A A A

March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month - Ways to outsmart the disease are within everyone’s reach!

06 March 2013

Montreal, QC -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is taking advantage of this month, which is National Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month, to tell Quebecers that it is time to take action to prevent the disease.

Colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of death in Quebec and the third most common cancer among men and women combined. Last year, about 6,200 Quebecers were diagnosed with colorectal cancer and 2,450 died from this disease.

“Although nearly 95% of people with colorectal cancer are above the age of 50, it is possible to reduce the risk of this disease by preventive action and early screening at any age. It is wrong to think that we can do nothing about colorectal cancer,” says Jacinthe Hovington, Director, Cancer Prevention and Health Promotion, CCS — Quebec Division.

Preventing colorectal cancer

There is no single cause of colorectal cancer, but certain factors can increase the risk of its occurrence. The following is a list of risk factors that we must be aware of even if we can do nothing about them:

  • age;
  • family history of colorectal cancer – especially if the individual (parent, brother, sister, or child)was diagnosed before age 45;
  • polyps (small benign tumours on the internal wall of the colon or rectum);
  • familial polyposis or hereditary non-polyposis colorectal cancer;
  • an inflammatory disease of the digestive tract (ulcerative colitis or Crohn’s disease).

On the other hand, several studies show that lifestyle habits are directly linked to colorectal cancer. Our everyday choices can help reduce the risk of getting this disease. The following are known risk factors related to our lifestyle habits that we can change as needed:

  • physical inactivity;
  • excess weight and obesity;
  • a diet high in red meat (beef, pork, lamb, and goat meat);
  • frequent consumption of sausages and cold cuts (ham, salami, sausages, hot dogs);
  • alcohol consumption that exceeds the limit of one drink per day for women and two for men;
  • a diet that is low in fibre content;
  • smoking.

“Adopting healthy lifestyle habits is a key aspect of colorectal cancer prevention. A diet high in fruits, vegetables, and fibre combined with a reasonable level of alcohol consumption helps reduce the risk of developing this disease. Avoiding smoking, being physically active, and maintaining a healthy body weight also play an important role in the prevention of this cancer,” says the Quebec Minister of Health and Social Services, Dr Réjean Hébert.

Timely screening of the disease

Colorectal cancer develops from polyps present in the rectum or the colon (part of the intestine). The various symptoms of the disease such as persistent changes in bowel habits (diarrhea, constipation, or cramps), unexplained weight loss, or blood in the stools often appear in advanced stages. This complicates treatment and reduces the life expectancy of the person diagnosed.

Nevertheless, colorectal cancer can be prevented, treated, and cured in more than 90% of cases when diagnosed early on. As far as the CCS is concerned, it would be possible to reduce colorectal cancer deaths if screening was made available to the entire Quebec population.

So, the CCS recommends that men and women who are above 50 years of age undergo a fecal occult blood (FOBT) test every two years. A positive result (confirming the presence of blood in the stools) can be followed up with further testing (such as colonoscopy) to establish the presence of cancer.

“Don’t wait for cancer to take you by surprise! Prevent it by adopting a healthy lifestyle and undergoing tests that are suitable for your personal needs,” says Ms. Hovington.

To learn more about colorectal cancer screening and ways to reduce the risk of getting the disease, visit cancer.ca or sante.gouv.qc.ca/problemes-de-sante/cancer-colorectal.

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

A A A

Mars est le Mois de sensibilisation au cancer colorectal - Des moyens de déjouer la maladie sont à la portée de tous!

06 mars 2013

Montreal, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) profite du mois de mars, Mois de la sensibilisation au cancer colorectal, pour dire aux Québécois qu’ils peuvent « agir pour prévenir » contre la maladie.

Le cancer colorectal constitue la deuxième cause de décès par cancer au Québec et le troisième type de cancer le plus fréquent chez les hommes et les femmes combinés. L’an dernier, quelque 6200 Québécois ont reçu un diagnostic de cancer colorectal et 2450 sont morts des suites de cette maladie.

