The Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control and the Canadian Cancer Society are pressing elected leaders in the National Assembly to ban flavoured tobacco products without any further delay

07 October 2013

Montreal -

More than 33,000 Secondary 3 to 5 students in Quebec used flavoured tobacco products in the past 30 days

 

The Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control and the Canadian Cancer Society are pressing elected leaders in the National Assembly to ban flavoured tobacco products without any further delay

 

Montreal, October 7, 2013 — The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division and the Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control (CQCT) deplore the data[i] revealed today by the Propel Centre for Population Health Impact of the University of Waterloo, which indicate that Quebec is the province where flavoured tobacco products enjoy the greatest popularity in the whole of Canada. Among the 56,300 Secondary 3 to 5 students in Quebec surveyed who had used tobacco products in the past 30 days in 2010/2011, 33,400[ii] among them, that is 59% had used a flavoured product, compared to 52% in Canada and 46% in neighbouring Ontario.[iii]

 

 

The new data point to the crucial role that flavours and additives play among those who are experimenting or just starting to smoke.

For instance, although 15% of Secondary 3 to 5 students in Quebec report smoking in the past 30 days, this figure rises to 21% when the whole range of tobacco products such as cigars and shisha – products that are almost always flavoured (table 3) – are taken into account. What is all the more significant is that even among those who had smoked a cigarette during the past 30 days, more than a quarter (26%) in Secondary 3 to 5 – that is 10,500 youth – had smoked a menthol flavoured cigarette. Menthol is an additive with the refreshing taste of mint (tables 5 and 6). Besides, the data show that 8 out of 10 youth in Secondary 3 to 5 who had smoked shisha over the past 30 days had smoked flavoured shisha, compared with 5 out of 10 in Canada.

Urgent action is needed: in Quebec, for every smoker who quits or dies, a youth becomes addicted to tobacco. The Tobacco Act must be amended immediately to stop the tobacco industry from luring youth with fruit and candy flavours such as cookies, strawberry or chocolate. How can we accept poison being given a nice taste? The Health Minister has the power to quickly end this regrettable scheme,” says Mélanie Champagne, Director of Public Issues, Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division.


 

Study after study, the figures confirm the devastating effect of flavoured tobacco products on the health of our youth. Flavours mask the bitter taste of tobacco and make the first few puffs and experiences less irritating making it easier to start smoking or get hooked on other tobacco products. Government inaction on this issue has curtailed the gains made up until the mid 2000s to reduce tobacco-use among youth. Today, tens of thousands of youth start smoking with a flavoured version of the product, which is responsible for the largest number of deaths in our society, and the government is still dragging its feet without intervening! How many more youth will the government allow to be snared by the tobacco industry’s deadly products before this insidious and immoral practice in banned?” asks Flory Doucas, spokesperson for the Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control.

The CQCT and the CCS recently appeared before the Health and Social Services Committee during its examination of the report on the implementation of the Tobacco Act 2005-2010. The two organizations call on the government to act promptly, in order to:

 

  1. ban the addition of flavours, including menthol, to any product covered by the Tobacco Act;
  2. adopt plain and standardized packaging for all tobacco products;
  3. freeze the tobacco market, banning new tobacco products (moratorium); and
  4. regulate electronic cigarettes.

 

These demands also resonate with the public: according to a Leger Marketing survey commissioned by CCS, more than 75% of Quebecers support a ban on flavoured tobacco.[iv]

The Health Minister says he is waiting for the Health Committee’s recommendations before tightening the Tobacco Act. We hope that this new data will encourage not only the members of the Health Committee to recommend a complete ban on all flavoured tobacco products, but will also push them into tabling their report over the next few days with no additional delays. Each day that these products remain on the market, the industry traps new clients – and those with the most to lose are Quebec’s youth and adolescents,” says Ms. Doucas 

 

Tobacco addiction in Quebec: more worrying figures

  • 388% more cigars/cigarillos were sold in Quebec in 2011 than in 2000.[v]
  • Every day, tens of young Quebecers start smoking with coloured, flavoured, and trendy products; a large number of them will be smokers for many years to come.
  • The smoking rate in Quebec has been stagnating at nearly 24% for the past six years, with 1.5 million smokers; so, that means, for every smoker who quits, a youth starts smoking.[vi]
  • In 10 years, the tobacco industry has killed 100,000 Quebecers.[vii]

-30-

 

Information:

Mélanie Champagne, Director, Public Issues

Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca ; 514 651-1470

 

