A A A

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Trottibus, the Walking School Bus, is expanding in Quebec and to other parts of Canada

26 October 2015

Montreal -

The Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division’s Trottibus Walking School Bus, winner of The Play Exchange’s grand prize, is expanding. From now on, it will be offered across Quebec and in other areas of the country.

Developed by the CCS and gradually implemented across Quebec over the past five years, the Trottibus Walking School Bus is a pedestrian bus that enables elementary school children to walk to school in safety under adult supervision. Several studies show that youths are increasingly sedentary. This phenomenon causes serious problems related to excess weight and obesity across the country (nearly a third of Canadian youths are overweight or obese) as well as an increased risk of getting cancer later in life. For the CCS, the Trottibus Walking School Bus is an excellent way to get children moving and instil the habit of using active transportation right from childhood.

The Play Exchange, instituted in 2014 by the Public Health Agency of Canada and supported by various partners, had the goal of finding an innovative project that would bring people together to promote a healthy and active lifestyle. The Trottibus Walking School Bus was declared the winner of the grand prize in the competition held in January by online public voting. It was the only Quebec project selected among six Play Exchange finalists and some 400 projects submitted from coast to coast. The $1 million investment fund received from the Canadian government will enable the CCS to expand the Trottibus Walking School Bus across Quebec and the rest of Canada over the next few years. Currently, 61 Quebec schools participate in the Trottibus Walking School Bus and pilot projects supervised by the CCS will take place during the school year in Ontario and Nova Scotia.

Chantal Petitclerc, 14-time Paralympic gold medalist and Trottibus Walking School Bus ambassador for The Play Exchange, states that “the Trottibus Walking School Bus is a fantastic program because it integrates the idea of exercising every day into children’s lives in a way that’s simple and fun. Being the mother of a little boy, I’m glad to know that he and his friends will have the opportunity to take part in the Trottibus Walking School Bus when they’re ready for school. It’s well known that a child who exercises has strong chances of becoming an active adult. Thanks to The Play Exchange, the CCS can hope to prevent more cancers, the leading cause of death in the country.”

“The CCS would like to thank the organizers of The Play Exchange and highlight the staunch support of Trottibus Walking School Bus partners. Without them, the Trottibus Walking School Bus would not exist and wouldn’t be preparing to expand across the country,” says Jacinthe Hovington, Director of Cancer Prevention and Community Services at the CCS, Quebec Division. “In Canada, only one in four children uses active transportation to go to school. The Trottibus Walking School Bus is a way to encourage communities to get moving — hardly 4% of children in the country get enough physical exercise every day. We’re proud to be able to improve the health of children and help more Canadians adopt a healthy lifestyle.”


Trottibus Walking School Bus benefits
For the child
  • Chance to make friends
  • Fun and sense of belonging to a group
  • Opportunity to become a good pedestrian
  • Better concentration in class
  • Increase in the level of physical activity
  • Reduction of cancer risk

For the parent
  • Sharing the responsibility of taking their child to school with other parents
  • Spending quality time with their child
  • An easier morning routine a few times a week
For schools
  • Less traffic around the school
  • Increased safety for pedestrians
  • Parents mobilized by a project that brings them together
  • Surroundings promote physical activity

For communities
  • Fewer cars: families walk more to get around
  • Greener neighbourhood
  • Involvement of citizens in an intergenerational project

To set up a Trottibus Walking School Bus in a school, please visit the Trottibus Walking School Bus website. About the Canadian Cancer Society

With the support of 300,000 annual donors and 30,000 volunteers, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the Quebec charity with the potential to save the most lives. Each year, some 135,000 Quebecers turn to it. So, the CCS does everything it can to increase the overall cancer survival rate, currently at 63%, to 80% by 2030.

The money raised by the CCS helps:
  • prevent more cancers and advocate for public health
  • fund more research projects
  • support more people living with cancer
Let’s save more lives. Please visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

Le projet Trottibus de la Société canadienne du cancer, l’autobus qui fait marcher les écoliers, s’étend au Québec et ailleurs au pays

26 octobre 2015

Montréal -

Le projet Trottibus de la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec, grand gagnant national du Jeu d’échange, se déploie. Il sera désormais offert partout au Québec et dans d'autres régions du pays.

