A A A


2015

Passage of An Act to bolster tobacco control in Quebec A major gain in the fight against cancer

November 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division welcomes the passage of An Act to bolster tobacco control with immense satisfaction after a long wait of five years.


The Canadian Cancer Society and the Cole Foundation launch a $3 million partnership that will create a better convergence among Montreal research centres specializing in pediatric cancer

November 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division and the Cole Foundation announced today the launch of a unique partnership project to fund research on leukemia and lymphoma in children and young adults.


Plan for the development of palliative care in Quebec - The Canadian Cancer Society congratulates the Health Minister for his commitment to palliative care

November 2015 - For the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division, the five year plan for palliative care tabled today by the Couillard government marks an important step for better access to this service. The plan in general aims for a better quality of life for all Quebecers, for which the CCS would like to congratulate the government.


FAQs about radon

November 2015 - Radon is a radioactive gas formed from uranium present naturally in the earth’s crust. Radon is found in the soil, all over the earth’s surface. The quantity of radon in the soil can vary significantly from one place to another.


The Canadian Cancer Society wants to inform Quebecers about the risks associated with radon, the leading cause of lung cancer after smoking

November 2015 - November is Radon Awareness Month. The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) would like to remind homeowners that radon is a naturally occurring carcinogenic gas that has no smell, colour or taste. November and subsequent winter months are an ideal period to test for radon in the house so that remedial measures can then be taken if the level is too high.


The Canadian Cancer Society’s Trottibus, the Walking School Bus, is expanding in Quebec and to other parts of Canada

October 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division’s Trottibus Walking School Bus, winner of The Play Exchange’s grand prize, is expanding. From now on, it will be offered across Quebec and in other areas of the country.


The Canadian Cancer Society’s Paws for Hope: It pays to walk! More than $100,000 raised in 5 cities across Quebec

October 2015 - From September to the beginning of October, nearly 530 dogs and their masters participated in the Canadian Cancer Society’s Paws for Hope walkathon, a fundraising activity that contributes to saving more lives, one step at a time. In total, $101,526.38 was raised in 5 cities across Quebec.


Consideration of Bill 44: for the Canadian Cancer Society, bolstering tobacco control is the best way to fight against cancer

September 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division appeared today before the Committee on Health and Social Services on the last day of the hearings on Bill 44, An Act to bolster tobacco control.


Top 10 research projects to save more lives

July 2015 - Your donations make it possible for the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) to fund more research on more cancers than any other charity in the country. In 2014, we invested $37 million in research, $7 million of which was in Quebec.


The Canadian Cancer Society highlights the outstanding courage and resilience of Martha Moore from Gatineau and Sylvain Poissant from Montreal

June 2015 - During the 2015 Relay For Life closing ceremony in Montreal on June 19, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) awarded Martha Moore and Sylvain Poissant its highest national distinction: the Medal of Courage.


The Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life raises over $12 million to save more lives

June 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society’s 94 Relay For Life events, which took place across Quebec, raised $12,183,695 to help save more lives through prevention, research and support.


Class action against tobacco companies: Canadian Cancer Society hails landmark ruling

June 2015 - The class action suit against the tobacco manufacturers has just been granted $15.5 billion in damages and interest to the victims. The Canadian Cancer Society hails this landmark ruling.


Canadian Cancer Statistics 2015. Quebec will see a 35% rise in the number of cancer cases by 2030. To save more lives, early detection, access to treatment and investments in research must be prioritized

May 2015 - The number of new cancer cases will rise at least 35% (nearly 40% nationally) in the next 15 years, according to a new report – Canadian Cancer Statistics 2015 – released by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.


May 2015 - Media backgrounder: Canadian Cancer Statistics. Predictions of the future burden of cancer in Canada

May 2015 - Canadian Cancer Statistics 2015 was released today by the Canadian Cancer Society, in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada. The report includes a special topic chapter on predictions of the future burden of cancer in Canada.


