New legislation on artificial tanning: The Canadian Cancer Society highlights its speedy implementation

11 February 2013

Montreal, QC -

Today, the Act to prevent skin cancer caused by artificial tanning, which the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division fought tooth and nail for, comes into force. The CCS is extremely proud of this major progress which will contribute to preventing skin cancer, the most widespread cancer in Quebec. In addition, the CCS is glad to have requested a review every five years, which will help strengthen the Act.

“This legislation, which prohibits the sale of artificial tanning services to those under 18 years of age, is a great victory for public health,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the CCS – Quebec Division. “The Canadian Cancer Society strongly believes in working to stop preventable cancers even before they occur. In this respect, the legislation is a clear message from the government to the whole population about the risk and danger of artificial tanning.”

A cohort of young people saved

The government passed the bill in June 2012, but had a whole year to implement it. The CCS is delighted that the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services (MSSS) has opted for a speedy enforcement and implementation of the legislation (posters, warnings, and inspections). “Spring marks the robust return of tanning salons’ misleading advertisements and promotions. For the first time, a cohort of adolescents will not be recruited by these businesses ahead of prom night and potentially fatal skin cancer can be prevented in the medium and long term,” says Mélanie Champagne, Manager of Public Issues at the CCS.

The key elements of the legislation, which will come into force on February 11:

  • Prohibition of the sale and offer of tanning services to those under 18 years of age, punishable by fines ($500 to $15,000 for the salon operator; maximum of $100 for the minor).
  • Prohibition of advertising targeting minors.
  • Prohibition of advertising that is false, misleading, or liable to create an erroneous impression of the effects or dangers of artificial tanning on health (e.g., letting users believe that tanning beds are safe). The prohibition applies to the name under which a salon is operated.
  • Warnings on the harmful effects of artificial tanning and a clear mention of the ban on tanning services for minors in any advertising promoting tanning.
  • Mandatory declaration of any sale of tanning services in the Quebec enterprise register.
  • Mechanism for inspection by the Ministry of Health and Social Services (MSSS). A municipality can appoint its own team of inspectors.

An unprecedented mobilization

Even if the CCS led the mobilization efforts, it is also because of a strong collaborative spirit that this campaign was successful. The Association des Dermatologistes du Québec and the Institut national de santé publique du Québec brought their medical and scientific expertise to the debate. The CCS, for its part, gathered the signatures of 60,000 Quebecers on a petition demanding the regulation of the tanning industry, which was submitted to the National Assembly by 35 MNAs. The CCS also provided to the Committee on Health and Social Services letters of support from 65 groups representing more than 500 organizations working in the youth, women, and health sectors.

For as long as tanning is associated with beauty and health, a part of the population, particularly young women, will unfortunately continue getting an artificial tan. This is why the CCS’s prevention service is continuing its work and rolling out a vast awareness campaign for 15-24 year olds this spring called the Hidden Face of Tanning. Throughout the campaign, the CCS will use all its resources to change perceptions regarding tanning and promote the new legislation among young people.

Facts on artificial tanning

  • Skin cancer is the most common cancer in Quebec (from 22,000 to 35,000 cases per year, according to sources).
  • Tanning bed rays are 5 to 15 times stronger than the midday sun.
  • The risk of developing a melanoma increases by 59% for people who use tanning beds before the age of 35.
  • Nearly 250,000, or 16%, of young Quebecers aged between 15 and 29 years, use artificial tanning 11 times a year on average — 160,000 women (22%) against 90,000 men (11.5%).
  • Skin cancer treatment is not “benign” and simple: it involves scarring surgery, various treatments, pain, convalescence, and major changes in sun-exposure habits (SPF 60 daily protection required, year-round).

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support Canadians touched by cancer. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Nouvelle loi sur le bronzage artificiel : La Société canadienne du cancer souligne sa mise en œuvre rapide

11 février 2013

Montréal, QC -

C’est aujourd’hui qu’entre en vigueur la Loi visant à prévenir les cancers de la peau causés par le bronzage artificiel, pour laquelle la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) - Division du Québec a tant milité. La SCC est extrêmement fière de cette avancée majeure qui contribuera à prévenir les cancers de la peau, le cancer le plus répandu au Québec. De plus, la SCC se félicite d’avoir demandé une révision aux cinq ans qui permettra de bonifier la loi.