Flory Doucas, Co-director and Spokesperson

Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control

fdoucas@cqct.qc.ca ; 514 515-6780



[i] Propel Centre for Population Health ImpactFlavoured Tobacco Use Among Canadian Youth: Evidence from Canada’s Youth Smoking Survey 2010-2011, October 7, 2013. (The survey sampled nearly 51,000 students in Canada between January and May 2011, 4,266 were from Quebec. http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/Flavoured_Tobacco_Use_YSS_20131007.pdf

[ii] Table 4 from the Propel Centre for Population Health ImpactFlavoured Tobacco Use Among Canadian Youth: Evidence from Canada’s Youth Smoking Survey 2010-2011, October 7, 2013. http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/Flavoured_Tobacco_Use_YSS_20131007.pdf  

[iii] Table 3 from the Propel Centre for Population Health ImpactFlavoured Tobacco Use Among Canadian Youth: Evidence from Canada’s Youth Smoking Survey 2010-2011, October 7, 2013.http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/Flavoured_Tobacco_Use_YSS_20131007.pdf  

[iv] Leger Marketing survey conducted in March 2012 for the Quebec Division of the Canadian Cancer Society. http://www.quebec.cancer.ca/quebec/DIP/sondage_omnibus_leger.pdf

[v] Compilation of Health Canada data obtained by the Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac. http://www.cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2012/DOCU_12_07_30_FumeeSecondaireExterieure.pdf

[vi] Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS-2012),  extract of smoking in Quebec from 2003 to 2012: http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/STAT_13_06_18_ESCC_TabagismeQc_IntervalleConfiance_2003_2012.jpg

[vii] In Quebec, more than 100,000 deaths per year are due to smoking-related causes. Lung cancer alone kills 6,300 Quebecers per year.

La Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac et la Société canadienne du cancer pressent les élus de l’Assemblée nationale de ne plus attendre pour interdire l’aromatisation des produits du tabac

07 octobre 2013

Montréal -

Plus de 33 000 jeunes de la 3e à la 5e secondaire au Québec ont consommé un produit du tabac aromatisé au cours des 30 derniers jours


La Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac et la Société canadienne du cancer pressent les élus de l’Assemblée nationale de ne plus attendre pour interdire l’aromatisation des produits du tabac

 

Montréal, le 7 octobre 2013 La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) - Division du Québec et la Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac (CQCT) déplorent les données[i] dévoilées aujourd’hui par le Centre de recherche Propel de l’Université Waterloo, qui révèlent que c’est au Québec que la popularité des produits du tabac aromatisé est la plus élevée au pays. Parmi les 56 300 élèves de la 3e à la 5e année du secondaire ayant utilisé un produit du tabac au cours des 30 derniers jours en 2010/2011, 33 400[ii] d'entre eux, soit 59 %, ont consommé un produit aromatisé, contre 52 % à l’échelle canadienne et 46 % chez nos voisins de l’Ontario.[iii]

 

 

Les nouvelles données illustrent le rôle crucial joué par les saveurs et les aromatisants ajoutés auprès de ceux qui expérimentent ou s’initient au tabagisme.

Par exemple, bien que 15 % des élèves de la 3e à la 5e année du secondaire au Québec déclarent avoir fumé la cigarette au cours des 30 derniers jours, ce chiffre grimpe à 21 % lorsqu’on tient compte de l’ensemble des produits du tabac comme les cigares et la chicha ─ des produits presque toujours aromatisés (tableau 3). Encore plus révélateur, même chez ceux qui ont fumé la cigarette au cours des 30 derniers jours, plus du quart (26%) en secondaire III à V ─ soit 10 500 jeunes ─ avaient fumé une cigarette au menthol, un additif au goût rafraichissant de menthe (tableaux 5 et 6). Par ailleurs, les données montrent que 8 jeunes sur 10 du 3e au 5e secondaire fumant la chicha au cours des 30 derniers jours ont fumé la chicha aromatisée, comparativement à 5 jeunes sur 10 à l’échelle canadienne.

« Le temps presse : au Québec, pour chaque fumeur qui écrase ou décède, un jeune devient accro. Il est urgent de modifier la Loi sur le tabac pour que l’industrie ne puisse plus les attirer avec des saveurs de fruits et de bonbons comme pâte à biscuit, fraise ou chocolat. Comment peut-on accepter qu’on donne bon goût à du poison ? Le ministre de la Santé a le pouvoir de mettre fin rapidement à ce triste stratagème », affirme Mélanie Champagne, directrice, Questions d'intérêt public pour la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec.

