Electronic cigarettes have misleading labels and are gaining popularity among youths

11 September 2013

Montreal -

PRESS RELEASE                                                                             

The Canadian Cancer Society’s lab tests and exclusive survey:

Electronic cigarettes have misleading labels and are gaining popularity among youths

 

Montreal, September 11, 2013 — The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division is taking advantage of the issue of an electronic cigarette advisory today by the Institut national de la santé publique du Québec to make public tests it commissioned from the Université de Montréal’s Regional Centre for Mass Spectrometry. Of the 13 products tested, nine were found to have considerable irregularities and only four conformed to their labels. Even more worrying is that products labelled as “nicotine-free” hardly passed the test because two-thirds (6/9) were in fact found to contain it.

Report on the presence of nicotine in 13 electronic cigarette brands*

Type

Brand

Tested positive for nicotine

Misleading label

Labelled as nicotine-free

EVO

 

 

Smoke NV menthol

x

x

Esha

x

x

Vapur

  (x)**

x

Ezee cig

 

 

Smoke NV disposable

 

 

Vapo-T

x

x

Mini cigarette- café

x

x

Mini cigarette- Marlbo

x

x

Labelled as containing nicotine

SlimLady

x

x

CigBull soft- 300 puffs

x

x

CigBull soft – 800 puffs

x

 

Kit decouverte (EC508)

x

x

* Lab tests carried out by the Université de Montréal’s Regional Centre for Mass Spectrometry. Report dated January 15, 2013.

** traces of nicotine


In addition, a CCS-commissioned survey conducted by Leger Marketing on a sample of 2,000 respondents has established beyond doubt that the popularity of electronic cigarettes is soaring among youths. Nearly a quarter of 18-24 year olds have used electronic cigarettes during the course of the past year, while in the general population, it is only 9%. A proportion as high as 60% of youths report having used them for fun or out of curiosity, with the desire to quit smoking coming far behind. “These figures explode the myth that electronic cigarettes are made for smoking cessation. At the CCS, we are extremely concerned about a gadget that seems so attractive to youths, whether smokers or not. It is critical to better regulate this product,” says Mélanie Champagne, Director, Public Issues, CCS – Quebec Division.

So, the CCS wants the government to include a provision to regulate electronic cigarettes in the Tobacco Act to:

  • Ban their sale to minors
  • Control their advertising/promotion
  • Regulate product ingredients and emissions
  • Ban electronic cigarettes from being smoked in public places where tobacco is not allowed

“Manufacturers and distributors claim that these new products contain no nicotine and that they only produce a harmless vapour, but we see clearly that it’s not true,” says Ms. Champagne. “Nobody knows the exact composition of these products. And even if we don’t have exact figures yet, many parents tell us that their children are trying out these products for fun, to imitate adults.”

 

Much to the disappointment of tobacco companies, which are buying up small electronic cigarette manufacturers one by one, these products pose a health risk. Besides, researchers and public health organizations do not consider electronic cigarettes a tobacco replacement product for smoking cessation. According to the Health and Social Services Ministry website, “Products containing nicotine or claiming to be a quit smoking aid must be licensed to be sold in Canada. Until now, no electronic cigarette has received such licensing.”  

 

E-cigarettes in Quebec: it’s the Far West!

  • Non-regulated and non-tested, they are sold in very accessible shops like Dollarama, convenience stores, and pharmacies
    • Most of the time, they are flavoured to make them more attractive to youth
    • Their long-term effects are not known and no recognized and independent health body has recommended them as an effective quit smoking aid
    • They are highly publicized and “renormalize” smoking, which risks diminishing the gains made in the fight against tobacco

 

 

For 75 years, the Canadian Cancer Society has been with Canadians in the fight for life. All these years, we have been relentless in our commitment to prevent cancer, fund research, and support people touched by the disease. From this foundation, we will work with Canadians to change cancer forever so fewer Canadians are diagnosed with the disease and more survive. To know more about cancer, visit our website at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.


