A A A

Can exercise stop cancer? Colon cancer survivors needed for ground-breaking clinical trial

12 March 2014

Montreal -

A Canadian-led groundbreaking study into the prevention of colon cancer recurrence could potentially change the way cancer is treated by adding exercise to standard treatments. But more participants are needed.

During Colon Cancer Awareness Month in March, the Canadian Cancer Society is encouraging colon cancer survivors to learn about the CHALLENGE clinical trial and consider participating. Contact the Society at 1 888 939-3333 or info@cis.cancer.ca for more information. For a sneak preview, watch two trial colon cancer survivors talk about why they joined the CHALLENGE trial.

“If the results of this study are positive, we would have a cheap treatment without side-effects, which would enhance both the chances of survival and the quality of life of patients,” says Dr Félix Couture, who is in charge of recruitment for the clinical trial at Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis.

The CHALLENGE study, led by the NCIC Clinical Trials Group (CTG), is a clinical trial that aims to enroll close to 1,000 high-risk colon cancer survivors who have recently completed treatment with surgery and chemotherapy. The participants will be divided at random into two groups. Both groups will be monitored closely for cancer recurrence with CT scans and surveillance colonoscopy and provided with health education materials.

In addition, the participants in one group will also work with a physical activity consultant to design an exercise program, which could include anything from walking on a treadmill to aerobics depending on their fitness and interests. The goal is for the participants to increase and maintain their level of activity by 150 minutes a week from what they were doing before the study.

Patients in the other group can exercise if they wish but are not provided with a physical activity consultant. Each participant will be followed for three years to discover whether exercise boosts survival rates.

“The CHALLENGE study is the first clinical trial in the world to test whether exercise can improve survival in patients with cancer,” says Dr Couture. “If so, this knowledge could shift the way we treat cancer by incorporating exercise into standard treatments.” The clinical trial will also study whether exercise improves quality of life for colon cancer survivors.

Colon cancer is the third most common cancer and the second leading cause of cancer death in Canada. About 40% of patients with stage 3 colon cancer relapse and die from the disease.

“The Canadian Cancer Society’s support of the CHALLENGE study is essential,” says Dr Sian Bevan, Director of Research, Canadian Cancer Society. “It is challenging to secure corporate funding for a clinical trial like this where there is no financial incentive. Thanks to our donors, we are able to support this trial and others that answer important questions about cancer treatment.”

The Canadian Cancer Society provides support to the CHALLENGE study and many other clinical trials through funding to the NCIC CTG, a world leader in conducting cancer clinical trials. The Society invests $5.1 million in the NCIC CTG annually. Learn more about clinical trials at cancer.ca

About the CHALLENGE study

The trial recruited its first patient in 2009 and is global in scope, drawing participants from 20 centres across Canada as well as 26 in Australia and three in Israel. In Quebec, one hospital in Lévis offers the trial. Currently, there are about 300 patients enrolled and the trial aims to recruit 962 patients.

About the NCIC Clinical Trials Group

The NCIC Clinical Trials Group (NCIC CTG) is a cancer clinical trials cooperative group that conducts Phase I-III trials testing anti-cancer and supportive therapies across Canada and internationally. It is a national research program of the Canadian Cancer Society. The NCIC CTG’s Central Operations and Statistics Office is located at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.

Through our generous donors and gold standard peer-review process, the Canadian Cancer Society funds the best cancer research in Canada. Our funded researchers work in universities, hospitals and research centres across the country and are mapping new ways to change cancer forever. For more information, please visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333; (TTY, 1 866 786-3934).


For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

A A A

L’exercice peut-il arrêter le cancer? Un essai clinique novateur a besoin de patients atteints du cancer du côlon

12 mars 2014

Montréal -

Une étude novatrice d’initiative canadienne sur la prévention de la récurrence du cancer du côlon pourrait changer la façon de traiter le cancer en ajoutant l’exercice aux traitements standards. Mais un plus grand nombre de participants est nécessaire.

Durant le Mois de sensibilisation au cancer du côlon, en mars, la Société canadienne du cancer encourage les survivants du cancer du côlon à en apprendre davantage sur l’essai clinique CHALLENGE et à réfléchir à la possibilité d’y participer. Communiquez avec la Société au 1-888-939-3333 ou à info@sic.cancer.ca pour plus d’information.

