A potential treatment against prostate cancer discovered in Sherbrooke - The Canadian Cancer Society is giving $1.2 million to a team of Université de Sherbrooke and CHUS researchers

26 February 2013

Sherbrooke, QC -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) announced this morning that an Impact Grant of $1.2 million was awarded to a team of researchers from the Université de Sherbrooke (UdS) and CHUS to design a drug for advanced prostate cancer.

Prostate cancer is by far the most widespread cancer among Canadian men (affecting 1 in 7). “However, in the past 20 or 30 years, we haven’t really found a new treatment to offer them,” says Robert Day, head of the research project. Faced with an advanced cancer, standard anti-hormonal therapy allows patients to live a few years longer without curing them. In 2012, 4,100 men with prostate cancer died in Canada (890 in Quebec).

Testosterone makes prostate tumours grow. Hormone therapies block this growth, but after a few years, cancer cells adapt to the treatment and find other growth factors. The Sherbrooke team recently designed a drug prototype to block the action of PACE 4, an enzyme malfunctioning in all types of prostate cancer that enables cancer cells to multiply. “This promising medication inhibits the activation of a whole series of growth factors that nurtures cancer,” Dr Day explains. “In mice, when we block PACE 4, the effects are spectacular and the tumours stop growing.”

Claude Marsolais was diagnosed with prostate cancer when he was 51 years old. After a remission, he learned that the cancer had returned, and this time, it was incurable. “I have little time left to live. For me, it’s too late. But my hope is that thanks to Dr Day’s work, other men in my situation can be cured.”

With $1.2 million over five years, the purpose of the CCS’s Impact Grants is to invest a significant amount over several years in an already advanced research project to bring it to the next level. For the UdS and CHUS team, the very first patients may soon be able to benefit from this major breakthrough. “If everything goes well, I hope to start Phase I clinical testing within two or three years,” explains Dr Day. So, this grant has just rewarded more than 10 years of research.

In addition to the grant to the Sherbrooke team, the CCS is also awarding this morning 10 other Impact Grants ($13 million in total) to Canadian researchers, three of whom are in Quebec (for a total of $4.5 million).

“The CCS is celebrating its 75th anniversary this year. Since its inception, it has made it a point to invest in research to have a greater impact against the disease: to date, more than $1.2 billion has been awarded to researchers in the country,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the CCS – Quebec Division. “Today, thousands of Quebecers survive cancer thanks to their work and the Canadian Cancer Society wants to do more in the future because as our knowledge about cancer expands, we will witness even more remarkable progress.”

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Découverte à Sherbrooke d’un futur traitement contre le cancer de la prostate - La Société canadienne du cancer verse 1,2 M$ à une équipe de l’Université de Sherbrooke et du CHUS

26 février 2013

Sherbrooke, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) a annoncé ce matin une subvention pour un impact d’1,2 million de dollars à une équipe de recherche de l’Université de Sherbrooke (UdS) et du CHUS qui vise la mise au point d’un médicament pour les patients atteints d’un cancer de la prostate avancé.

Le cancer de la prostate est de loin celui qui touche le plus d’hommes canadiens (1 sur 7). « Pourtant, en 20 ou 30 ans, nous n’avons pas vraiment trouvé de nouveau traitement à leur proposer », regrette Robert Day, le chercheur à la tête du projet. Face à un cancer avancé, le traitement standard, antihormonal, ne prolonge la vie que de quelques années, sans guérir les patients. En 2012, 4100 d’entre eux sont décédés au Canada (890 au Québec).

Les tumeurs de la prostate grossissent grâce à la testostérone. Les traitements antihormonaux la bloquent, mais après quelques années, les cellules cancéreuses s’adaptent et trouvent d’autres facteurs de croissance. L’équipe sherbrookoise vient de fabriquer un prototype de médicament pour bloquer l’action de PACE 4 : une enzyme qui se dérègle dans tous les cancers de la prostate et qui permet aux cellules cancéreuses de se multiplier. « Ce médicament prometteur empêche d’activer toute une série de facteurs de croissance qui alimentent le cancer, explique le Dr Day. Chez les souris, quand on bloque PACE 4, les effets sont spectaculaires, la croissance des tumeurs s’arrête. »

Claude Marsolais a été diagnostiqué à 51 ans d’un cancer de la prostate. Après un répit, il a appris que le cancer avait récidivé, puis qu’il était incurable. « Il me reste deux ou trois ans à vivre, pour moi c’est trop tard. Mais mon espoir, c’est que grâce aux travaux du Dr Day, on puisse guérir d’autres hommes dans ma situation. »

Allant jusqu’à 1,25 million de dollars étalés sur cinq ans, la vocation des subventions pour un impact de la SCC est d’investir des sommes importantes sur plusieurs années dans une recherche déjà bien avancée pour lui permettre d’aboutir à des résultats concrets. Pour l’équipe de l’UdS et du CHUS, les premiers patients pourraient bientôt bénéficier de cette avancée majeure : « Si tout se passe bien, j’envisage de commencer un essai clinique de phase I d’ici deux à trois ans », précise Dr Day. Cette subvention vient ainsi récompenser plus de 10 ans de recherche.

En plus de la subvention remise à l’équipe de Sherbrooke, la SCC accorde ce matin 10 autres subventions pour un impact (soit 13 M$ au total) à des chercheurs canadiens, dont 3 autres au Québec (pour un total de 4,5 M$).

« La SCC fête ses 75 ans cette année et depuis ses débuts, elle a choisi d’investir dans la recherche pour avoir le plus d’impact contre la maladie : à ce jour plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars ont été accordés aux chercheurs du pays, indique Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC- Division du Québec. Aujourd’hui, des milliers de Québécois survivent au cancer grâce à leurs travaux et la Société canadienne du cancer souhaite en faire davantage dans le futur, car, à mesure que nos connaissances sur le cancer s’élargiront, nous assisterons à des progrès plus remarquables encore. »

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444