The Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life in Terrebonne comes first in Canada: $556,000 raised

03 September 2013

Terrebonne -

Media release

 

The Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life in Terrebonne comes first in Canada: $556,000 raised

 

Terrebonne, September 3rd, 2013 — An impressive $556,000 was raised in the Les Moulins region during the 5th edition of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life held recently at Terrebonne, which makes this the most lucrative Relay in Canada. A first for a Quebec community! So, Terrebonne shoots all the way up to first place in the Relay For Life events, overtaking its closest competitor Prince George in British Columbia, which raised $540,000. 

On June 7, for 12 hours, more than 1,300 people divided into 145 teams (families, friends, colleagues) waked an all-night relay, braving the rain and cold, around a track on the site of the Île-des-Moulins to raise money to fight against cancer.

The initial goal (already ambitious) of $460,000 was exceeded by a large margin thanks to the dynamism of the organizing committee and its president Simon Paquin, who went to great lengths to promote the event and the collection. We owe the Ambassadors’ Club initiative to another trailblazer, André Shatskoff, honorary president. This idea has been replicated by other Relay For Life events in Quebec. This year, 50 well-known personalities from the region agreed to be ambassadors by donating $1,000 each to the Relay in addition to getting their network to contribute.

“We have always known that Terrebonne was made up of people with a soft heart who wouldn’t hesitate to rally around a cause. The Relay For Life is proof,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the CCS – Quebec Division. “The Relay For Life is an opportunity for all those who are battling or have battled cancer to realize that they are not alone. The money collected in Terrebonne will help us fund innovative research and respond to the pressing needs of people living with cancer. I’m really happy to think that some of these projects will be partly made possible by the generosity and devotion of the citizens of Terrebonne and the Les Moulins region.”

In five years, the Relay in Terrebonne has raised more than $1.9 million. In 2013, some 50,000 walkers participated in one of the 87 Relay For Life events that took place all over Quebec and more than $13 million was raised. In Canada, nearly 400 Relays For Life have been held and to date, more than $40 million has been raised.

In 2013, several major sponsors and partners supported the Relay For Life in Terrebonne, notably the Caisse Desjardins de Terrebonne as official presenter, the Casino de Montréal, La Revue de Terrebonne, Première Moisson, IGA Extra Lavallée, MV Évènements as well as the City of Terrebonne

The Relay For Life is a celebration with 3 major objectives. celebrate cancer survivors, remember loved ones who are living with cancer, and fight back together against this dreaded disease. Since its very first edition in Quebec back in 2001, which helped us collect $45,000, the Relay For Life has raised more than $75 million. Today, the Relay For Life is the biggest fundraising event in the country.

Every 11 minutes, a Quebecer hears the words: “You have cancer.”

A donation to the CCS’ Relay for Life can:

-   Fund innovative research projects that save lives: to date, the CCS has invested more than 1.2 billion in this field.

-   Provide up-to-date and reliable information on cancer — more than one million requests from all over the country have been processed by the Cancer Information Service since its inception — and offer services to the community.

-   Support people touched by cancer through the comforting services offered by Cancer J’écoute and the Jacques-Cantin Lodge.

-  Create prevention programs such as the Thingamaboob to remind women about the need for regular cancer screening, SMAT (Short Messages Against Tobacco) to help young people quit smoking, the Trottibus Walking School Bus to promote walking among young children, or the Sun Squads, which, last summer, taught 36,000 young Quebecers how to protect themselves from UV rays.

-   Advocate for better laws and public policies from the government to protect Quebecers’ health. Here’s a good example in Quebec: with the support of CCS volunteers, some 60,000 signatures were gathered for a petition which led to the passage of Bill 74 to prevent skin cancer caused by artificial tanning. The Act to prevent skin cancer caused by artificial tanning came into force on February 11, 2013.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

Information:

André Beaulieu, Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca | 514 393-3444

Le Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer à Terrebonne arrive 1er au Canada : 556 000 $ amassés

03 septembre 2013

Terrebonne -

Communiqué

Le Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer à

Terrebonne arrive 1er au Canada : 556 000 $ amassés

Terrebonne, le  3 septembre 2013 — Dans la région Les Moulins, l’organisation récente à Terrebonne d’une 5e édition du Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a permis d’amasser la somme colossale de 556 000 $, ce qui en a fait le Relais le plus lucratif au Canada. Une première pour une collectivité québécoise! Terrebonne se hisse donc au premier rang des Relais pour la vie et devance Prince Georges en Colombie-Britannique qui a récolté 540 000 $.