« Cette loi, qui interdit la vente de services de bronzage aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans, est une grande victoire pour la santé publique, souligne Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la SCC – Division du Québec. La Société canadienne du cancer croit fermement qu’il faut travailler en amont afin de prévenir les cancers qui sont prouvés comme évitables. En ce sens, la loi constitue un message clair envoyé par le gouvernement à l’ensemble de la population sur le caractère risqué et dangereux du bronzage. »

Une cohorte de jeunes épargnée

Le gouvernement a adopté la loi en juin 2012, mais avait une année entière pour la mettre en œuvre. La SCC est enchantée de constater que le ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux (MSSS) a privilégié une entrée en vigueur et une application rapide de la loi (affiches, mises en garde et inspections). « Le printemps marque le retour en force des publicités et des promotions trompeuses des salons de bronzage. Pour la première fois, une cohorte de jeunes ados ne sera pas recrutée par ces commerces en prévision du bal de finissants et on évitera à moyen et long terme des cancers de la peau, potentiellement mortels », constate Mélanie Champagne, coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public à la SCC.

Les éléments principaux de la loi, en vigueur ce 11 février :

  • Vente et offre de services de bronzage interdites aux moins de 18 ans sous peine d’amende (500 $ à 15 000 $ pour l’exploitant ; maximum de 100 $ pour le jeune).
  • Publicité destinée aux mineurs interdite.
  • Publicité fausse ou trompeuse ou susceptible de créer une fausse impression sur les effets ou les dangers du bronzage artificiel sur la santé interdite (ex : laissant croire à la sécurité des lits de bronzage). L’interdiction s’applique au nom du salon.
  • Mise en garde sur les effets nocifs du bronzage artificiel et mention claire sur l’interdiction aux mineurs obligatoires sur toute publicité en faveur du bronzage.
  • Déclaration obligatoire de toute activité de vente de services de bronzage au registraire des entreprises du Québec.
  • Mécanismes d’inspection par le ministère de la Santé et des Services Sociaux (MSSS). Possibilité, pour une municipalité, de se doter de sa propre équipe d’inspecteurs

Une mobilisation sans précédent

Si la SCC a mené la barque de la mobilisation, c’est aussi grâce à un fort esprit de collaboration que cette démarche a pu se conclure avec succès. L’Association des Dermatologistes du Québec et l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec ont apporté au débat leur expérience médicale et scientifique. La SCC, de son côté, a recueilli les signatures de 60 000 Québécois demandant l’encadrement de l’industrie du bronzage, qui ont été déposées par 35 députés à l’Assemblée nationale. La SCC a aussi transmis à la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux les lettres d’appui de 65 groupes représentant plus de 500 organismes, en provenance des secteurs des jeunes, des femmes et de la santé.

Tant que le bronzage sera associé à la beauté et à la santé, une partie de la population continuera malheureusement à se faire bronzer, surtout les jeunes femmes. C’est pourquoi le service de prévention de la SCC poursuit son travail et déploiera au printemps une vaste campagne de sensibilisation auprès des 15-24 ans, La Face cachée du bronzage. Tout au long de la campagne, la SCC mettra tout en œuvre afin de modifier les perceptions à l’égard du bronzage et promouvoir la nouvelle loi auprès des jeunes.

Faits sur le bronzage artificiel

  • Le cancer de la peau est le cancer le plus fréquent au Québec (de 22 000 à 35 000 cas par année selon les sources).
  • Les rayons des lits de bronzage sont de 5 à 15 fois plus forts que le soleil de midi.
  • Les chances de développer un mélanome augmentent de 59 % pour les personnes qui utilisent les cabines de bronzage avant l’âge de 35 ans.
  • Près de 250 000 jeunes Québécois de 15 à 29 ans, soit 16 %, utilisent le bronzage artificiel 11 fois l’an en moyenne — 160 000 femmes (22 %) contre 90 000 hommes (11,5 %).
  • Le traitement des cancers de la peau n’est pas « bénin » et simple : chirurgies mutilantes, traitements, douleur, convalescence et changement important des habitudes face au soleil (FPS 60 requis tous les jours, 12 mois par année).

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir ceux qui sont touchés par le cancer. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec eux pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444