Information: 

Mélanie Champagne, Director, Public Issues 

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division 

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca 

514 651-1470

La cigarette électronique est étiquetée de façon trompeuse, et est plus populaire auprès des jeunes

11 septembre 2013

Montréal -

COMMUNIQUÉ                                                                                


Tests en laboratoire et sondage exclusif de la Société canadienne du cancer

La cigarette électronique est étiquetée de façon trompeuse, et est plus populaire auprès des jeunes

 

Montréal, le 11 septembre 2013 — La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec profite aujourd’hui du dépôt de l’avis de l’Institut national de la santé publique du Québec concernant la cigarette électronique pour rendre publics des tests effectués à sa demande par le Laboratoire de spectrométrie de masse de l’Université de Montréal. Sur les 13 produits testés, 9 présentent d’importantes anomalies et seulement 4 respectent leur étiquetage. Plus inquiétant encore : les produits portant la mention « sans nicotine » passent très mal le test, puisque deux tiers d’entre eux (6/9) en contiennent.

Rapport de présence de nicotine dans 13 cigarettes électroniques*

Type

Marque

Testé positif à la nicotine

Affichage erroné

Affichés sans nicotine

EVO

 

 

Smoke NV menthol

x

x

Esha

x

x

Vapur

  (x)**

x

Ezee cig

 

 

Smoke NV jetable

 

 

Vapo-T

x

x

Mini cigarette- café

x

x

Mini cigarette- Marlbo

x

x

Affichés avec nicotine

SlimLady

x

x

CigBull soft- 300 bouffées

x

x

CigBull soft – 800 bouffées

x

 

Kit decouverte (EC508)

x

x

* Tests en laboratoire effectués par le Centre régional de spectrométrie de masse de l’Université de Montréal. Rapport daté du 15 janvier 2013.

** traces de nicotine

 

De plus, un sondage réalisé par Léger auprès de 2 000 répondants commandé par la SCC le démontre hors de tout doute : c’est auprès des jeunes que la popularité de la cigarette électronique monte en flèche. Près du quart des 18-24 ans l’ont utilisée dans la dernière année, alors que pour l’ensemble de la population, c’est uniquement 9 %. Et c’est à 60 % que ces jeunes affirment l’utiliser par plaisir ou par curiosité, le désir d’arrêter de fumer arrivant loin derrière. « Ces chiffres déboulonnent le mythe d’une cigarette électronique faite pour faciliter la cessation tabagique. À la SCC, nous sommes extrêmement inquiets face à un gadget qui semble beaucoup trop plaire aux jeunes, fumeurs ou non. Il est primordial de mieux contrôler ce produit. », déclare Mélanie Champagne, directrice des questions d’intérêt public, SCC – Division du Québec.

La SCC demande donc au gouvernement d’inclure dans la Loi sur le tabac un encadrement de la cigarette électronique qui amènera un(e) :

  • Interdiction de la vente aux mineurs
  • Encadrement de la publicité/promotion
  • Réglementation sur le contenu du produit et de ses émissions
  • Interdiction de fumer la cigarette électronique dans les lieux publics où le tabac est interdit

« Les fabricants et les distributeurs allèguent que ces nouveaux produits ne contiennent aucune trace de nicotine et qu’ils ne font que produire une vapeur inoffensive, et on le voit, c’est faux, déclare Mme Champagne. Personne ne connaît la composition exacte de ces produits. Et même si on n’a pas encore de chiffres précis, beaucoup de parents nous disent que leurs enfants essaient ces produits pour le plaisir, pour imiter les adultes. »

N’en déplaise aux grandes compagnies de tabac, qui rachètent une à une les petits fabricants de cigarettes électroniques, ces produits présentent des risques pour la santé. D’ailleurs, les chercheurs et les organismes de santé publique ne considèrent pas la cigarette électronique comme un produit de remplacement du tabac pour cesser de fumer. Selon le site du MSSS, « les produits contenant de la nicotine ou se prétendant outil d’arrêt tabagique doivent recevoir une homologation pour être vendus au Canada. Jusqu’à présent, aucune cigarette électronique n’a reçu d’homologation ».

 

E-cigarette au Québec : le Far West !

  • Non réglementée, non testée, elle est vendue dans les commerces les plus accessibles comme les Dollorama, les dépanneurs et les pharmacies
    • La plupart du temps, elle est aromatisée, la rendant plus attirante pour les jeunes
    • On ne connaît pas ses effets à long terme, et aucune instance de santé reconnue et indépendante ne la recommande comme une façon efficace de cesser de fumer
    • Elle est largement publicisée et « renormalise » le fait de fumer, ce qui risque de faire perdre bien des acquis dans la lutte au tabac

 

Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333.


Renseignements :

Mélanie Champagne, directrice, Questions d’intérêt public 

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec 

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca 514 651-1470