Media backgrounder Canadian Cancer Statistics 2015 Cancer in Canada: Fast facts

May 2015 - The number of new cancer cases and cancer deaths continues to rise steadily as the Canadian population grows and ages.


The Canadian Cancer Society awards the 2015 CCS Grant for palliative care outreach to Serge Dumont

May 2015 - On the occasion of the 25th annual Réseau de soins palliatifs du Québec (RSPQ) conference, which was held in Rivière-du-Loup on May 14 and 15, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), in partnership with the RSPQ, proudly presented the 2015 CCS Grant for palliative care outreach to Serge Dumont and his collaborators for their Living the End of Life at Home project.


SPVM chief Marc Parent and 50 other police officers shave their heads to support people living with cancer - More than $80,000 raised to help save more lives

May 2015 - Marc Parent, and 50 other police officers who are all members of Quebec’s various police forces, including seven other directors, had their heads shaved to raise $100,000.00 for the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS).


The daffodil: a small flower for a great cause with a big payoff!

May 2015 - The sale of fresh daffodils, the symbol of life and hope of the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS), has managed to raise nearly $2.1 million for prevention, research and support, which is $80,000 more than last year.


An amendment to the law will save thousands of lives - The Tobacco Act: the Canadian Cancer Society congratulates Minister Lucie Charlebois

May 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) applauds the tabling of the bill to amend the Tobacco Act and congratulates Minister Delegate for Rehabilitation, Youth Protection and Public Health Lucie Charlebois, who is finally tackling an industry whose products kill half of all users, leading to about 10,000 deaths per year, which are all preventable.


More palliative care for everyone, everywhere and earlier - The Canadian Cancer Society conveys the demands of more than 34,000 people to Dr Barrette

April 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division recently delivered by hand to Health Minister Dr Gaétan Barrette 34,000 postcards resulting from a campaign in Quebec demanding more palliative care for everyone, everywhere and earlier in the cancer journey.


A third of Quebecers living with cancer need to travel for their treatment - The Jacques-Cantin Lodge is celebrating its 25th anniversary

April 2015 - In the spring of 1990, the Canadian Cancer Society’s Jacques-Cantin Lodge welcomed its first guests. Now, 25 years later, this lodge, which is open seven days a week, receives more than 600 autonomous persons (patients and caregivers) from outside of Montreal as they come into the city for their cancer treatment.


The Canadian Cancer Society’s Daffodil Ball - More than $1.5 million raised for the fight against cancer

April 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society, Quebec Division, is proud to announce that the Daffodil Ball, a gala evening held on April 16 in Montreal with 600 prestigious guests in attendance, has helped us raise $1.565 million that will be used in the fight against cancer.


Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute report - $7 million invested in Quebec: 100 projects, 5 centres and 71 research teams

April 2015 - On the occasion of Daffodil Month, the CCS is releasing its 2014 Research Impact Report, which features the work of researchers across the country, showcasing the reach of the research funded by the CCS.


A small flower for a great cause - The Canadian Cancer Society’s daffodils will be on sale from March 26 to 29

March 2015 - As April, which is Daffodil Month, approaches, the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) will, from March 26 to 29, sell a small flower for a great cause: the daffodil, a symbol of life and hope.


Why do some people never get cancer? Innovative Canadian Cancer Society study of Quebec and other provinces “super seniors" aims to find out.

March 2015 - He’s 106, but Dr Robert Wiener isn’t ready to slow down. He’s on his exercise bike every day, and does 2 exercise classes a week, plus yoga and tai chi.


Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month: delay in implementing organized screening - The Canadian Cancer Society asks the Health Ministry to submit a timetable as soon as possible for the implementation of an organized program for colorectal cancer screening!

March 2015 - The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) would like to take the opportunity to press the government for the speedy implementation of the Programme québécois de dépistage du cancer colorectal (PQDCCR).