« Bien que près de 95 % des cancers colorectaux apparaissent chez les personnes de plus de 50 ans, il est possible à tout âge de réduire son risque associé à la maladie par la prévention et le dépistage précoce. Il est faux de croire que l’on ne peut rien faire contre le cancer colorectal », souligne Jacinthe Hovington, directrice, Prévention du cancer et promotion de la santé, SCC—Division du Québec

Prévenir le cancer colorectal

Le cancer colorectal n’est pas attribuable à une cause unique, mais certains facteurs pourraient accroître le risque qu’une personne en soit atteinte. Voici une liste de facteurs de risque pour lesquels nous ne pouvons rien faire, mais que l’on doit connaître :

  • l’âge; 
  • des antécédents familiaux de cancer colorectal – surtout si la personne (parent, frère, sœur ou enfant) en a été atteinte avant l’âge de 45 ans; 
  • la présence de polypes (petites tumeurs bénignes sur la paroi interne du côlon ou du rectum); 
  • une polypose familiale du côlon ou un cancer colorectal héréditaire sans polypose; 
  • une maladie inflammatoire touchant le tube digestif (colite ulcéreuse ou maladie de Crohn).

D’autre part, plusieurs études confirment que les habitudes de vie ont un lien direct avec le cancer colorectal. Nos choix de tous les jours peuvent aider à réduire le risque d’être touché par cette maladie. Voici les facteurs de risque reconnus en lien avec notre mode de vie et que nous pouvons changer au besoin :

  • l’inactivité physique; 
  • l’embonpoint et l’obésité;
  • un régime alimentaire riche en viandes rouges (bœuf, porc, agneau et chèvre); 
  • la consommation fréquente de charcuterie (jambon, salami, saucisses, hot dogs); 
  • la consommation d’alcool qui dépasse les recommandations, soit moins d’une consommation par jour pour une femme et moins de deux consommations par jour pour un homme; 
  • une alimentation faible en fibres;
  • le tabagisme. 

« L’adoption de saines habitudes de vie constitue le meilleur moyen de prévenir le cancer colorectal. Éviter le tabagisme et pratiquer au moins trente minutes d’exercice physique par jour jouent un rôle important dans la prévention de ce cancer. Une alimentation riche en fruits, en légumes et en fibres, combinée à une consommation raisonnable d’alcool, permet également de réduire le risque de développer cette maladie », souligne le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, le Dr Réjean Hébert.

Détecter en temps opportun la maladie 

Le cancer colorectal se développe sur plusieurs années à partir de polypes présents dans le rectum ou le côlon (partie de l’intestin). Les différents symptômes de la maladie, tels que des changements persistants des habitudes intestinales (diarrhée, constipation, ou douleur inhabituelles), une perte de poids inexpliquée ou du sang visible dans les selles apparaissent trop souvent à des stades avancés, ce qui complique le traitement et diminue l’espérance de vie des personnes atteintes.

Toutefois, le cancer colorectal est évitable, traitable et guérissable dans plus de 90 % des cas lorsqu'il est diagnostiqué à un stade précoce. Pour la SCC, il serait possible de réduire de beaucoup le taux de mortalité lié au cancer du côlon et du rectum si des mesures de dépistage étaient déployées auprès de l’ensemble de la population québécoise.

La SCC recommande donc aux hommes et aux femmes de plus de 50 ans de faire un test de dépistage (recherche de sang occulte dans les selles) tous les deux ans. Tout résultat positif (confirmant la présence de sang dans les selles) pourrait être suivi d’un test plus approfondi (comme la coloscopie) pour confirmer la présence ou non de cancer.

« N’attendez pas que le cancer vous surprenne! Déjouez-le en vivant sainement et en passant les tests adaptés à vos besoins personnels », conclut Mme Hovington.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les tests de dépistage pour le cancer colorectal et les moyens pour en réduire le risque, visitez cancer.ca ou sante.gouv.qc.ca/problemes-de-sante/cancer-colorectal.

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.