A A A

SPVM chief Marc Parent and 120 other police officers shave their heads to support people touched by cancer - More than $175,000 raised to help save more lives

07 February 2014

Montreal -

The 14th edition of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Cops for Cancer took place today in the Grande-Place at Complexe Desjardins. The Director of the Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (Montreal Police Service), Marc Parent, and 120 other officers who are all members of Quebec’s various police forces, including six other directors, had their heads shaved to raise money for the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS). The initial goal of $75,000 has been largely exceeded, more than $175,000 have been collected. A record for this activity.

Losing hair is one of the many ordeals that people living with cancer must go through. It can appear to be an insignificant matter when someone is fighting for their life, but it is distressing for many patients because it is an obvious sign of the disease.

“Finding yourself bald overnight is a huge shock. It’s a constant reminder of the disease. You don’t recognize yourself any more. Plus, our skills and everything we were in the eyes of others are questioned to a great extent,” says Mei Lin Yee, a CCS – Quebec Division volunteer who has had breast cancer for more than four years.

With Cops for Cancer, the guardians of public safety show their solidarity with those touched by cancer through a symbolic gesture: shaving their heads, and by this, saying to tens of thousands of children, women, and men who lose their hair after cancer treatment that they are with them. It’s also an occasion to help save lives by raising money to fund innovative research projects as well as support services and prevention programs.

The Cops for Cancer fundraiser for the CCS was held for the first time in 1994. Police officers in Edmonton had decided to have their heads shaved and pose for a photo with a young boy who was being bullied in school because he had lost all his hair following chemotherapy. The photo made the rounds across Alberta and thousands of police officers in the country, inspired by such a show of support, also decided to take up the challenge. To date, Cops for Cancer has helped raise more than $50 million for the CCS. 

Money collected through Cops for Cancer helps:
  • Fund innovative research projects that save lives.
  • Respond to the increasing needs of people touched by cancer and enhance their quality of life by providing reliable information, psychosocial support, financial assistance, and accommodation during their treatment far away from home.
  • Put in place prevention programs.
  • Actively advocate to pressure the government for laws and public policies that protect the health of Quebecers.

About the CCS

Every day, the Canadian Cancer Society works to save more lives. We have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. For 75 years, our goal has remained unchanged: do more so that fewer of us have to face cancer and more survive. Let’s save more lives: visit cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.


A few facts about cancer
  • On average, every 11 minutes, a Quebecer (every 3 minutes in Canada) finds out that he or she has cancer. Every 26 minutes, a Quebecer (every 7.5 minutes in Canada) dies from cancer.
  • Last year, in Quebec, there were 48,700 new cancer cases (187,600 in Canada) and 20,200 deaths as a result of this disease (75,500 in Canada).
  • Today, more than 60% of Canadians who have been diagnosed with cancer survive. In the 1940s, the survival rate was only around 25%.


For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

Le chef du SPVM, Marc Parent et 120 autres policiers se rasent la tête pour soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer - Plus de 175 000 $ permettront de sauver plus de vies!

07 février 2014

Montréal -

La 14e édition de Policiers contre le cancer de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a eu lieu ce midi sur la Grande-Place du complexe Desjardins. Le chef du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal, M. Marc Parent et 120 autres policiers, membres de divers corps policiers du Québec, dont six autres directeurs, se sont fait raser la tête dans le but d’amasser des fonds au profit de la SCC. L’objectif initial de 75 000 $ a largement été dépassé; plus de 175 000 $ ont ainsi été recueillis. Un record pour cette activité.

Perdre ses cheveux fait partie des multiples épreuves que doit traverser la personne atteinte de cancer. Une étape qui peut sembler anodine quand on se bat pour sa vie, mais qui est très pénible pour beaucoup de patients, car elle est la manifestation évidente de la maladie.

« Se retrouver chauve du jour au lendemain est un grand choc. C’est un rappel constant de la maladie. On ne se reconnaît plus du tout. En plus, nos compétences et tout ce que nous étions aux yeux des autres sont en grande partie remis en question », note Mei Lin Yee, bénévole à la SCC – Division du Québec et atteinte d’un cancer du sein chronique depuis plus de quatre ans.

Avec Policiers contre le cancer les membres de la sécurité publique démontrent leur solidarité envers ceux et celles touchés par le cancer en posant un geste symbolique : se faire raser la tête et ainsi dire aux dizaines de milliers d’enfants, de femmes et d’hommes qui perdent leurs cheveux à la suite d’un traitement contre le cancer qu’ils sont avec eux. C’est aussi l’occasion de contribuer à sauver des vies en amassant des fonds pour financer des projets de recherche novateurs ainsi que des services de soutien et des programmes de prévention.

L’activité Policiers contre le cancer au profit de la SCC a débuté en 1994. Des policiers d’Edmonton ont alors décidé de se raser la tête et de se faire prendre en photo en compagnie d’un jeune garçon qui avait perdu tous ses cheveux à la suite de traitements de chimiothérapie et qui subissait de l'intimidation à son école. La photo a alors fait le tour de la province de l’Alberta et des milliers de policiers au pays, inspirés par un tel appui, ont, eux aussi, relevé le défi. À ce jour, Policiers contre le cancer a permis d’amasser plus de 50 millions de dollars au profit de la SCC.

Les dons recueillis grâce à Policiers contre le cancer permettent :
  • De financer des projets de recherche novateurs qui sauvent des vies.
  • De répondre aux besoins grandissants des personnes touchées par le cancer et d’améliorer leur qualité de vie, par de l’information fiable, du soutien psychosocial, de l’aide financière et un hébergement pendant leurs traitements loin de la maison.
  • De mettre en place des programmes de prévention.
  • De militer activement afin d’obtenir du gouvernement des lois et politiques publiques qui protègent la santé des Québécois.

À propos de la SCC

La Société canadienne du cancer œuvre chaque jour à sauver plus de vies. Elle travaille sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Depuis 75 ans, son but n’a pas changé : en faire plus pour que nous soyons davantage à ne pas avoir à faire face au cancer et plus nombreux à y survivre. Sauvons + de vies : visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Quelques faits sur le cancer
  • En moyenne, toutes les 11 minutes un Québécois (toutes les 3 minutes au Canada) apprend qu'il est atteint d'un cancer. Toutes les 26 minutes, un Québécois (toutes les 7,5 minutes au Canada) meurt d'un cancer.
  • L’an dernier, au Québec, il y a eu 48 700 nouveaux cas de cancer (187 600 au Canada) et 20 200 décès attribuables à cette maladie (75 500 au Canada).
  • Aujourd’hui, plus de 60 % des Canadiens qui ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer survivent. Dans les années 1940, le taux de survie était d’environ 25 %.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444