A A A

Top 10 research projects to save more lives

06 July 2015

Montreal -

Your donations make it possible for the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) to fund more research on more cancers than any other charity in the country. Your support helps the CCS save more lives. In 2014, we invested $37 million in research, $7 million of which was in Quebec. Here’s an overview of the 10 most noteworthy projects in Quebec in 2014.

 Robert Day

1. Two new drugs

Prostate cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in men. Luckily, Dr Robert Day and his team at Université de Sherbrooke have managed to patent two new drugs as well as two promising tools that will significantly improve treatment methods for people with this disease.

 

2. The anticancer power of certain mutations

Lung cancer is the deadliest of all cancers. In addition, it does not respond well to drugs. A discovery by McGill University’s Dr David Dankort raises for better survival rates. With his team, he discovered that, among lab mice, some genetic mutations have an anticancer power. This finding could give rise to new treatments.



 Caude Perreault

3. An anticancer vaccine

Immunotherapy is an innovative treatment that uses the immune system’s defence mechanism to fight cancer. Dr ClaudePerreault’s team at the Université de Montréal pursued this line of research, which could now benefit many patients. The team has identified new molecules that attract T cells, which are a type of natural signalling machine that can fight germs and diseases. This very promising discovery will help more patients harness the power of their own immune system to work against cancer.

Marie-Élise Parent

4. Preventing prostate cancer

Although prostate cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in men, its risk factors are not well known. Dr Marie-Élise Parent and her team at the Institut Armand-Frappier Research Centre in Laval have conducted one of the most thorough studies in the world on this subject. Their 10-year research has established a correlation between high exposure to motor vehicle pollution and an increased risk of prostate cancer. This result will give rise to new prevention strategies.

 

5. Promoting a healthy lifestyle

A healthy lifestyle may prevent cancer, but eating well and exercising regularly don’t necessarily come naturally. To help children learn healthy habits, Université Laval’s Dr Sherri Bisset is studying to what extent schoolyards are conducive to physical games and the limitations of healthy eating programs at school.

 Caroline Diorio

6. Proving the importance of low sugar consumption

We knew that too much sugar in our diet increases the breast cancer risk. Thanks to Dr Caroline Dioro, we now better understand why. With her team at Université Laval, this researcher discovered that in menopausal or premenopausal women, a high-sugar diet increases breast density, which is a known risk factor for breast cancer. This discovery will contribute to the prevention of breast cancer.

Damien D'Amour

7. Better understanding cancer

Cancer cells have the unfortunate characteristic of growing and multiplying rapidly, as a result of which the DNA repair process is constantly active. Thanks to Dr Damien D’Amours and his colleagues at the Université de Montréal, this repair process is now better understood and opens the door to innovative treatments.


 Thierry Alcindor

8. More personalized chemotherapy treatments

Is it better to take one or two chemotherapy drugs when someone has sarcoma (a cancer affecting soft tissues and bones)? Everything depends on the patient, according to a clinical study conducted across 10 countries by Université Laval’s Dr Thierry Alcindor. In fact, taking two drugs is more effective against tumours, but can cause more side effects. Sometimes, it’s a Dr Damien D’Amours, in Montreal. worthwhile option. This discovery will help personalize treatments.

 

9. Fighting against breast cancer's metastases

While breast cancer responds well to treatment if it is detected early, its prognosis becomes gloomier in the case of metastases (tumors that spread to the rest of the body). Dr Peter Siegel and his team at McGill University in Montreal have thrown light on the mechanisms that lead to the migration of breast cancer. These important observations highlight new treatment strategies to prevent breast cancer metastasis and save more lives.

 

10. Better understanding the harmful effects of the sun

Exposure to the sun without adequate protection leads to skin damage. The harmful effects of the sun can now be better understood through the work of Dr Elliott Drobetsky. The researcher and his group at Université de Montréal have discovered what makes the repair of the damage caused by the sun in cancer cells go awry. This new knowledge may be a source of new  treatments and innovative prevention strategies.

If you wish to continue to support research today, don’t hesitate to make a special donation dedicated to research or contact us for more information on making a gift through you will.

About the Canadian Cancer Society
With the support of 300,000 donors annually and 30,000 volunteers, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the Quebec cancer charity that can save more lives. Each year, some 135,000 turn to it for help. The CCS is doing all it can to increase the overall cancer survival rate, which is currently 63%, to 80% by 2030.
The money raised by the CCS helps:

  • prevent more cancers and push for laws that protect public health
  • fund more research projects
  • support more people living with cancer

Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

A A A

Top 10 des recherches pour sauver plus de vies

07 juillet 2015

Montréal -

Grâce à vos dons, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) finance plus de recherches sur plus de  cancers que tout autre organisme de bienfaisance au pays. Avec votre soutien, la SCC sauve plus de vies. En 2014, nous avons investi 37 millions de dollars dans la recherche, dont sept millions seulement au Québec. Voici un aperçu des 10 projets québécois les plus marquants de 2014.

Robert Day

1. Deux nouveaux médicaments

Le cancer de la prostate est le cancer le plus fréquemment diagnostiqué chez les hommes. Heureusement, le Dr Robert Day et son équipe de l’Université de Sherbrooke, ont réussi à breveter deux nouveaux médicaments ainsi que deux outils prometteurs qui amélioreront significativement les soins aux patients atteints de cette maladie.
 