How many cancers are due to our lifestyle? - A new Canadian Cancer Society study on avoidable risk factors will be conducted in Quebec and the rest of the country

February 2015 - A new Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) study, in which Quebec researcher Dr Eduardo Franco from McGill University is participating, will help determine the number of cancer cases that could be avoided by improving our lifestyles and reducing our exposure to environmental carcinogens.

A A A


Adoption de la Loi québécoise visant à renforcer la lutte contre le tabagisme - Une avancée majeure dans la lutte contre le cancer

novembre 2015 - C’est avec une immense satisfaction que la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec accueille l’adoption de la Loi visant à renforcer la lutte contre le tabagisme, attendue depuis 5 ans déjà. Elle félicite la ministre déléguée à la Santé publique, Lucie Charlebois, pour cette loi robuste et audacieuse qui inclut plusieurs précédents mondiaux.


La Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation Cole lancent un partenariat de 3 M$ qui créera une meilleure convergence entre les centres de recherche de Montréal spécialisés en cancer pédiatrique

novembre 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec et la Fondation Cole ont annoncé aujourd’hui le lancement d’un projet unique de partenariat dans le but de financer la recherche sur la leucémie et le lymphome chez les enfants et les jeunes adultes.


Plan pour le développement des soins palliatifs au Québec- La Société canadienne du cancer félicite le ministre de la Santé pour son engagement concernant les soins palliatifs

novembre 2015 - Pour la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec, le plan quinquennal du gouvernement pour les soins palliatifs déposé aujourd’hui par le gouvernement Couillard marque une étape importante vers un meilleur accès à ces soins. Le plan vise globalement une meilleure qualité de vie pour tous les Québécois, ce pour quoi la SCC félicite le gouvernement.


La Société canadienne du cancer veut informer les Québécois des risques associés au radon, la principale cause du cancer du poumon après le tabagisme

novembre 2015 - Novembre est le Mois de la sensibilisation au radon. La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) tient à rappeler aux propriétaires de maisons que le radon est un gaz radioactif cancérigène de source naturelle, que l'on ne peut ni voir, ni sentir, ni goûter. Le mois de novembre et les mois d’hiver constituent une période idéale pour effectuer un test de mesure permettant de détecter la présence de radon dans sa maison, et ce, afin de prendre les mesures correctives nécessaires par la suite si le niveau est trop élevé.


Questions et réponses sur le radon

novembre 2015 - Le radon est un gaz radioactif qui provient de l’uranium naturellement présent dans la croûte terrestre. Le radon se trouve dans le sol, partout à la surface de la Terre.


Le projet Trottibus de la Société canadienne du cancer, l’autobus qui fait marcher les écoliers, s’étend au Québec et ailleurs au pays

octobre 2015 - Le projet Trottibus de la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec, grand gagnant national du Jeu d’échange, se déploie. Il sera désormais offert partout au Québec et dans d'autres régions du pays.


Pattes de l’espoir de la Société canadienne du cancer : une marche qui rapporte! Plus de 100 000 $ amassés dans 5 villes au Québec

octobre 2015 - Durant le mois de septembre et au début octobre, près de 530 meilleurs amis de l’homme et leurs maîtres ont participé au march-o-thon Pattes de l’espoir de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), une activité de collecte de fonds qui contribue à sauver plus de vies, un pas à la fois. Au total, 101 526,38 $ ont été amassés dans 5 villes au Québec.


Cancer de la prostate : une recherche sherbrookoise novatrice financée par la Société canadienne du cancer passe de l’espoir à la réalité!

octobre 2015 - Le Dr Robert Day de l’Institut de pharmacologie de Sherbrooke (affilié à l’Université de Sherbrooke) et financé à hauteur de 1,2 million de dollars par la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), vient de conclure une entente avec le Center for Drug Research and Development afin d’accélérer le développement d’un nouveau médicament contre le cancer de la prostate.


