payment plan. Currently, he serves in the role of Chief of Oncology at the Credit Valley Hospital.

His interest in quality, patient-centered care comes from experiences as a caregiver both for his parents and a sister who succumbed to cancer. These journeys have helped him maintain a grounded sense of humility in his own practice, recognition of the important role of patient, family and professional partnerships, and the need to constantly explore novel approaches to the delivery of health services.

A-|A|A+

Stories

Mary Antonenko We all need our own personal support system, but no matter how good your own personal support system is, it’s not the same as connecting with other survivors.

Read Mary's story

Facing the financial burden of cancer

Illustration of coins

The Canadian Cancer Society provides helpful information about government income programs, financial resources and other resources available to families struggling to make sense of the personal financial burden they face.

Learn more

Logo Société canadienne du cancer
Vous êtes ici:
A-|A|A+

Dr Sheldon Fine

Sheldon a étudié la médecine et a obtenu sa formation en oncologie médicale à l’Université de Toronto et à l’Hôpital Princess Margaret. Après ses études postdoctorales, il a travaillé avec le regretté Dr Ron Buick à l’évaluation de la pharmacosensibilité dans les cultures de cellules souches. Il a travaillé comme médecin membre du personnel de l’Hôpital Princess Margaret de 1981 à 1987 et a eu l’occasion de participer et de collaborer à un des projets pionniers évaluant les nouveaux traitements du cancer colorectal.

En 1987, il a accepté un poste à l’Hôpital de Credit Valley et a aidé à établir le programme d’oncologie de cet établissement. Avec l’aide d’une bonne équipe clinique et administrative, il a planifié, développé et subséquemment construit le Carlo Fidani Peel Regional Cancer Centre. Le centre a ouvert ses portes en 2005 et accueille maintenant presque 100 000 patients par année.

Côté professionnel, il a eu l’occasion de travailler avec l’équipe d’Action Cancer Ontario (ACO) pour mettre en marche et élaborer le développement du programme ContrôleCancerColorectal. Il a eu l’occasion de servir comme président de la section d’oncologie médicale de l’Ontario Medical Association et a travaillé avec les oncologues médicaux de l’Ontario pour développer le premier programme des autres modes de paiement. Présentement, il occupe le rôle de chef du service d’oncologie de l’Hôpital de Credit Valley.

Son intérêt envers les soins de qualité axés sur les patients découle de son expérience d’aidant naturel pour ses parents et sa sœur qui ont succombé au cancer. Ces cheminements lui ont aidé à maintenir un esprit de modestie terre à terre dans sa propre pratique médicale, reconnaissant le rôle important du patient, de la famille et des partenariats professionnels et le besoin d’explorer constamment les nouvelles méthodes de prestation des services de santé.

A-|A|A+

Histoires

Sister Audrey Daoust Je n’aurais pas pu être mieux soutenue. Cela a été une véritable bénédiction. Je n’aurais pas pu m’en sortir toute seule.

Lisez l’histoire de Audrey

Un coup de pouce pour les familles

Illustration d’une foule

La Société canadienne du cancer aide à défrayer les familles qui ont à assumer des coûts liés au traitement d’un enfant atteint de cancer.

Apprenez-en plus