« Enquête après enquête, les données confirment l’effet dévastateur de l’aromatisation des produits du tabac sur la santé de nos jeunes. Les saveurs masquent le goût amer du tabac et rendent les premières bouffées et expériences moins irritantes, favorisant l’initiation au tabagisme. L’inaction gouvernementale sur ce dossier a eu pour effet de contrecarrer les gains qui avaient été réalisés jusqu’au milieu des années 2000 pour réduire le tabagisme chez les jeunes. Aujourd’hui, des dizaines de milliers de jeunes s’initient au tabagisme avec une version aromatisée du produit responsable du plus grand nombre de décès dans notre société, et le gouvernement attend encore avant d’intervenir ! Combien d’autres jeunes le gouvernement laissera-t-il être appâtés par les produits mortels de l’industrie du tabac avant d’interdire cette pratique sournoise et amorale ? », demande Flory Doucas, porte-parole de la Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac.

La CQCT et la SCC ont récemment comparu devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux, dans le cadre de l'étude du rapport sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le tabac 2005-2010. Elles demandent notamment au gouvernement d’agir pour :

 

  1. interdire l’ajout de saveurs, y compris le menthol, à tout produit couvert par la Loi sur le tabac;
  2. adopter l'emballage générique et standardisé pour tous les produits du tabac;
  3. instaurer un gel sur la mise en marché de nouveaux produits du tabac (moratoire); et
  4. encadrer la cigarette électronique.

 

Ces demandes trouvent d’ailleurs écho dans la population : selon un sondage de la firme Léger commandé par la SCC, plus des trois quarts des Québécois appuient l'interdiction de l'aromatisation du tabac.[iv]

« Le ministre de la Santé dit attendre les recommandations des membres de la Commission de la santé avant de procéder au resserrement de la Loi sur le tabac. Nous espérons que ces nouvelles données inciteront non seulement les membres de la Commission à recommander l’interdiction de l’aromatisation pour tous les produits du tabac, mais qu’elles les pousseront également à ne plus tarder et à déposer leur rapport dans les prochains jours. Car à chaque jour où ces produits demeurent sur le marché, l’industrie piège de nouveaux clients et les grands perdants sont ces jeunes et adolescents du Québec », conclut madame Doucas. 

 

Tabagisme au Québec : encore des chiffres inquiétants 

  • Il s’est vendu 388% plus de cigares/cigarillos au Québec en 2011 qu'en 2000.[v]
  • Chaque jour, des dizaines de jeunes Québécois s’initient au tabagisme avec des produits colorés, aromatisés et branchés; une grande partie d’entre eux seront fumeurs pour de nombreuses années.
  • Le taux de tabagisme au Québec stagne à près de 24 % depuis plus de 6 ans, avec 1,5 million de fumeurs; c’est donc dire que pour chaque fumeur qui écrase, un jeune devient accro.[vi]
  • En 10 ans, le tabac a tué 100 000 Québécois.[vii]

 

Renseignements :

Mélanie Champagne, directrice, Questions d'intérêt public

Société canadienne du cancer - Division du Québec

mchampagne@quebec.cancer.ca ; 514 651-1470

 

Flory Doucas, codirectrice et porte-parole

Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac

fdoucas@cqct.qc.ca ; 514 515-6780


[i] Propel Center for Population Health ImpactUsage de produits du tabac aromatisés chez les élèves canadiens : données de l’Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les jeunes 2010-2011, 7 octobre 2013. (L’enquête a sondé près de 51 000 élèves au Canada entre janvier et mai 2011, dont 4 266 au Québec). http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/TABAC_AROMATISES_ETJ_20131007.pdf  

[ii] Tableau 4 de Propel Center for Population Health ImpactUsage de produits du tabac aromatisés chez les élèves canadiens : données de l’Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les jeunes 2010-2011, 7 octobre 2013. http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/TABAC_AROMATISES_ETJ_20131007.pdf  

[iii] Tableau 3 de Propel Center for Population Health ImpactUsage de produits du tabac aromatisés chez les élèves canadiens : données de l’Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les jeunes 2010-2011, 7 octobre 2013. http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/TABAC_AROMATISES_ETJ_20131007.pdf  

[iv] Sondage de la firme Léger réalisé en mars 2012 pour le compte de la Division québécoise de la Société canadienne du cancer. http://www.quebec.cancer.ca/quebec/DIP/sondage_omnibus_leger.pdf

[v] Compilation des données de Santé Canada obtenues par la Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac. http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/DOCU_13_05_07_Aromatisation.pdf   

[vi] Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC-2012), extraction pour le tabagisme au Québec de 2003 à 2012: http://cqct.qc.ca/Documents_docs/DOCU_2013/STAT_13_06_18_ESCC_TabagismeQc_IntervalleConfiance_2003_2012.jpg

[vii] Au Québec, plus de 10 000 décès par année sont attribuables au tabagisme. À lui seul, le cancer du poumon tue 6300 Québécois et Québécoises par année.