2. Le pouvoir anticancéreux de certaines mutations

Le cancer du poumon est le plus meurtrier de tous les cancers. De plus, il répond mal aux médicaments. Une découverte du Dr David Dankort de l’Université McGill, laisse espérer un meilleur taux de survie. Avec son équipe, il a découvert que, chez la souris, certaines mutations génétiques ont un pouvoir anticancéreux. Ce résultat pourrait déboucher sur de nouveaux traitements.
 Caude Perreault

3. Un vaccin contre le cancer

L’immunothérapie est un traitement novateur qui utilise la combativité du système immunitaire pour lutter contre le cancer. L’équipe du Dr Claude Perreault à l’Université de Montréal, s’est penchée sur cette méthode inédite qui pourrait maintenant profiter à davantage de patients. Cette équipe a identifié de nouvelles molécules qui attirent les cellules T, une sorte de machine naturelle qui lutte contre les germes et les maladies. Cette découverte très prometteuse permettra à plus de patients d’exploiter la puissance de leur système immunitaire contre le cancer.
 Marie-Élise Parent

4. Prévenir le cancer de la prostate

Bien que le cancer de la prostate soit le plus fréquemment diagnostiqué chez les hommes, ses facteurs de risque demeurent méconnus. La Dre Marie-Élise Parent et son équipe de l’Institut Armand-Frappier, à Laval, ont réalisé une des recherches les plus approfondies au monde sur le sujet. Ces 10 années d’études ont notamment établi un lien entre une forte exposition à la pollution automobile et un risque accru du cancer de la prostate. Ce résultat inspirera de nouvelles stratégies de prévention.

5. Favoriser les saines habitudes de vie

Si de saines habitudes de vie préviennent le cancer, bien manger et faire suffisamment d’exercice ne vont pas toujours de soi. Pour aider les enfants à adopter des comportements plus sains, Dre Sherri Bisset de l’Université Laval, examine à quel point les cours d’école favorisent les jeux physiques et quelles sont les limites des programmes prônant une bonne alimentation.
 Caroline Diorio

6. Prouver l’importance d’une alimentation peu sucrée

Nous savions que consommer beaucoup de sucre favorise le développement du cancer du sein. Grâce à la Dre Caroline Dioro, nous comprenons mieux pourquoi. Avec son équipe de l’Université Laval, cette chercheure a découvert que, chez les femmes ménopausées ou préménopausées, une alimentation élevée en sucre augmente la densité mammaire, un facteur de risque connu pour le cancer du sein. Cette découverte améliorera la prévention de ce type de cancer.
Damien D'Amour

7. Mieux comprendre le cancer

Les cellules cancéreuses ont la triste particularité de grossir et de se multiplier rapidement, ce qui exige qu’elles réparent sans cesse leur ADN. Grâce au Dr Damien D’Amours et ses collègues de l’Université de Montréal, ce processus de réparation est maintenant mieux compris et ouvre la porte à des traitements novateurs.
 Thierry Alcindor

8. Des traitements de chimiothérapie plus personnalisés

Vaut-il mieux prendre un ou deux médicaments de chimiothérapie lorsque l’on est atteint d’un sarcome (un cancer des tissus mous et des os)? Tout dépend du patient, a démontré une étude clinique menée dans 10 pays par le Dr Thierry Alcindorde l’Université Laval. En effet, prendre deux médicaments est plus efficace contre les tumeurs, mais entraîne davantage d’effets secondaires. Il s’agit donc parfois d’une option intéressante. Cette découverte permettra de personnaliser les traitements.
 

9. Lutter contre les métastases du cancer du sein

Alors que le cancer du sein se traite bien s’il est détecté à temps, son pronostic s’envenime avec l’apparition de métastases (des tumeurs qui se propagent ailleurs dans le corps). L’équipe du Dr Peter Siegel de l’Université McGill, à Montréal, a éclairci les mécanismes qui permettent la migration du cancer du sein. Ces importants constats mettent en lumière de nouvelles stratégies de traitement pour prévenir les métastases du cancer du sein et sauver plus de vies.
 

10. Mieux comprendre les méfaits du soleil

S’exposer au soleil sans protection abîme la peau. Les effets nocifs du soleil sont désormais mieux compris grâce aux travaux du Dr Elliott Drobetsky. Le chercheur et son groupe de ’Université de Montréal ont découvert ce qui dérègle la réparation des dommages causés par le soleil dans les cellules cancéreuses. Ces nouvelles connaissances permettent d’envisager des traitements inédits et des stratégies de prévention innovantes.

Si vous souhaitez continuer à soutenir la recherche dès aujourd’hui, n’hésitez pas à faire un don spécial dédié à la recherche ou à vous informer sur la possibilité de faire un don par testament.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

Avec l’appui de 300 000 donateurs annuels et de 30 000 bénévoles, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est l’organisme québécois lié au cancer qui peut sauver le plus de vies. Chaque année, quelque 135 000 Québécois se tournent vers elle. La SCC met donc tout en œuvre pour faire grimper le taux de survie global du cancer, actuellement de 63 %, à 80 %, d’ici 2030.

L’argent recueilli par la SCC permet :
  • de prévenir plus de cancers et d’exiger des lois qui protègent la santé
  • de financer davantage de projets de recherche
  • de soutenir plus de personnes touchées par le cancer

Sauvons plus de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.