Dr Nada Jabado receives Canadian Cancer Society’s William E. Rawls Prize

27 April 2012

Montreal, QC -

On April 24, during a ceremony at the Montreal Children’s Hospital, Mary Argent-Katwala, Director of Research at the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute, presented the William E. Rawls Prize to Dr Nada Jabado, researcher at the Montreal Children’s Hospital of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) and Associate Professor of Pediatrics at McGill University.

The Canadian Cancer Society wants to recognize “Dr Nada Jabado’s remarkable contribution to our understanding of brain cancers in children in the last decade,” Mary Argent-Katwala said at the award ceremony.

At the Montreal Children’s Hospital, Dr Jabado diagnoses fatal tumours. Brain cancers are the leading cause of cancer-related deaths among children because existing treatments are often ineffective. A caring doctor, Dr Jabado focuses on research to one day give hope to the children she treats. “What I am hopeful and proud of is that my work might one day help cure these cancers,” the researcher said.

Innovative in her research, Dr Jabado established a multidisciplinary team composed of pediatric oncologists, bioinformaticians, pathologists and basic scientists. She then equipped the laboratory with a database of childhood tumours, thanks to the collaboration of her peers in Canada and abroad.

To this day, her work has led to great progress in the understanding of brain cancers in children and paved the way for promising treatments. Dr Jabado’s team has most notably identified a genetic mutation present in 40% of glioblastomas, a type of brain cancer. It explains the resistance of glioblastomas to radiation and chemotherapy.

Her recent work has also been the subject of several articles, notably two that appeared in Nature magazine (January and February 2012 issues).

About the William E. Rawls Prize

The William E. Rawls Prize is awarded every year by the Canadian Cancer Society to a young investigator whose work has led to important advances in cancer control within the past decade.

Dr Rawls was president of the former National Cancer Institute of Canada. His research focused on viruses, particularly those involved in chronic diseases and cervical cancer. This prize carries a cash award of $1,000 for the recipient and $20,000 for her research.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Melody Enguix

Scientific Communication Advisor

Phone: 514 255-2455

La Dre Nada Jabado reçoit le Prix William E. Rawls de la Société canadienne du cancer

27 avril 2012

Montréal, QC -

Migrate images

C’est le 24 avril dernier, lors d’une cérémonie à l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, que Mary Argent-Katwala, directrice de la recherche de l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer, a remis le prix William E. Rawls à la Dre Nada Jabado, chercheuse à l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, au sein de l’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM) et professeur agrégée de pédiatrie à l’Université McGill (voir photo en page suivante).

La Société canadienne du cancer souhaitait ainsi reconnaître la « contribution remarquable de la Dre Nada Jabado à notre compréhension descancers du cerveau chez l’enfant au cours de la dernière décennie », a souligné Mary Argent-Katwala lors de la remise du prix.

A l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, la Dre Jabado diagnostique ces tumeurs mortelles. Les cancers du cerveau sont la première cause de mortalité par cancer chez l’enfant, les traitements actuels étant souvent incapables de les faire régresser. Médecin attentionnée, la Dre Jabado s’investit donc dans la recherche notamment pour pouvoir offrir un jour un espoir aux enfants qu’elle traite. « Mon espoir et ma fierté sont que mes travaux puissent permettre un jour de guérir ces cancers », a déclaré la chercheuse.

Novatrice dans ses recherches, Dre Jabado a monté un laboratoire multidisciplinaire qui regroupe des oncologues pédiatres, des bioinformaticiens, des pathologistes et des spécialistes des sciences fondamentales. Elle a par la suite doté ce laboratoire d’une base de données des tumeurs infantiles, grâce à la collaboration de ses confrères au Canada et à l’étranger.

À ce jour, ses travaux ont permis de grandes avancées dans la compréhension des cancers du cerveau chez l’enfant et ouvert des pistes de traitement prometteuses. L’équipe de la Dre Jabado a notamment identifié une mutation génétique clé présente dans 40 % des gliobastomes, un cancer du cerveau. Elle explique la résistance à la radiothérapie et la chimiothérapie des glioblastomes.

Ses travaux récents ont d’ailleurs fait l’objet de multiples articles, notamment deux publications dans la revue Nature (en janvier et février 2012).

À propos du Prix William E. Rawls

Le Prix William E. Rawls est décerné chaque année par la Société canadienne du cancer à un jeune chercheur dont les travaux ont mené à des développements importants dans la lutte contre le cancer au cours des dix dernières années.

Le Dr Rawls était président de l’ex-Institut national du cancer du Canada, devenu l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer. Ses recherches portaient sur les virus, en particulier ceux reliés aux maladies chroniques et au cancer du col utérin. Ce prix est accompagné de 1000 $ remis à la lauréate et de 20 000 $ destinés à ses travaux de recherche.

 

Dre Mary Argent-Katwala, directrice de la recherche à La Société canadienne du cancer
Dre Nada Jabado, récipiendaire du prix Rawls
Dr Harvey Guyda, directeur général associé de l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants

Renseignements et coordination d’entrevue :
Melody Enguix, conseillère en communication scientifique
Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec
514 255-2455, poste 2416, menguix@quebec.cancer.ca

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444