Conçu par la SCC et implanté de façon graduelle au Québec depuis cinq ans, le Trottibus est un autobus pédestre qui permet à des élèves du primaire de se rendre à pied de la maison vers l’école, de façon sécuritaire et encadrée. De nombreuses études démontrent que les jeunes sont de plus en plus sédentaires. Ce phénomène entraîne de graves problèmes d’embonpoint et d’obésité dans l’ensemble du pays (près d’un jeune Canadien sur trois souffre d’embonpoint ou d’obésité), ainsi qu’un risque accru de développer un cancer plus tard dans la vie. Pour la SCC, le Trottibus s’avère un excellent moyen de faire bouger les enfants et d’ancrer l’usage du transport actif dès l’enfance.

Trottibus l'autobus qui marche 

Jeu d’échange, mis en place en 2014 par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et appuyé par divers partenaires, avait pour but de trouver un projet novateur et rassembleur faisant la promotion d’un mode de vie sain et actif. Le Trottibus a été proclamé grand gagnant du concours en janvier dernier par un vote en ligne du public; il était le seul projet québécois retenu parmi les six finalistes du Jeu d’échange et quelque 400 projets soumis d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Le fonds d’investissements d’un million de dollars du gouvernement fédéral associé à Jeu d’échange permettra à la SCC de déployer le Trottibus partout au Québec au cours des prochaines années ainsi qu’ailleurs au Canada. Actuellement, 61 écoles québécoises participent au Trottibus et des projets pilotes supervisés par la SCC auront lieu pendant l’année scolaire en cours en Ontario et en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Chantal Petitclerc, 14 fois médaillée d’or paralympique et ambassadrice du Trottibus pour Jeu d’échange, affirme que « le Trottibus est un programme vraiment fantastique, car il intègre simplement et dans le plaisir la notion de bouger tous les jours aux jeunes. Étant maman d’un petit garçon, je suis heureuse de voir qu’il pourra lui et ses amis, participer au Trottibus quand il ira à l’école. C’est reconnu, un enfant qui bouge a de fortes chances d’être un adulte actif. Grâce au Jeu d’échange, la SCC souhaite prévenir plus de cancers, principale cause de mortalité au pays. »

« La SCC tient à remercier les organisateurs du Jeu d’échange et à souligner l’appui indéfectible des partenaires du Trottibus. Sans eux, le Trottibus n’existerait pas et ne pourrait pas se déployer désormais à travers le pays, précise Jacinthe Hovington, directrice, Prévention du cancer et services à la communauté à la SCC, Division du Québec. Au Canada, seul un enfant sur quatre utilise le transport actif pour se rendre à l’école. Le Trottibus est un moyen d’encourager les communautés à bouger — à peine 4 % des enfants du pays font suffisamment d’activité physique chaque jour. Nous sommes fiers d'améliorer de façon positive et durable la santé des enfants et de permettre à plus de Canadiens de vivre sainement. »

 

Bienfaits du Trottibus
Pour l’enfant
  • Possibilité de se faire des amis
  • Plaisir et sentiment d’appartenance à un groupe
  • Occasion de devenir un bon piéton
  • Meilleure concentration en classe
  • Augmentation du niveau d’activité physique
  • Réduction des risques de cancer
Pour le parent
  • Un partage de la responsabilité d’accompagner son enfant à l’école avec d’autres parents
  • Un moment de qualité avec son enfant
  • Une routine matinale facilitée plusieurs matins par semaine
Pour les écoles
  • Circulation automobile réduite autour de l’école
  • Sécurité accrue pour les piétons
  • Mobilisation des parents autour d’un projet rassembleur
  • Milieu favorisant l’activité physique
Pour les communautés
  • Moins de voitures : familles utilisant davantage la marche comme moyen de déplacement
  • Quartier plus vert
  • Implication des citoyens dans un projet intergénérationnel

Pour mettre en place un Trottibus dans un milieu scolaire, veuillez visiter le site du Trottibus.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

Avec l’appui de 300 000 donateurs annuels et de 30 000 bénévoles, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est l’organisme québécois lié au cancer qui a le potentiel de sauver le plus de vies. Chaque année, quelque 135 000 Québécois se tournent vers elle. La SCC met donc tout en œuvre pour faire grimper le taux de survie global du cancer, actuellement de 63 %, à 80 %, d’ici 2030.


L’argent recueilli par la SCC permet :
  • de prévenir plus de cancers et d’exiger des lois qui protègent la santé
  • de financer davantage de projets de recherche
  • de soutenir plus de personnes touchées par le cancer
Sauvons plus de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444