Canadian Cancer Society assumes responsibility for the CIBC Run for the Cure and announces that 100% of funds raised in Quebec will stay in Quebec

02 October 2017

Montreal -

On the heels of the annual CIBC Run for the Cure, held yesterday across the country including in Montreal, Quebec City, Sherbrooke and Val-d’Or, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is pleased to announce changes in the breast cancer landscape in Quebec.

The CIBC Run for the Cure, which this year raised $17 million for breast cancer research and vital support programs, has been an initiative of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF) since 1992 and has been carried out locally in partnership with the Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation (QBCF) for the last several years. With the merger of CCS and CBCF earlier this year, CCS has assumed responsibility for the Run in all provinces including Quebec.

«We are delighted by this strong result, which includes $1.14 million raised in Quebec alone,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of CCS Quebec. “Going forward 100% of funds raised by the Canadian Cancer Society CIBC Run for the Cure in Quebec will stay in Quebec to fund cutting-edge research plus prevention and support programs that make a real difference in the lives of people with breast cancer. We also plan to expand the Run to additional sites across the province.»

«CIBC has been a committed partner for more than two decades and we’re so grateful for their unwavering dedication to the breast cancer cause. We are thrilled to continue to work with CIBC to create a world where no Canadian fears cancer, » d’ adds Dubois.

CCS is now the largest funder of breast cancer research in the country. One in 8 Quebec women is expected to be diagnosed with breast cancer in her lifetime. Over the past 20 years, CCS and CBCF have together invested more than $360 million in breast cancer research, funding more than 1,000 grants.

About the Canadian Cancer Society in Quebec
With its 38 offices and service centres across the province, CCS is the Quebec organization with the potential to save the most lives. Each year, the CCS assists more than two million people in Quebec. Thanks to the support of 300,000 donors and 30,000 volunteers in Quebec, it is able to:

  • prevent more cancers;
  • fund more research projects;
  • support more people living with cancer.

Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

BREAST CANCER FACTS

  • In 2017, 6,500 women in Quebec will be diagnosed with breast cancer and 1,300 women will die from it. With the ageing of the population, by 2030, we forecast a greater than 205 increase in the number of breast cancer cases diagnosed.
  • The breast cancer death rate has fallen by 44% since 1988, likely due to early diagnosis thanks to advances in screening and better treatments.
  • The current breast cancer survival rate is 87%. It was 73% in the 1980s.


For additional information and interview requests with a breast cancer survivor or a CCS spokesperson, please contact:
Lauriane Ayivi
Coordinator, Communications and Public Relations
Canadian Cancer Society
lauriane.ayivi@quebec.cancer.ca
514 255-5151, poste 22417

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

A A A

La Société canadienne du cancer prend en charge la Course à la vie CIBC et annonce que 100 % des fonds amassés au Québec demeureront au Québec

02 octobre 2017

Montréal -

Dans la foulée de la Course à la vie CIBC de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), qui s’est tenue hier dans tout le pays, y compris à Montréal, à Québec, à Sherbrooke et à Val-d’Or, la SCC est heureuse d’annoncer des changements importants dans le domaine du cancer du sein au Québec.

La Course à la vie CIBC, qui a permis cette année d’amasser 17 M$ pour la recherche sur le cancer du sein, est une initiative de la Fondation canadienne du cancer du sein (FCCS) depuis 1992 et est menée à bien localement en partenariat avec la Fondation du cancer du sein du Québec (FCSQ) depuis plusieurs années. Avec la fusion de la SCC et de la FCCS plus tôt cette année, la SCC assume désormais la responsabilité de la Course dans toutes les provinces, y compris au Québec.

«Nous sommes ravis de cet excellent résultat, qui inclut 1,14 M$ amassés au Québec uniquement, déclare Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la Société canadienne du cancer — Québec. À l’avenir, 100 % des fonds recueillis au Québec par la Course à la vie CIBC de la Société canadienne du cancer demeureront au Québec afin de financer des recherches de pointe et des initiatives en vue de soutenir les personnes touchées le cancer du sein. Nous prévoyons aussi étendre la Course à toute la province en ajoutant des sites supplémentaires.»

«La CIBC est un partenaire engagé depuis plus de deux décennies et nous sommes infiniment reconnaissants pour ce dévouement inébranlable à la lutte contre le cancer du sein. Nous sommes ravis de continuer à travailler avec la CIBC pour créer un monde où plus aucun Canadien n’aura à craindre le cancer, » d’ajouter Mme Dubois.

La SCC est maintenant le plus important organisme de financement de la recherche sur le cancer du sein au pays. Une Québécoise sur 8 est susceptible de recevoir un diagnostic de cancer du sein au cours de sa vie. Au cours des vingt dernières années, la SCC et la FCCS ont investi ensemble plus de 360 M$ dans la recherche sur le cancer du sein, finançant plus de 1000 subventions.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
Avec ses 38 bureaux et centres de services répartis à travers le Québec, la SCC est l’organisme québécois qui a le potentiel de sauver le plus de vies. Chaque année, la SCC aide plus de 2 millions de personnes au Québec. Grâce à l’appui de 300 000 donateurs et de 30 000 bénévoles québécois, elle est en mesure de :

  • prévenir plus de cancers;
  • financer davantage de projets de recherche;
  • soutenir plus de personnes touchées par le cancer.

Sauvons plus de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

FAITS SAILLANTS DU CANCER DU SEIN

  • En 2017, au Québec, 6500 femmes recevront un diagnostic de cancer du sein et 1300 femmes mourront de cette maladie. Avec le vieillissement de la population, on prévoit d’ici 2030, une hausse de plus de 20 % du nombre de diagnostics de cancer du sein.
  • Le taux de mortalité par cancer du sein a chuté de 44 % depuis 1988, probablement en raison d’un diagnostic précoce grâce aux progrès accomplis en matière de dépistage et de traitements.li>
  • Le taux de survie actuel du cancer du sein est de 87 %. Il était de 73 % dans les années 1980.


Pour tout renseignement ou toute demande d’entrevue avec une survivante du cancer du sein ou un porte-parole de la SCC, veuillez contacter :
Lauriane Ayivi
Coordonnatrice, Communications et relations publiques
Société canadienne du cancer
lauriane.ayivi@quebec.cancer.ca
514 255-5151, poste 22417