The Canadian Cancer Society’s Response to the findings of the Quebec College of Physicians’ review of mammograms

27 March 2012

Montreal, QC -

It is the view of the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) that the Quebec College of Physicians report issued this morning following a quality review of over 22,000 mammograms requires immediate attention. The report’s conclusions point to weaknesses in our healthcare system as well as the need for vigilance where access to care is concerned.

The CCS is deeply saddened to see that 109 women who did not receive appropriate follow-up after their routine mammogram tests are now fighting breast cancer, in some cases very advanced. The CCS also believes that the experience undergone by thousands of women in Quebec in the past few months has been extremely stressful and excruciating for them and their loved ones.

However, the CSS would like to tell people living with cancer that they should continue to have confidence in the care they receive. “The ten recommendations issued this morning by the Quebec College of Physicians are reassuring,” said Diane Lamontagne, spokesperson for the CCS. “We believe that the government and health professionals have shown, in this review, that they are ready to respond to public concerns and ensure better quality control for mammogram readings.”

The CCS reminds all women aged between 50 and 69 years that getting a mammogram screening every two years is the best method of early breast cancer detection to increase the chances of successful treatment. Accordingly, the CCS encourages women to take part in the Quebec Breast Cancer Screening Program. It would also like to point out that the results of this review do not cast doubt on other breast cancer diagnostic tools (ultrasound, biopsy, genetic testing) or the treatment of the disease (surgery, radiation, chemotherapy).

Women who are worried about the results of their mammography test can call the Info-Santé helpline by dialling 811 or the CCS’s Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333. The CSS is aware that waiting for a potential cancer diagnosis is often a source of distress; as a result, it provides professional psychosocial support on the same helpline.

To learn more about cancer, please visit our website,

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Réaction de la Société canadienne du cancer à l’Enquête du Collège des médecins du Québec sur la relecture de mammographies

27 mars 2012

Montréal, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) estime que le constat annoncé ce matin par le Collège des médecins du Québec suite à l’enquête de qualité de plus de 22 000 mammographies exige une attention immédiate. Les conclusions du rapport démontrent des failles dans notre système de santé et le fait qu’il faut demeurer très vigilant en matière d’accès aux soins.

La SCC est donc grandement attristée de voir que 109 femmes se battent présentement contre un cancer du sein, très avancé pour certaines, alors qu’elles n’ont pas reçu le suivi approprié lors de leur mammographie de routine. La SCC estime aussi que la situation vécue au cours des derniers mois par des milliers de Québécoises a été des plus stressantes et sans aucun doute très pénible pour les femmes visées et leur entourage.

La SCC tient toutefois à dire aux personnes touchées par le cancer qu’elles doivent continuer à avoir confiance dans les soins qui leur sont donnés. « Les dix recommandations émises ce matin par le Collège des médecins du Québec sont rassurantes, a déclaré Diane Lamontagne, porte-parole de la SCC. Nous croyons que le gouvernement et les professionnels de la santé ont démontré par cette enquête qu’ils sont prêts à répondre aux inquiétudes de la population et à assurer un contrôle de qualité accru en matière de lecture des mammographies. »

La SCC rappelle à toutes les femmes âgées de 50 à 69 ans que la mammographie de dépistage tous les deux ans reste le meilleur moyen de détecter tôt un cancer du sein et d’augmenter les chances de réussite des traitements. La SCC encourage donc toujours les femmes à participer au Programme québécois de dépistage du cancer du sein. Elle tient aussi à préciser que les résultats de cette enquête ne remettent pas en question les autres outils diagnostiques du cancer du sein (échographie, biopsie, tests génétiques) ou le traitement de la maladie (chirurgie, radiothérapie ou chimiothérapie).

Les femmes qui s’inquiètent des résultats de leur mammographie peuvent appeler Info-Santé en composant le 811 ou encore le Service d’information sur le cancer de la SCC au 1 888 939-3333. Sachant que la période d’attente d’un diagnostic de cancer est souvent source d’angoisse, la SCC offre aussi un soutien psychosocial professionnel au même numéro de téléphone.

Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, veuillez consulter notre site Web à l'adresse cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444