The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) before the Health Committee: The CCS calls for a law on artificial tanning this spring

20 February 2012

Montreal, QC -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) appeared today before the Committee on Health and Social Services, which had a mandate to study its petition on skin cancer and artificial tanning. The CCS maintains that the unrestricted sale of artificial tanning services and their easy access for young and vulnerable clients are incompatible with their extremely harmful health consequences.

Like the dermatologists of the Institut national de santé publique (INSPQ), the CCS is demanding immediate government action to regulate the tanning industry in Québec. The CCS appeared before the committee holding the signatures of 60,000 Quebecers as well as letters of support from 65 groups representing more than 500 organizations. This support comes from public health agencies, women’s groups, youth organizations, human rights advocacy groups and medical associations. They are all demanding that children and adolescents be prevented from having access to tanning equipment.

Skin cancer is the most common form of cancer and its increase is greatest among young people in Québec. Currently, there is no legislation regulating the tanning salon industry, which is selling a carcinogenic service. “It’s absurd! This industry is recruiting its very young clients using misleading messages,” emphasizes Mélanie Champagne, Policy Analyst in charge of the UV campaign for CCS – Québec Division. “It puts forth unfounded health claims (vitamin D, “base tan” before travelling, health benefits, etc.). There are more than 1,000 tanning salons operating in Québec, and many are in unusual places: travel agencies, video stores, convenience stores or laundromats.”

“We speak regularly to young women fighting melanoma, such as Annie Gloutney, who testified before the parliamentary committee along with the CCS. This mother of two young children has been hit full force with a recurrent cancer, which could have been avoided if a law had been put in place for her when she was 15 years old,” said Ms. Champagne.

Because three-quarters of the cases of melanoma diagnosed in 18- to 29-year-olds among clients of tanning salons are attributable to the use of tanning beds, and because exposure to artificial tanning before the age of 35 increases the risk of developing a melanoma by 75%, the signatories of the petition, the CCS and its allies are once again urging the government:

1. To prohibit the sale of artificial tanning services to youth under the age of 18.

2. To set up a Quebec register of all businesses that provide artificial tanning services, so as to facilitate inspection work and enforce the law.

3. To restrict the marketing practices of tanning salons by prohibiting misleading advertising and the targeting of young people, such as through coupons in school agendas or prom-night promotions.


The CCS also proposes that the Québec government introduce a 10% tax per session on artificial tanning services, as is the case throughout the United States, and the prohibition of package deals (2 for 1, loyalty cards, etc.), as is done for tobacco products.

Skin cancer is by far the most common form of cancer. Over the last 15 years, the number of cases of melanoma in Quebec has doubled. In 2009, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classified tanning beds in the highest risk group known to cause cancer in humans, alongside cigarettes and asbestos.

In Canada, the use of tanning beds is prohibited among youth under the age of 19 in Nova Scotia and for those under the age of 18 in the district of Victoria. Elsewhere in the world, minors are banned from tanning salons in Australia, in several countries in Europe, and in some parts of the United States. Brazil eliminated these businesses completely in 2009, and the Australian province of New South Wales will do the same in 2014.

“The scientific and social consensus is there: a law on artificial tanning is a necessity, and is desired by the population. Mr. Charest and Mr. Bolduc have in their hands all the cards needed to enact legislation to this end and to prevent many skin cancers,” concludes Jean-Daniel Hamelin, Director of CCS Public Affairs.

Rachelle’s six tumours

Age 31, Rachelle Pitre was once a tanning salon user; now she is a skin cancer survivor. She had to undergo extremely painful surgery to have six tumours removed: one from her thigh, one from her breast and four from her face. She began going to tanning salons when she was a teenager, not long before her high school prom, and over the following decade, she became a regular client. Since her operation, she has had to make some major changes to her lifestyle habits: for example, avoid sun exposure and always wear FPS 60. Today, she says she inflicted this tragedy upon herself out of carelessness and ignorance, and she is calling for a law to protect all teenagers — as she would have liked to have been protected.

Annie’s story

When a tanning salon opened its doors near her home, Annie Gloutney was 15 years old and thought she was much prettier with a tan. Even though her grandfather had skin cancer and her parents forbade it, she started using tanning beds. She continued until she was in her 30s, “just” a few sessions in the spring, in the fall, and before going on trips. She was diagnosed with a first melanoma at age 37, followed by a recurrence of the cancer last year. After several long hospital stays, a very aggressive treatment and a period of shock for her whole family, Annie will soon know if her cancer has gone, if her husband will have a bit less on his shoulders, and if she will see her two daughters grow up. According to Annie, if she had not gone to tanning salons, her story would have been different.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) devant la Commission de la santé : La SCC réclame une loi ce printemps dans le dossier du bronzage artificiel

20 février 2012

Montréal, QC -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) comparaissait aujourd’hui devant la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux, laquelle avait pour mandat d’étudier sa pétition concernant le cancer de la peau et le bronzage artificiel. La SCC y a fait faire valoir que la vente libre de services de bronzage artificiel et son accès facile à une clientèle jeune et vulnérable sont incompatibles avec son caractère extrêmement nocif pour la santé.

