Quebec last by far: 89,000 children are regularly exposed to second-hand smoke

20 October 2012

Montreal, QC -

A simple gesture can protect them and prevent them from experiencing serious health problems

Because their parents smoke or allow others to smoke in the house or car, over 89,000 Quebec children (nearly one out of ten)[i],[ii] are still regularly exposed to second-hand smoke. The 6th Smoke-Free Family campaign was launched this morning in order to make parents aware of the dangers of second-hand smoke to the health of children. It has been proven: children living in an environment where people smoke have a greater risk of suffering from certain health problems and are more likely to get asthma or other chronic respiratory diseases and ear infections. As babies, they even run a greater risk of falling victim to sudden infant death syndrome.

With its signature “For the health of children, thank you for smoking outside”, the Smoke-Free Family campaign reminds parents and future parents that the simplest and most effective strategy for protecting children from second-hand smoke is to go outside to smoke.

 

Quebec: last by far

Quebec is the worst Canadian province with respect to the exposure of young people between the ages of 0 and 11 to second-hand smoke in the home. In Quebec, 9% of children in this age group are regularly exposed to it, which corresponds to more than double the Canadian average (4%). Quebec families also appear to be more permissive than Canadian families about tobacco use in the home: only 43% forbid it in Quebec, whereas the average in Canada is 64%.

Serious health problems

Second-hand smoke is dangerous for the health of everyone, but babies and children are more sensitive to it than adults because they breathe more quickly and their immune systems are not yet fully developed. The dangers for children are numerous and real: asthma, bronchitis, colds, repeated ear infections, etc. Dr. Catherine Hervouet-Zeiber, pediatrician at the Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, explains: “Children breathe more quickly than adults. If they find themselves in an environment where people smoke, they will inhale more toxic substances. The lungs of young children, which are not yet fully developed, are especially vulnerable to the effects of these toxins. We see a lot of children who have respiratory problems that are exacerbated by second-hand smoke. These children are often more difficult to treat than those who are not exposed to cigarette smoke.”

“And even before their birth, babies can be affected by it,” explains Dr. Roxane Néron, general practitioner and spokesperson for the Smoke-Free Family program. “Second-hand smoke can pass through the placenta of a pregnant woman and threaten her baby’s health. For example, nicotine can harm the development of the heart, lungs, nervous system and digestive system of the unborn baby. We also know that an infant exposed to second-hand smoke has a higher risk of being born with a low-birth weight and of falling victim to sudden infant death syndrome.”

“We notice that smokers often make efforts to not inconvenience those around them. They will smoke under the kitchen hood, near a patio door or in a closed room. Although these gestures are well intentioned, they do not reduce the danger to health. In reality, no ventilation system is powerful enough to eliminate the toxic components of second-hand smoke in a house. The only effective strategy to protect children is for all smokers to smoke outside. It is at home that babies and young ones are the most exposed to second-hand smoke. They are not always able to complain to their family members about second-hand smoke, and are even less able to leave the places where adults smoke, such as the kitchen, living room or car,” concludes Dr. Néron.

What is second-hand smoke?

Second-hand smoke is made up of smoke that escapes directly into the air from a cigarette as well as the smoke exhaled into the air by a smoker. It contains over 7,300 chemical substances, of which 60 can cause cancer. Second-hand smoke contains approximately 2 times more carbon monoxide, 3 times more nicotine, 8 times more formaldehyde and 240 times more ammonia than the smoke inhaled by the smoker.

About the Smoke-Free Family program

The Smoke-Free Family program is an initiative of ACTI-MENU, presented in partnership with several public and private organizations, namely the Quebec ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, Quebec’s directions de santé publique of the agences de santé et des services sociaux, McNeil Consumer Healthcare, Uniprix and the Canadian Cancer Society. For more information about the campaign and to obtain advice, visit the smokefreefamily.ca website or the facebook.com/famillesansfumee page (in French only).