Le 7 juin dernier, pendant 12 heures, sous la pluie et le froid, plus de 1300 personnes regroupées dans près de 145 équipes (familles, amis, collègues) ont bravement marché toute la nuit et se sont relayées autour d'une piste au site de l’Île-des-Moulins afin d’amasser des fonds pour lutter contre le cancer.

L’objectif initial (et déjà ambitieux) de 460 000 $ a été largement dépassé et ce, grâce au dynamisme du comité organisateur et de son président, Simon Paquin, qui ont multiplié les initiatives pour la promotion de l’événement et la collecte de fonds. C’est à un autre artisan de la première heure, André Shatskoff, président d’honneur, que l’on doit l’initiative du Club des Ambassadeurs, une idée qui a été reprise par d’autres Relais pour la vie au Québec. Cette année, 50 personnalités de la région ont accepté ce rôle d’ambassadeur en versant chacune 1000 $ au Relais en plus de mettre à contribution leur réseau.

« Nous savions depuis toujours que Terrebonne est composée de personnes de cœur qui n’hésitent pas à se mobiliser pour la cause. Le Relais pour la vie en est la preuve, déclare Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC-Division du Québec. Le Relais pour la vie est une occasion pour tous ceux qui combattent ou qui ont combattu le cancer, de réaliser qu’ils ne sont pas seuls. L’argent recueilli à Terrebonne servira à subventionner une recherche innovante et répondre aux besoins pressants des personnes atteintes, et je suis heureuse de penser qu’une partie de ces projets sera en partie réalisée grâce à la générosité et au dévouement des citoyens de Terrebonne et de la région Les Moulins. »

En cinq ans, le Relais à Terrebonne a recueilli plus de 1,9 M$. En 2013, quelque 50 000 marcheurs ont participé à l’un des 87 Relais pour la vie qui ont eu lieu un peu partout au Québec et plus de 13 M$ ont été amassés. Au pays, près de 400 Relais pour la vie ont eu lieu et à ce jour, plus de 40 M$ ont été recueillis.

En 2013, plusieurs commanditaires et partenaires majeurs ont soutenu Le Relais pour la vie de Terrebonne, notamment la Caisse Desjardins de Terrebonne à titre de présentateur officiel, le Casino de Montréal, La Revue de Terrebonne, Première Moisson, IGA Extra Lavallée, MV Évènements ainsi que la ville de Terrebonne.

Le Relais pour la vie se déroule en trois grands volets : célébrer les survivants du cancer, rendre hommage aux êtres chers touchés par le cancer et lutter ensemble contre cette terrible maladie. Depuis sa toute première édition au Québec, en 2001, qui avait alors permis de recueillir 45 000 $, le Relais pour la vie a amassé plus de 75 M$. C’est aujourd’hui le plus grand événement de collecte de fonds au pays.

Toutes les 11 minutes, un Québécois se fait dire: « Vous avez le cancer. »

Un don au Relais pour la vie de la SCC permet :

-   De financer des projets de recherche novateurs qui sauvent des vies : à ce jour, la SCC a investi plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars dans ce domaine.

-   D’offrir de l’information récente et fiable sur le cancer — à ce jour, plus d’un million de demandes provenant de partout au pays ont été traitées par notre Service d’information sur le cancer depuis sa création — et de fournir des services à la communauté.

-   De soutenir les personnes touchées par le cancer, grâce aux services réconfortants offerts par Cancer J’écoute et la Maison Jacques-Cantin.

-   De mettre en place des programmes de prévention comme le Mémo-mamo pour le dépistage du cancer du sein, le SMAT pour aider les jeunes à cesser de fumer, le Trottibus pour promouvoir la marche auprès des enfants, ou les Escouades Ô Soleil qui, l’été dernier, ont appris à 36 000 jeunes Québécois à se protéger des rayons UV.

-   De militer activement afin d’obtenir du gouvernement des lois et politiques publiques qui protègent la santé des Québécois. L’an dernier, avec l’appui des bénévoles de la SCC, les quelque 60 000 signatures recueillies ont mené à l’adoption de la Loi visant à prévenir les cancers de la peau causés par le bronzage artificiel, loi qui a été mise en œuvre au printemps.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu, porte-parole et conseiller principal, Relations publiques

Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca | 514 393-3444