Quebec Tobacco-Free Week: Since 2003, smoking has killed over 100,000 Quebecers - The equivalent of depopulating Huntingdon, Baie-Comeau, Mont-Laurier, Saint-Hyacinthe and Gaspé

18 January 2013

Montreal, QC -

This Sunday marks the launch of Quebec Tobacco-Free Week. The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS)—Quebec Division, would like to take this opportunity to remind elected officials and the general public that even if the Tobacco Act has made a major contribution in the fight against smoking, it has not been updated in nearly 7 years. In the interval, the tobacco industry has developed a wide range of new products, and, despite investment in prevention, the smoking rate has remained level at about 20% since 2006. For each smoker who quits or dies, another person takes up smoking.

Tobacco use is the leading cause of illness and death. Over 100,000 people in Quebec have died as a result of smoking in the past 10 years, which is equivalent to the combined population of Huntingdon, Baie-Comeau, Mont-Laurier, Saint-Hyacinthe and Gaspé. Smoking plays a role in the development of at least 17 types of cancer, including lung cancer, the most deadly of all. This year, lung cancer will kill twice as many women in Quebec as breast cancer and four times as many men as prostate cancer.

“Still today, smoking kills more people than road accidents, AIDS, drug use, alcohol abuse, fire, homicide, and suicide combined. About 28 people in Quebec die every day due to tobacco use. How can anyone claim that smoking is not our leading health problem? While we strive to eradicate this health scourge, the tobacco industry is working very hard to attract new customers, especially young people. This has to stop!” declares Mélanie Champagne, Manager, Public Issues, CCS.

1. Target tobacco promotion

According to the CCS, the tobacco industry’s promotion tactics must be targeted. Tobacco manufacturers market ultra-slim cigarettes (which effectively “snare” girls) and flavoured products that are very popular, all sold in packaging that is attractive to youth. Also, electronic cigarettes, which were a negligible consideration a few years ago, have become a real concern. “If electronic cigarettes really helped people to quit smoking, why have two of the world’s largest tobacco companies spent hundreds of millions of dollars this year to acquire small manufacturers that make this new product?” asks Ms. Champagne.


Accordingly, the CCS calls on the government to make the following amendments to the Tobacco Act:

  • Put a freeze on tobacco marketing by implementing plain packaging for all tobacco products.
  • Abolish flavours (including menthol) for all tobacco products (cigarettes, small cigars, rolling tobacco, smokeless tobacco products, etc.).
  • Ban slim cigarettes (less than 7.5 mm in diameter).

2. Target tobacco pricing

The tobacco industry and its interest groups claim that tobacco contraband is widespread and growing in Quebec. The goal of this tactic is simple: to mislead the public and decision-makers into believing that tobacco contraband is a major problem, curb rising taxes, and persuade decision-makers not to focus their attention on the Tobacco Act.

In fact, the incidence of contraband has gone from 30% in 2008 to about 15% today. Most youths purchase their tobacco from legal sources.


  • Increase tobacco taxes to the level in effect in Ontario (the province with the lowest tobacco taxes after Quebec).
  • Maintain current efforts in the fight against tobacco contraband.

“In addition to mortality and the impact on smokers’ quality of life, tobacco use is extremely costly for Quebec. The annual impact of smoking is $4 billion in direct and indirect costs, while tobacco taxes generate a mere $900 million for government coffers. We urgently need to strengthen the Tobacco Act through measures that target tobacco product pricing and promotion,” states Ms. Champagne in closing.

For the past two decades, the Canadian Cancer Society has played a leading role in the fight against tobacco. The CCS has been active in major initiatives against tobacco manufacturers. As a member of coalitions involved in the fight against smoking, the CCS has helped to raise government and public awareness regarding the damaging effects of tobacco use. For more information, please visit or contact our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

High resolution photos of new products are available below (copyright-free)

Images and links

Electronic cigarettes bear an uncanny resemblance to regular cigarettes.

Beauty makeover of cigarettes usually designed for men; they now "snare" girls.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Mélanie Champagne

Manager, Public Issues

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: (514) 651-1470

Semaine québécoise pour un avenir sans tabac - Depuis 2003, la cigarette a tué plus de 100 000 Québécois - Comme si Huntingdon, Baie-Comeau, Mont-Laurier, Saint-Hyacinthe et Gaspé avaient disparu

Montréal, QC -

Ce dimanche débute la Semaine québécoise pour un avenir sans tabac. La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec profite de cette campagne pour rappeler aux élus et à la population que même si la Loi sur le tabac a largement contribué à la lutte contre le tabac, elle n’a pas été mise à jour depuis son implantation il y a près de 7 ans. Depuis ce temps, l’industrie a développé une foule de nouveaux produits, et, malgré l’argent investi en prévention, le taux de tabagisme stagne à environ 20 % depuis 2006. Pour chaque fumeur qui arrête ou décède, une nouvelle personne s’initie au tabac.

