A A A

How many cancers are due to our lifestyle? - A new Canadian Cancer Society study on avoidable risk factors will be conducted in Quebec and the rest of the country

19 February 2015

Montreal -

Imagine if the number of cancer cases could be cut by half in 30 years. It’s not such a far-fetched idea. A new Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) study, in which Quebec researcher Dr Eduardo Franco from McGill University is participating, will help determine the number of cancer cases that could be avoided by improving our lifestyles and reducing our exposure to environmental carcinogens.


We know that tobacco, asbestos and radon have a direct link with cancer. Excess body weight, poor diet and inactivity can also increase the risk of developing preventable cancer. The CCS study will try to ascertain how and when. It will also investigate the impact of other factors on the incidence of cancer, particularly alcohol consumption, HPV and hepatitis B as well as exposure to air pollution and ultraviolet rays.


« This investigation represents a one-of-a-kind opportunity to learn how much of the burden of cancer that we experience in Canada is due to the different causes and risk factors. We have had this information in rather imprecise form based on data mostly from other countries, says Dr Eduardo Franco, Chair of the Department of Oncology and Director of the Division of Cancer Epidemiology at McGill and co-investigator of this CCSRI-sponsored study. This study will be the first to use specific Quebec and Canadian data and exposure circumstances. Having this information will permit better tailoring of preventive strategies to reduce the incidence of cancer in our country and to reduce potential disparities in access to health promotion.» Dr Eduardo’s contribution to the CCS study is specifically on cancers caused by infections.


Research has already shown that around half of all cancer cases could be prevented by practising healthy behaviours, active living and by adopting public policies that protect health. This new CCS study will provide the most comprehensive and accurate breakdown of cancer risk factors across Canada. The information can then be used to prioritize the implementation of effective and targeted prevention programs to meet the needs of each region in Canada.


Building on the knowledge we already have, this new study will help determine the magnitude of cancer risk as well as the impact of each of these modifiable risk factors on the number of cancer cases diagnosed in Quebec and elsewhere in the country. To do so, the research team will use national and provincial databases, surveys as well as published literature. The national data will also be broken down by province and territory.


“We believe that by quantifying our daily behaviours and knowing what we’re exposing ourselves to, we can better target cancer prevention priorities,” says Jacinthe Hovington, Director of Cancer Prevention at the Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division. “At the end of the day, this innovative research funded by the CCS will help us save more lives.”

Other investigators on the study
  • Dr Christine Friedenreich, Head, Division of Preventive Oncology in the University of Calgary’s Department of Oncology, and lead investigator on the study
  • Darren Brenner, Alberta Health Services, Calgary
  • Prithwish De, Cancer Care Ontario, Toronto
  • Paul Demers, Cancer Care Ontario, Toronto
  • Eduardo Franco, McGill University, Montreal
  • Perry Hystad, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon
  • Will King, Queen's University, Kingston
  • Paul Villeneuve, Carleton University, Ottawa
  • Stephen Walter, McMaster University, Hamilton

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. With the support of thousands of Quebecers, donors and volunteers, we fight to prevent more cancers, enable our researchers to make more discoveries and help more people touched by the disease. Let’s save more lives. Visit cancer.ca or call us at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

Combien de cas de cancer sont attribuables à notre mode de vie? - Une nouvelle étude de la Société canadienne du cancer sur les facteurs de risque évitables sera menée au Québec et ailleurs au pays

19 février 2015

Montréal -

Imaginez que dans 30 ans, on arrive à réduire de moitié le nombre de cas de cancer. L’idée n’est pas si farfelue. Pour la première fois, une nouvelle étude de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), à laquelle participe un chercheur québécois, le Dr Eduardo Franco de l’Université McGill, permettra de déterminer le nombre de cas de cancer qui pourraient être évités en améliorant nos habitudes de vie et en réduisant notre exposition aux agents carcinogènes présents dans l’environnement.


On sait que le tabac, l’amiante et le radon ont un lien direct avec le cancer. L’excès de poids, une mauvaise alimentation et le manque d’activité physique augmentent également les risques de développer un cancer évitable. L’étude de la SCC cherchera à savoir comment et quand. Elle cherchera aussi à connaitre l’impact d’autres facteurs sur l’incidence du cancer, notamment la consommation d’alcool, le VPH et l’hépatite B de même que l’exposition à la pollution de l’air et aux rayons ultraviolets.


« Cette étude représente une occasion unique d’apprendre à quel point le fardeau du cancer au Canada est relié à différentes causes et facteurs de risque. Nous avions déjà cette information de manière imprécise, mais nos données provenaient surtout d’autres pays, déclare le Dr Eduardo Franco, directeur du département d’oncologie et de la division de l’épidémiologie du cancer à l’Université McGill, et cochercheur de cette étude parrainée par l’Institut de recherche de la SCC. Il s’agit de la première étude à utiliser des données spécifiques au Québec et au Canada. Cette information permettra de mieux adapter les stratégies de prévention afin de réduire l’incidence de cancer dans notre pays et d’atténuer les disparités potentielles d’accès à la promotion de la santé. » La contribution du Dr Eduardo à cette étude de la SCC porte spécifiquement sur les cancers causés par des infections.


La recherche a déjà démontré que l’on pourrait prévenir environ la moitié de tous les cas de cancer par de saines habitudes de vie, une vie active et l’adoption de politiques publiques favorisant la santé. Cette nouvelle étude pancanadienne de la SCC fournira un portrait plus précis et détaillé sur les facteurs de risque du cancer. Cela permettra de prioriser la mise en œuvre de programmes et de politiques de prévention mieux ciblés aux besoins de chaque région du Canada.


En regroupant nos connaissances actuelles, cette nouvelle étude permettra de déterminer l’ampleur du risque de cancer ainsi que l’impact de chacun des facteurs de risque évitables sur le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer diagnostiqués chaque année au Québec et ailleurs au pays. Pour ce faire, les chercheurs utiliseront des bases de données nationales et provinciales, des sondages, de même que des études médicales publiées. Les données finales seront ainsi disponibles pour chaque province et territoire.


« Nous croyons qu’en quantifiant nos comportements au quotidien et en sachant à quoi nous nous exposons dans nos vies, nous pourrons mieux cibler les priorités en matière de prévention du cancer, explique affirme Jacinthe Hovington, directrice de la prévention du cancer à la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec. En fin de compte, cette recherche novatrice financée par la SCC nous aidera à sauver plus de vies. »

Autres chercheurs qui vont collaborer à cette étude
  • Dre Christine Friedenreich, chef de la Division d’oncologie préventive du Département d’oncologie, à l’Université de Calgary et principale instigatrice de l’étude
  • Darren Brenner, Alberta Health Services, Calgary
  • Prithwish De, Action Cancer Ontario, Toronto Paul Demers, Action Cancer Ontario, Toronto
  • Perry Hystad, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon
  • Will King, Université Queen's University, Kingston
  • Paul Villeneuve, Université Carleton, Ottawa
  • Stephen Walter, Université McMaster, Hamilton

Chaque jour, la Société canadienne du cancer travaille à sauver plus de vies. Grâce à des milliers de Québécois, donateurs et bénévoles, elle lutte pour prévenir plus de cancers, permettre à nos chercheurs de faire plus de découvertes et aider plus de personnes touchées par la maladie. Sauvons + de vies. Visitez cancer.ca ou appelez-nous au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444