The Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division before the Committee on Health and Social Services: strengthening of the Tobacco Act demanded

20 August 2013

Montreal -

PRESS RELEASE                                                                                                   For immediate release


The Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division before the Committee on Health and Social Services: strengthening of the Tobacco Act demanded

Montreal, August 20, 2013 — The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division will appear today before the Parliamentary Committee on Health and Social Services as part of the examination of the report on the implementation of the Tobacco Act 2005-2010. “Currently, smoking causes a third of cancer deaths, which are all preventable. For the CCS, it is clear that the fight against cancer will have to involve the fight against smoking,” explains Rob Cunningham, lawyer and Senior Policy Analyst, CCS. Quebec has 1.5 million smokers and urgent action is needed because tens of thousands of youths start smoking every year. This is why the CCS wants the government to include the following in the Tobacco Act:

  1. A ban on flavours for all tobacco products covered by the Tobacco Act.
  2. The regulation of electronic cigarettes.
  3. Plain and standardized packaging for all tobacco products.
  4. A moratorium on the market for new tobacco products.

The CCS’s demands resonate with the public. In fact, nine in 10 Quebecers want the government to make tobacco products less attractive to youths. In addition, 82% of Quebecers support a ban on the marketing of new tobacco products and more than three quarters of Quebecers support a ban on flavoured cigarettes.

“Public support for the CCS’s demands is obvious. Now, it’s the government’s responsibility to implement adequate measures to get it done. Dr Hébert, will you be the one who will stop the tobacco epidemic?”, asks Mélanie Champagne, Director, Public Issues, CCS – Quebec Division.

 

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research and support people touched by the disease. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

Information:

Mélanie Champagne, Director, Public Issues

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca

514 651-1470 

 

Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst

Canadian Cancer Society

rcunning@cancer.ca

613 762-4624

 

André Beaulieu, Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca

514 393-3444

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

La Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux: le renforcement de la Loi sur le tabac réclamé

20 août 2013

Montreal -

COMMUNIQUÉ                                                                                                   Pour diffusion immédiate


La Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux: le renforcement de la Loi sur le tabac réclamé

Montréal, le 20 août 2013 — La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec comparaissait aujourd’hui devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux, dans le cadre de l’étude du rapport sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le tabac 2005-2010. « Actuellement, le tabagisme cause le tiers des décès par cancer. Ces décès sont tous évitables. Pour la SCC, il est clair que la lutte contre le cancer passe par la lutte contre le tabagisme », explique Me Rob Cunningham, analyste principal des politiques à la SCC. Le Québec  compte 1,5 million de fumeurs et le temps presse, des dizaines de milliers de jeunes s’initient au tabagisme chaque année. C’est pourquoi la SCC demande au gouvernement d’inclure dans la Loi sur le tabac:

  1. L’abolition des saveurs pour tous les produits du tabac couverts par la Loi sur le tabac.
  2. L’encadrement de la cigarette électronique.
  3. L’adoption de l’emballage neutre et standardisé pour tous les produits du tabac.
  4. Un moratoire du marché des produits du tabac.

Les demandes de la SCC trouvent écho dans la population. En effet, neuf Québécois sur dix souhaitent que le gouvernement rende le tabac moins attrayant pour les jeunes. De plus,  82 % des Québécois soutiennent l’interdiction de la mise en marché de nouveaux produits du tabac et plus des trois-quarts des Québécois appuient l’interdiction de l’aromatisation du tabac.

« L’appui de la population aux revendications de la SCC est clair. Maintenant, il appartient au gouvernement de mettre en place les mesures adéquates pour y parvenir. Dr Hébert, serez-vous celui qui stoppera l’épidémie de tabagisme? » demande Mélanie Champagne, directrice, Questions d’intérêt public, SCC – Division du Québec.

 

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Mélanie Champagne, directrice, Questions d’intérêt public

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca

514 651-1470 

 

Me Rob Cunningham, analyste principal des politiques

Société canadienne du cancer

rcunning@cancer.ca

613 762-4624

 

André Beaulieu, porte-parole et conseiller principal, Relations publiques

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec

abeaulieu@quebec.cancer.ca

514 393-3444