The Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life raises $12 million to save more lives

11 July 2016

Montreal -

The 2016 edition of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life raised $12,005,177 across Quebec to help save more lives through prevention, research and support.

“More than $12 million was raised in the 94 Relay For Life events which took place across Quebec in the past weeks. This great success is a vote of confidence from Quebecers in the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS). The amount raised will allow us to find more concrete solutions to fight against all cancers, says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Direction, CCS – Quebec Division. Thanks to volunteers, participants and donors. Thanks also to the cities and villages that continue to support us year after year. Without them, it would be impossible to raise such an impressive sum which represents 45% of the annual revenue of the CCS in Quebec.”

 

The Relay For Life is a 12-hour walk by night to celebrate life in spite of cancer, remember people touched by the disease and fight back together to save more lives. It’s an exceptional moment, a night shared with family, friends and colleagues in which we can show our support tangibly to those we love who are living with cancer.

Close to 32,000 Quebecers, 7,450 survivors, 7,000 volunteers and thousands of visitors took part in this year’s edition of the CCS’s Relay For Life. It symbolizes and throws light on what a person living with cancer goes through. For all those who have to face this disease, the walk is long and sometimes difficult. They must sometimes go the distance alone, sometimes with a team, sometimes in silence, sometimes with laughter and joy. A night to fight against all cancers!

Since its first edition in Quebec in 2001, Relay For Life has raised more than $126 million.

Relay to save more lives

The Canadian Cancer Society aims to reduce the number of cancer cases as well as the number of cancer related deaths, and enhance the quality of life of people living with the disease. With the support of 300,000 donors annually and 30,000 volunteers, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the Quebec cancer charity that has the greatest potential to save more lives.

Each year, one million Quebecers turn to it for help. The CCS is doing all it can to increase the overall cancer survival rate, which is currently 63%, to 80%.

The money raised by the Relay For Life helps:
  • prevent more cancers and push for laws that protect public health
  • fund more research projects
  • support more people living with cancer

Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Le Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer amasse 12 millions de dollars pour sauver plus de vies

11 juillet 2016

Montréal -

L’édition 2016 du Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a amassé au Québec 12 005 177 $ qui contribueront à sauver plus de vies par l’entremise de la prévention, de la recherche et du soutien.

« Plus de 12 millions de dollars ont été amassés lors des 94 Relais pour la vie tenus partout au Québec dans les dernières semaines. Cette réussite collective fantastique constitue une marque de confiance des Québécois envers la Société canadienne du cancer. La somme recueillie nous permettra de trouver plus de solutions concrètes pour lutter contre tous les cancers, a souligné Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC – Division du Québec. Merci aux bénévoles, aux marcheurs, aux partenaires et aux donateurs. Merci aussi aux villes et villages qui nous ont appuyés. Sans eux, il aurait été impossible de récolter une somme aussi impressionnante qui compte pour 45 % des revenus annuels de la SCC au Québec. »

Le Relais pour la vie est une marche qui dure 12 heures. C’est une nuit pour célébrer la vie malgré le cancer, pour rendre hommage aux personnes touchées par la maladie et pour lutter ensemble pour sauver encore plus de vies. C’est un moment exceptionnel à partager avec la famille, les amis et les collègues où l’on peut manifester son soutien de manière concrète à ceux que l’on aime et qui sont touchés par le cancer.

Près de 32 000 Québécois, 7450 survivants, 7000 bénévoles et des milliers de visiteurs ont participé cette année au Relais pour la vie de la SCC, lequel symbolise et met en lumière ce que vit une personne atteinte de cancer. Pour tous ceux qui doivent faire face à cette maladie, la marche est longue et parfois difficile. Le parcours se fait parfois seul, parfois en équipe, parfois en silence, parfois dans le rire et la joie. Une nuit pour lutter contre tous les cancers!

Depuis sa toute première édition au Québec, en 2001, le Relais pour la vie a amassé plus de 126 millions de dollars.

Prendre le relais sauve plus de vies

La Société canadienne du cancer a pour objectif de réduire le nombre de cas de cancer et le nombre de décès par cancer et d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par la maladie. Avec l’appui de la population, elle est aujourd’hui l’organisme de bienfaisance qui a le plus d’impact, sur plus de cancers, dans plus de communautés, que toute autre organisation dédiée au cancer au Québec. Avec l’appui de 300 000 donateurs annuels et de 30 000 bénévoles, la SCC est l’organisme québécois lié au cancer qui a le potentiel de sauver le plus de vies.

Chaque année, un million de Québécois se tournent vers elle. La SCC met tout en œuvre pour faire grimper le taux de survie global du cancer, actuellement de 63 %, à 80 %.

L’argent recueilli lors du Relais pour la vie, permet à la SCC :
  • de prévenir plus de cancers et d’exiger des lois qui protègent la santé
  • de financer davantage de projets de recherche
  • de soutenir plus de personnes touchées par le cancer
Sauvons plus de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444