 

About ACTI-MENU

ACTI-MENU is a social enterprise owned by foundations linked to the Montreal Heart Institute, the Centre ÉPIC and the Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont. It is dedicated to the promotion of health and the prevention of illnesses. The initiator of well-known general public programs such as the 5/30 Health and Wellness Challenge, the Quit to Win! Challenge and Smoke-Free Family, ACTI-MENU’s team of specialists also implements health promotion programs in the workplace and produces publications containing information for health care network patients in clinical settings. For more information, visit actimenu.ca.

For more information on the composition of second-hand smoke and its harmful effects on the health of children, please contact us.

Source:

ACTI-MENU

Information and interviews:

Marie Huot

Media Relations and Social Media Advisor

ACTI-MENU

514 985-2466, extension 255

mhuot@actimenu.ca



[i] Health Canada. (2010). Canadian Tobacco Use Monitoring Survey, Table 9 : Exposure of children at home to Environmental Tobacco Smoke (ETS), by province and age group, Canada 2010. September 13, 2011. Available from : http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hc-ps/tobac-tabac/research-recherche/stat/_ctums-esutc_2010/ann-eng.php#t9.

[ii]. Institut de la statistique du Québec. (2010). Population by group of age, Canada and regions, July 1 2010. September 16, 2011. Available from : http://www.stat.gouv.qc.ca/donstat/societe/demographie/struc_poplt/201_2010.htm.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Le Québec bon dernier : 89 000 enfants sont exposés régulièrement à la fumée secondaire

20 octobre 2012

Montréal, QC -

Un geste simple peut les protéger et les empêcher de vivre de graves problèmes de santé

Parce que leurs parents fument ou permettent qu’on fume dans la maison ou dans la voiture, plus de 89 000 enfants québécois (près d’un enfant sur dix)[i],[ii] sont encore exposés régulièrement à la fumée secondaire. La 6e campagne Famille sans fumée a été lancée ce matin afin de sensibiliser les parents aux dangers de la fumée secondaire sur la santé des enfants. Or c’est prouvé : un enfant vivant dans un environnement où l’on fume court plus de risques de souffrir de certains problèmes de santé et est plus susceptible d’être aux prises avec l’asthme ou une autre maladie respiratoire chronique et les otites. Bébé, il a même plus de risques d’être victime du syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson.

Avec sa signature, « Pour la santé des enfants, merci de fumer dehors », la campagne Famille sans fumée rappelle aux parents et aux futurs parents que la stratégie la plus simple et la plus efficace pour protéger les enfants de la fumée secondaire est d’aller fumer à l’extérieur.

 

Le Québec : bon dernier

Le Québec est la pire province canadienne quant à l’exposition des jeunes de 0 à 11 ans à la fumée secondaire à la maison. En effet, au Québec, 9 % des enfants de ce groupe d’âge y sont régulièrement exposés, ce qui correspond à plus du double de la moyenne canadienne (4 %). Les familles québécoises semblent également plus permissives que les familles canadiennes quant à l’usage du tabac à la maison : seulement 43 % l’interdisent au Québec, alors que la moyenne au Canada est de 64 %.

De sérieux problèmes de santé

La fumée secondaire est dangereuse pour la santé de tous, mais les bébés et enfants y sont plus sensibles que les adultes parce qu’ils respirent plus vite et que leur système immunitaire n’est pas encore totalement développé. Les dangers pour les enfants sont nombreux et réels : l’asthme, les bronchites, les rhumes, les otites à répétition, etc. La Dre Catherine Hervouet-Zeiber, pédiatre au Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, explique : « Les enfants respirent plus rapidement que les adultes. S’ils se trouvent dans un environnement où l’on fume, ils respirent plus de substances toxiques. Les poumons des jeunes enfants, qui n’ont pas fini de se développer, sont particulièrement vulnérables aux effets de ces toxines. On voit beaucoup d’enfants qui ont des problèmes respiratoires aggravés par la fumée secondaire. Souvent, ces enfants sont plus difficiles à traiter que ceux qui ne sont pas exposés à la fumée de cigarette. »