Étude du projet de loi n° 44 : pour la Société canadienne du cancer, renforcer la loi sur le tabac est la meilleure façon de lutter contre le cancer

septembre 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec comparait aujourd’hui devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux, dans le cadre de la dernière journée de l’étude du projet de loi n° 44, Loi visant à renforcer la lutte contre le tabagisme.


Top 10 des recherches pour sauver plus de vies

juillet 2015 - Grâce à vos dons, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) finance plus de recherches sur plus de cancers que tout autre organisme de bienfaisance au pays. En 2014, nous avons investi 37 millions de dollars dans la recherche, dont sept millions seulement au Québec.


La Société canadienne du cancer souligne le courage et la résilience exceptionnels de Martha Moore de Gatineau et de Sylvain Poissant de Montréal

juin 2015 - Le 19 juin dernier, à Montréal, lors de la cérémonie de clôture des Relais pour la vie 2015, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a présenté à Martha Moore et Sylvain Poissant sa plus haute distinction nationale : la Médaille du courage.


Le Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer amasse plus de 12 millions de dollars pour sauver plus de vies

juin 2015 - Les 94 Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) organisés partout à travers le Québec, ont permis d’amasser 12 183 695 $ qui contribueront à sauver plus de vies par la prévention, la recherche et le soutien.


Recours collectif contre les compagnies de tabac : la Société canadienne du cancer se réjouit du jugement historique rendu

juin 2015 - Le procès en recours collectif contre les fabricants de cigarettes vient d’accorder 15,5 milliards $ en dommages et intérêts aux victimes. La Société canadienne du cancer se réjouit de ce jugement historique.


Fiche d’information médias Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2015 — Les faits en bref

mai 2015 - Le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer et de décès par cancer continue de croître à mesure que la population canadienne augmente et vieillit.


Fiche d’information médias. Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2015 — Prévisions relatives au fardeau futur du cancer au Canada

mai 2015 - Le rapport Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2015 a été publié le 27 mai 2015 par la Société canadienne du cancer, en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada. Il comprend un chapitre sur un sujet particulier : les prévisions relatives au fardeau futur du cancer au Canada.


Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2015. Le Québec connaîtra une hausse de 35 % du nombre de cas de cancer d’ici 2030. Pour sauver plus de vies, il faut prioriser la détection précoce, l’accessibilité aux traitements et les investissements en recherche

mai 2015 - Le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer au Québec bondira d’au moins 35 % (près de 40 % au pays ) dans les 15 prochaines années. C’est ce que nous apprend un nouveau rapport – Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2015 – publié aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada.


La Société canadienne du cancer remet la Bourse 2015 SCC en diffusion des soins palliatifs à M. Serge Dumont

mai 2015 - À l’occasion du 25e congrès du Réseau de soins palliatifs du Québec (RSPQ), qui se tenait à Rivière-du-Loup les 14 et 15 mai, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) remettait fièrement, en partenariat avec le RSPQ, la Bourse SCC 2015 en diffusion des soins palliatifs à M. Serge Dumont et ses collaborateurs pour le projet Vivre sa fin de vie à domicile.


Le chef du SPVM, Marc Parent et 50 autres policiers se rasent la tête pour soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer - Plus de 100 000,00 $ permettront de sauver plus de vies!

mai 2015 - M. Marc Parent et 50 autres policiers, membres de divers corps policiers du Québec, dont sept autres directeurs, se sont fait raser la tête dans le but d’amasser plus de 100 000 $ au profit de la SCC.


La jonquille : une petite fleur pour une grande cause qui rapporte gros!

mai 2015 - La vente de jonquilles fraîches, symbole de vie et d’espoir de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC), a permis de récolter près de 2,1 millions de dollars pour la prévention, la recherche et le soutien, soit 80 000 $ de plus que l’an dernier.


Une révision de la loi qui sauvera des milliers de vies - Loi sur le tabac : la Société canadienne du cancer félicite la ministre Lucie Charlebois

mai 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) applaudit le dépôt de la Loi sur le tabac et félicite la ministre déléguée à la Santé publique Lucie Charlebois, qui s’attaque enfin à une industrie dont les produits tuent un utilisateur sur deux, entraînant 10 000 décès par année, tous évitables.