« Si les résultats de cette étude sont positifs, nous aurions une intervention sans effets secondaires, peu coûteuse, qui améliorerait à la fois les chances de survie et la qualité de vie des patients », explique le le Dr Félix Couture, responsable du recrutement pour l’essai clinique à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis.

L’étude CHALLENGE, dirigée par le Groupe des essais cliniques (GEC) de l’Institut national du cancer du Canada (INCC), vise la participation de près de 1 000 survivants du cancer du côlon à risque élevé ayant récemment terminé le traitement par chirurgie et chimiothérapie. Les participants seront aléatoirement divisés en deux groupes. La récurrence du cancer sera suivie de près dans les deux groupes au moyen de tomodensitogrammes et de colonoscopies de surveillance. Du matériel d’éducation en matière de santé sera aussi fourni aux participants.  

De plus, les participants d’un des groupes travailleront avec un consultant en activité physique pour concevoir un programme d’exercices pouvant aller de la marche sur un tapis roulant à la gymnastique aérobique, selon leur forme physique et leurs intérêts. Le but consiste à ce que les participants augmentent leur niveau d’activité de 150 minutes par semaine, par rapport à ce qu’ils faisaient avant l’étude, et à ce qu’ils maintiennent ce niveau.

Les patients de l’autre groupe peuvent faire de l’exercice s’ils le souhaitent, mais aucun consultant en activité physique ne leur sera assigné. Chaque participant sera suivi pendant trois ans pour savoir si l’exercice fait augmenter les taux de survie.

« L’étude CHALLENGE est le premier essai clinique au monde à vérifier si l’exercice peut améliorer la survie chez les patients ayant le cancer, affirme le Dr Couture. Si c’était le cas, ces connaissances pourraient changer notre façon de traiter ce cancer en incorporant l’exercice aux traitements standards. » L’essai clinique étudiera aussi si l’exercice améliore la qualité de vie des survivants du cancer du côlon.

Le cancer du côlon est le troisième type de cancer le plus couramment diagnostiqué et la deuxième principale cause de décès par cancer au Canada. Environ 40 % des patients atteints d’un cancer du côlon de stade 3 ont une récidive et meurent de la maladie.

« Le soutien de la Société canadienne du cancer à l’étude CHALLENGE est essentiel, de dire la Dre Sian Bevan, directrice de la recherche, Société canadienne du cancer. Il est difficile d’obtenir le financement d’entreprises  pour un essai clinique de ce genre, puisqu’il n’y a pas de stimulant financier. Grâce à nos donateurs, nous pouvons appuyer cette étude et d’autres essais qui répondent à d’importantes questions concernant le traitement du cancer. »

La Société canadienne du cancer soutient l’étude CHALLENGE et de nombreux autres essais cliniques en finançant le GEC de l’INCC, un chef de file mondial dans la réalisation d’essais cliniques sur le cancer. La Société investit annuellement 5,1 millions de dollars dans le GEC de l’INCC. Pour en savoir plus sur les essais cliniques, rendez-vous à cancer.ca 

Quelques mots sur l’étude CHALLENGE

L’essai, de portée mondiale, a recruté son premier patient en 2009. Les participants proviennent de 20 centres répartis partout au Canada, de 26 en Australie et de trois en Israël. Au Québec, l'Hôtel-Dieu à Levis en cherche. À l’heure actuelle, environ 300 patients participent à l’essai et le but est d’en recruter 962.

À propos du Groupe des essais cliniques (GEC)

Le Groupe des essais cliniques (GEC) de l’INCC est un groupe coopératif qui effectue des essais cliniques de phase I à III sur le cancer pour tester les traitements anti-cancer et de soutien partout au Canada et à l’échelle internationale. Il s’agit d’un programme national de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. Le bureau des opérations centrales et des statistiques du GEC de l’INCC se trouve à l’Université Queen’s à Kingston, en Ontario, au Canada. 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne les meilleures recherches sur le cancer au Canada grâce à nos généreux donateurs et à notre processus de sélection rigoureux. Nous subventionnons des centaines de chercheurs dans les universités, les hôpitaux et les centres de recherche. Ensemble, nous découvrons de nouvelles façons de sauver plus de vies. Pour plus d'information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d'information sur le cancer au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1 866 786-3934).

 

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444