« Et même avant leur naissance, les bébés peuvent en être affectés, explique la Dre Roxane Néron, omnipraticienne et porte-parole de Famille sans fumée. La fumée secondaire peut traverser le placenta d’une femme enceinte et menacer la santé de son bébé. Par exemple, la nicotine peut nuire au développement du cœur, des poumons, du système nerveux et du système digestif du bébé à naître. On sait aussi qu’un poupon exposé à la fumée secondaire a plus de risques de naître avec un poids insuffisant et d’être victime du syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson. »

« On remarque que les fumeurs font souvent des efforts pour ne pas incommoder leurs proches. Ils vont fumer sous la hotte, près de la porte patio ou dans une pièce fermée. Bien que ces gestes soient bien intentionnés, ils ne réduisent toutefois pas les dangers pour la santé. En fait, aucun système de ventilation n’est assez puissant pour éliminer les substances toxiques de la fumée secondaire produite dans la maison. La seule stratégie efficace pour protéger les enfants est que tout fumeur grille sa cigarette dehors. C’est à la maison que les bébés et les jeunes sont le plus exposés à la fumée secondaire. Ils ne sont pas toujours capables de se plaindre auprès des membres de leur famille de la fumée secondaire et sont moins en mesure de quitter les lieux où les adultes fument : la cuisine, le salon ou la voiture », conclut la Dre Néron.

Qu’est-ce que la fumée secondaire ?

La fumée secondaire est composée de la fumée qui s’échappe directement dans l’air à partir d’une cigarette et de celle qui est expirée dans l’air par un fumeur. Elle contient plus de 7 300 substances chimiques, dont 60 qui peuvent causer le cancer. La fumée secondaire renferme environ 2 fois plus de monoxyde de carbone, 3 fois plus de nicotine, 8 fois plus de formaldéhyde et 240 fois plus d’ammoniac que la fumée aspirée par le fumeur.

À propos de Famille sans fumée

Famille sans fumée est une initiative d’ACTI-MENU présentée en partenariat avec plusieurs organismes publics et privés, notamment le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec, l’ensemble des directions de santé publique du Québec des agences de santé et des services sociaux du Québec, Soins-santé grand public McNeil, Uniprix et la Société canadienne du cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur la campagne et pour obtenir des conseils, visitez le site famillesansfumee.ca ou la page facebook.com/famillesansfumee.

 

À propos d’ACTI-MENU

ACTI-MENU est une entreprise à vocation sociale détenue par des fondations liées à l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal, au Centre ÉPIC et à l’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont. Elle est dédiée à la promotion de la santé et à la prévention des maladies. Initiatrice de campagnes grand public reconnues telles que le Défi Santé 5/30 Équilibre, le Défi J’arrête, j’y gagne ! et Famille sans fumée, l’équipe de spécialistes d’ACTI-MENU implante également des programmes de promotion de la santé en milieu de travail en plus de réaliser des publications d’information pour les patients du milieu clinique du réseau de la santé. Pour en savoir plus, visitez actimenu.ca.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur la composition de la fumée secondaire et ses méfaits sur la santé des enfants, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Source :

ACTI-MENU

Renseignements et entrevues :

Marie Huot

Conseillère, Relations médias et réseaux sociaux

ACTI-MENU

514 985-2466, poste 255

mhuot@actimenu.ca


 

[i] Santé Canada. (2010). Enquête de surveillance de l’usage du tabac au Canada, tableau 9 : Exposition des enfants à la fumée secondaire du tabac à la maison, par province et selon le groupe d'âge, Canada, 2010. Récupéré le 13 septembre 2011. http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hc-ps/tobac-tabac/research-recherche/stat/_ctums-esutc_2010/ann-fra.php#t9.

[ii]. Institut de la statistique du Québec. (2010). Population par année d’âge et par sexe, Québec, 1er juillet 2010. Récupéré le 16 septembre 2011. http://www.stat.gouv.qc.ca/donstat/societe/demographie/struc_poplt/201_2010.htm.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444