Le tabac est la plus importante cause de maladies et de décès. Plus de 100 000 Québécois en sont morts depuis 10 ans, soit l’équivalent des populations de Huntingdon, Baie-Comeau, Mont-Laurier, Saint-Hyacinthe et Gaspé combinées. Il joue un rôle dans l’apparition d’au moins 17 types de cancer, dont le celui du poumon, qui est le plus meurtrier de tous : ce dernier tuera cette année deux fois plus de Québécoises que le cancer du sein et quatre fois plus de Québécois que le cancer de la prostate.

« Aujourd’hui encore, la cigarette tue plus que les accidents de la route, le sida, la drogue, l’alcool, les incendies, les meurtres et les suicides réunis. Quelque 28 Québécois décèdent chaque jour à cause du tabac. Peut-on nier que c'est là notre principal problème de santé? Pendant que nous tentons d’enrayer ce fléau, l’industrie du tabac travaille d’arrache-pied pour renouveler sa clientèle, notamment les jeunes. Il faut que ça cesse! » lance Mélanie Champagne, coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public, à la SCC.

1. Promotion efficace

Selon la SCC, la solution passe par l’encadrement de la promotion : les fabricants de tabac mettent en marché des cigarettes ultraminces (de véritables « attrape-filles ») et des produits aromatisés très populaires, dans des emballages que les jeunes recherchent. Également, phénomène marginal il y a quelques années, les cigarettes électroniques sont source de préoccupation. « Si la cigarette électronique aidait vraiment les gens à arrêter de fumer, pourquoi deux géants mondiaux du tabac ont-ils investi l’année dernière des centaines de millions $ dans le rachat de petits fabricants de cette nouvelle technologie? » demande Mme Champagne.

Aussi, les paquets de cigarettes sont des publicités miniatures qui font la fierté des ados. C’est pour cette raison que l’Australie a adopté l’emballage neutre depuis le 1er décembre 2012. La SCC est d’avis que les Québécois méritent également cette mesure protectrice.

Demandes

La SCC demande donc au gouvernement d’inclure dans la Loi sur le tabac :

  • Le gel du marché des produits de tabac et l’adoption de l’emballage neutre pour tous les produits.
  • L’abolition des saveurs (y compris le menthol) pour tous les produits du tabac (cigarettes, petits cigares, tabac à rouler, produits de tabac sans fumée, etc.).
  • L'interdiction des cigarettes minces ayant un diamètre inférieur à 7,5 mm.

2. Prix du tabac : un incitatif puissant

L’industrie du tabac et ses groupes d’intérêt laissent croire que la contrebande du tabac est omniprésente et en hausse au Québec. Le but de leur manœuvre est simple : faire croire au public et aux décideurs que le problème est majeur, freiner la hausse des taxes et convaincre les décideurs de ne pas s’attaquer à la Loi sur le tabac.

En fait, elle est passée de 30 % en 2008, à environ 15 % aujourd’hui. De plus, la forte majorité des jeunes s'approvisionnent sur le marché légal.

Demandes

  • L’augmentation du taux de taxation pour qu’il atteigne celui qui existe en Ontario (2e province au taux de taxation le plus bas après le Québec).
  • Le maintien des ressources allouées pour la lutte à la contrebande.

« Au-delà des décès et de l’impact sur la qualité de vie des fumeurs, le tabagisme coûte très cher à la province : plus de quatre milliards $ en coûts directs et indirects annuellement, comparativement aux maigres 900 millions $ qu’il rapporte au gouvernement en taxes. Il est urgent que la Loi sur le tabac soit bonifiée de mesures fortes qui agissent sur le prix et la promotion des produits du tabac », conclut Mme Champagne.

Depuis deux décennies, la Société canadienne du cancer joue un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte antitabac : intervenante dans de nombreuses causes d’importance contre les manufacturiers de tabac, membre de coalitions impliquées dans la lutte contre le tabagisme, elle sensibilise les autorités gouvernementales et le public aux méfaits du tabac. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Des photos haute résolution de nouveaux produits sont disponibles ci-dessous (libres de droits d’auteur).

Images and links

Les cigarettes électroniques ressemblent à s’y méprendre aux cigarettes régulières.

Cure beauté pour des cigarettes traditionnellement destinées aux hommes; ce sont maintenant de véritables « attrape-filles ».

Renseignements :

Mélanie Champagne

Coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public

Société canadienne du cancer

Téléphone : (514) 651-1470