Plus de soins palliatifs pour tous, partout et plus tôt - La Société canadienne du cancer transmet les demandes de plus de 34 000 personnes au Dr Barrette

avril 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec a récemment remis en mains propres au ministre de la Santé, le Dr Gaétan Barrette, 34 000 cartes postales réclamant plus de soins palliatifs pour tous, partout et plus tôt dans le parcours de la maladie, provenant d’une mobilisation qui a fait le tour du Québec.


Un Québécois sur trois vivant avec un cancer doit se déplacer à l’extérieur de sa ville pour recevoir ses traitements - La Maison d’hébergement Jacques-Cantin fête ses 25 ans

avril 2015 - Au printemps 1990, la Maison Jacques-Cantin de la Société canadienne du cancer recevait ses premiers résidants. Vingt-cinq ans plus tard, ce service d’hébergement, ouvert sept jours sur sept, accueille chaque année plus de 600 personnes autonomes (patients et aidants) provenant de l’extérieur de Montréal et qui doivent venir y suivre un traitement contre le cancer.


Le Bal de la Jonquille de la Société canadienne du cancer - Plus de 1,5 million de dollars iront à la lutte contre le cancer

avril 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer, Division du Québec, est fière d'annoncer que le Bal de la Jonquille, une soirée grandiose tenue le 16 avril dernier à Montréal, en présence de 600 prestigieux invités, a permis d’amasser 1,565 million de dollars qui seront utilisés dans la lutte contre le cancer.


Rapport de l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer - 7 M$ investis au Québec : 100 projets, 5 centres et 71 équipes de recherche

avril 2015 - La SCC profite du Mois de la jonquille pour publier son Rapport sur l’impact de la recherche 2014, un document qui met en vedette les travaux de chercheurs à travers le pays et qui illustre la portée de la recherche financée par la SCC.


Une petite fleur pour une grande cause - Les jonquilles de la Société canadienne du cancer seront en vente du 26 au 29 mars

mars 2015 - À l’aube du mois d’avril, Mois de la jonquille, la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) vendra du jeudi 26 au dimanche 29 mars une petite fleur pour une grande cause : la jonquille, symbole de vie et d’espoir.


Pourquoi certains Québécois n’auront-ils jamais le cancer? La Société canadienne du cancer mène une étude innovatrice chez des « superaînés » pour élucider la question

mars 2015 - Il a 106 ans, mais le Montréalais Robert Wiener n’est pas prêt à ralentir. Il enfourche son vélo stationnaire tous les jours et suit deux cours d’activité physique par semaine, en plus de pratiquer le yoga et le tai-chi.


Mois du cancer colorectal : le dépistage organisé tarde à être implanté - La Société canadienne du cancer demande au ministre de la Santé le dépôt rapide d’un échéancier pour l’implantation d’un programme organisé de dépistage du cancer colorectal

mars 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer demande au ministre de la Santé le dépôt rapide d’un échéancier pour l’implantation d’un programme organisé de dépistage du cancer colorectal


Desjardins Assurances réitère son appui à la Société canadienne du cancer. Plus de 54 000 $ seront remis en aide financière et matérielle

février 2015 - La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec est fière d’annoncer que Desjardins Assurances lui a remis cette année la somme de 54 089,91 $.


Combien de cas de cancer sont attribuables à notre mode de vie? - Une nouvelle étude de la Société canadienne du cancer sur les facteurs de risque évitables sera menée au Québec et ailleurs au pays

février 2015 - Une nouvelle étude de la SCC, à laquelle participe un chercheur québécois, le Dr Eduardo Franco de l’Université McGill, permettra de déterminer le nombre de cas de cancer qui pourraient être évités en améliorant nos habitudes de vie et en réduisant notre exposition aux agents carcinogènes présents dans l’environnement.