Tout comme les dermatologues et l’Institut national de santé publique (INSPQ), la SCC exige du gouvernement des actions immédiates pour encadrer l’industrie du bronzage au Québec. La SCC s’est présentée devant la commission avec en main les signatures de 60 000 Québécois et les lettres d’appui de 65 groupes représentant plus de 500 organismes. Ces appuis regroupent autant les directions de santé publique, des groupes de femmes, des organismes jeunesse, des organismes dédiés à la défense des droits et des associations médicales. Tous exigent que les enfants et adolescents n’aient plus accès au bronzage en cabine.

Le cancer de la peau est le cancer le plus fréquent et celui dont la croissance est la plus forte chez les jeunes au Québec. Présentement, aucune législation n’encadre l’industrie des salons de bronzage, qui vend un service carcinogène. « C’est un non-sens! Cette industrie recrute sa très jeune clientèle à l’aide de messages trompeurs, souligne Mélanie Champagne, analyste pour le dossier UV aux Affaires publiques de la SCC – Division du Québec. Elle met de l’avant des allégations santé non fondées (vitamine D, « fond » avant les voyages, bienfaits pour la santé, etc.). Plus de 1000 salons de bronzage sont actifs au Québec dont plusieurs se retrouvent dans des endroits insolites : agences de voyage, clubs vidéo, dépanneurs ou buanderies. »

« Nous parlons régulièrement à des jeunes femmes combattant des mélanomes, comme Annie Gloutney, qui a témoigné avec la SCC devant la commission parlementaire. Cette mère de deux jeunes enfants est frappée de plein fouet par une récidive de cancer, qui aurait pu lui être évité si une loi avait été mise en place pour elle alors qu’elle avait 15 ans », affirme Mme Champagne.

Puisque les trois quarts des cas de mélanome, chez les 18-29 ans adeptes du bronzage artificiel sont attribuables à l’usage des lits de bronzage, et parce que l’exposition au bronzage artificiel, avant l’âge de 35 ans, augmente de 75 % le risque de développer un mélanome, les signataires de la pétition, la SCC et ses alliés demandent de nouveau :

1. D’interdire la vente de services de bronzage artificiel aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans.

2. De mettre sur pied un registre québécois des commerces offrant des services de bronzage artificiel, pour faciliter le travail d’inspection et assurer le respect de la loi.

3. De restreindre les pratiques marketing des salons de bronzage en leur interdisant la publicité trompeuse et de cibler les jeunes: coupons-rabais dans les agendas scolaires, promotions lors des bals de finissants, etc.

La SCC propose aussi au gouvernement québécois d’instaurer une taxe à la séance de 10 % sur les services de bronzage artificiel, comme c’est le cas partout aux États-Unis et l’interdiction des forfaits comme pour les produits du tabac (2 pour 1, cartes de fidélisation, etc.).

Le cancer de la peau est de loin le plus fréquent. Depuis 15 ans, le nombre de mélanomes a doublé au Québec. En 2009, Le Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) classait les lits de bronzage dans la catégorie des risques de cancer les plus élevés pour l’humain, au même titre que la cigarette ou l’amiante.

Au Canada, l’utilisation des lits de bronzage est interdite aux moins de 19 ans en Nouvelle-Écosse et aux moins de 18 ans dans le district de Victoria. Ailleurs dans le monde, on interdit les salons aux mineurs en Australie, dans plusieurs pays d’Europe et dans certaines parties des États-Unis. Le Brésil a éliminé complètement ces commerces en 2009 et la province australienne de New South Wales fera de même en 2014.

« Le consensus scientifique et social est là : une loi sur le bronzage artificiel est une nécessité, qui est souhaitée par la population. Messieurs Charest et Bolduc, ont toutes les cartes en main pour légiférer en ce sens et prévenir de nombreux cancers de la peau », conclut Jean-Daniel Hamelin, directeur des affaires publiques à la SCC.

Les six tumeurs de Rachelle

Âgée de 31 ans, Rachelle Pitre était utilisatrice des salons de bronzage ; elle est maintenant une survivante du cancer de la peau. Elle a dû subir une chirurgie extrêmement douloureuse afin qu’on lui enlève six tumeurs : une à la cuisse, une au sein et quatre au visage. C’est adolescente, peu avant le fameux bal de finissants, qu’elle commence à fréquenter les salons de bronzage et y prend goût pour la décennie qui suit. Après l’opération, elle doit maintenant modifier en profondeur ses habitudes de vie : ne pas s’exposer au soleil, porter en permanence un FPS 60… Aujourd’hui, elle affirme s’être infligé une tragédie par insouciance et ignorance et exige qu’une loi protège les adolescents, comme elle aurait aimé être protégée.

L’histoire d’Annie

Lorsqu’un salon de bronzage ouvre ses portes près de chez elle, Annie Gloutney est âgée de 15 ans et se trouve beaucoup plus jolie bronzée. Malgré le cancer de la peau de son grand-père et l’interdiction de ses parents, elle commence à utiliser les lits de bronzage, chose qu’elle poursuit jusqu’à sa trentaine, « seulement » quelques séances au printemps, à l'automne, et avant les voyages. On lui diagnostique un premier mélanome à 37 ans, suivi d’une récidive de cancer l’an dernier. Après de longs séjours à l’hôpital, un traitement très agressif et une période où toute la famille vit le choc, Annie saura bientôt si son cancer se résorbe, si son conjoint en aura moins sur les épaules et si elle verra grandir ses deux petites filles. Selon Annie, si elle n’avait pas fréquenté les salons de bronzage, son histoire aurait été différente.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444