Passage of Bill 74 to prevent skin cancers caused by artificial tanning

05 June 2012

Montreal,QC -

A memorable day for health according to the Canadian Cancer Society

It’s with great pleasure that the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) – Quebec Division welcomes the passage of Bill 74 that will from now on prohibit the sale of tanning services to young people under 18 years of age. The CCS would like to congratulate and thank Health Minister Dr Yves Bolduc for this important step and all of Quebec’s elected leaders who voted unanimously for this new legislation.

“Bill 74 is a great victory for public health. We forget too often to work ahead to stop cancers that can be prevented. The measures announced this morning will certainly contribute to reducing the rising incidence of skin cancer,” says Suzanne Dubois, Executive Director of the Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division.

With a legislation that is more thorough than Nova Scotia and British Columbia’s, Quebec is showing real leadership on skin cancers. The provisions of this law include:

  • The prohibition of the sale or offer of tanning services to young people under 18 years of age, punishable by fines (from $500 to $15,000 for running the salon and a maximum of $100 for the minor who uses the service).
  • The prohibition of any advertising, direct or indirect or false or misleading (letting them believe, for instance, that tanning beds are harmless), to promote artificial tanning among minors. This also applies to the name of the salon.
  • The obligation to label all advertisements promoting tanning with a warning about the harmful effects of artificial tanning and a clear mention of its prohibition for minors. Otherwise, the merchant and the media running the advertisement are liable to a fine between $500 and $15,000.
  • The mandatory declaration of any activity related to the sale of tanning services to the Enterprise Registrar.
  • The setting up of business inspection mechanisms by the Ministère de la Santé (MSSS) and the possibility of allowing a municipality that wishes to do so to constitute its own team of inspectors.
  • An obligation to review the law every five years.

More than 1,000 tanning salons are currently active in Quebec and many are found in unusual places: travel agencies, video clubs, convenience stores, or laundromats. The legislation provides for the display of notices and warnings indicating the prohibition of access to minors on the door of each business. The CCS is also happy that the MSSS has planned an awareness and information campaign on the dangers of artificial tanning and the provisions of this law.

During the past year, the CCS collected 60,000 signatures in Quebec to show the government the popular consent to legislation to protect young people from the harmful effects of artificial UV rays. The CCS also received the support of 65 organizations representing more than 600 groups. “It was work on the ground that was done in the four corners of the province, which managed to bring people together. We are really proud that our mobilization campaign was heard by elected leaders,” says Mélanie Champagne, Coordinator, Public Issues, CCS – Quebec Division.

 

All the same, the CCS would have liked the bill to tackle, as in the case of smoking, “lifestyle” advertisements. “The industry too often promotes advertisements that show tanning as something that’s necessary to look good, sexy, and happy. Young people are extremely vulnerable,” says Ms. Champagne. A paid permit should also be required for businesses offering tanning services as is the case for the sale of alcohol or tobacco. The CCS finally recommends, as a future step, to introduce a 10% tax on the purchase of a tanning session, like in the United States.

A great victory for people personally affected…

“When I started going to the tanning salon at 15, people didn’t talk about any harmful effects, and never about cancer. As a teenager, nobody ever stopped me from entering a tanning salon. Bill 74 is going to stop young people from developing a cancer unwittingly and it’s wonderful,” says 32-year-old Geneviève Phénix, who survived two melanomas.

“In telling my story, I thought that if my face, my scars, and my situation touched even a single teenager, the mission would be accomplished. With the legislation and the awareness campaign, we are going to reach all of Quebec’s youths and the whole population,” says 31-year-old Rachelle Pitre, who survived multiple skin cancers.

“The Bill 74 vote literally made me hold my breath, moved me tremendously, and gave me another occasion to say a big thank you to the Canadian Cancer Society for all that it has done,” Yvon Roy, a father of four who survived a melanoma.

“Thank you on behalf of my daughters who will soon grow up and be protected by a law that was necessary,” says 42-year-old Annie Gloutney, who has a recurrence of melanoma.

Facts on artificial tanning

  • Skin cancer is the most common cancer in Quebec (from 22,000 to 35,000 cases per year according to sources).
  • Tanning bed rays are 5 to 15 times stronger than the midday sun.
  • The risk of developing a melanoma increases by 75% for people who use tanning beds before the age of 35.
  • Nearly 250,000, or 16%, of young Quebecers aged between 15 and 29 years use artificial tanning 11 times a year on average — 160,000 women (22%) against 90,000 men (11.5%).
  • Skin cancer treatment is not “benign” and simple: it involves scarring surgery, various treatments, pain, convalescence, and major changes in sun-exposure habits (SPF 60 daily required protection, year-round).

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

Adoption de la loi 74 visant à prévenir les cancers de la peau causés par le bronzage artificiel

05 juin 2012

Montréal, QC -

Un grand jour pour la santé selon la Société canadienne du cancer

Montréal, le 5 juin 2012 — C’est avec une immense satisfaction que la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) – Division du Québec accueille l’adoption de la loi 74 qui interdira désormais la vente de services de bronzage aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans. Elle félicite et remercie le ministre de la Santé, le Dr Yves Bolduc, pour ce geste important ainsi que tous les élus du Québec qui ont voté unanimement pour cette nouvelle législation.

« La loi 74 est une grande victoire pour la santé du public. On oublie trop souvent de travailler en amont et de prévenir les cancers qui sont évitables. Les mesures annoncées ce matin contribueront certainement à diminuer le nombre croissant de cancers de la peau », déclare Suzanne Dubois, directrice générale de la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec.

Avec une loi plus complète que celles adoptées en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Colombie-Britannique, le Québec fait véritablement preuve de leadership dans le dossier des cancers cutanés. La présente loi prévoit :

  • L’interdiction de vendre ou d’offrir des services de bronzage artificiel aux moins de 18 ans sous peine d’amende (de 500 $ à 15 000 $ pour l’exploitant du salon, et d’un maximum de 100$ pour le jeune qui se procure ce service).
  • L’interdiction de toute publicité, directe ou indirecte, en faveur du bronzage artificiel destinée aux mineurs, ou encore fausse ou trompeuse (laissant croire, par exemple, à l’innocuité des lits de bronzage). L’interdiction s’applique également au nom du salon.
  • L’obligation de doter toute publicité en faveur du bronzage d’une mise en garde sur les effets nocifs du bronzage artificiel et d’une mention claire sur l’interdiction aux mineurs. Dans le cas contraire, le commerçant et le média diffusant la publicité sont passibles d’une amende de 500 $ à 15 000 $.
  • La déclaration obligatoire de toute activité de vente de services de bronzage au registre des entreprises.
  • La mise en place de mécanismes d’inspection des commerces par le Ministère de la Santé (MSSS), de même que la possibilité, pour une municipalité qui le désire, de se doter de sa propre équipe d’inspecteurs.
  • Une obligation de réviser la loi aux cinq ans.

Plus de 1000 salons de bronzage sont présentement actifs au Québec, et plusieurs se trouvent dans des endroits insolites : agences de voyage, clubs vidéo, dépanneurs ou buanderies. La loi prévoit la production d’affichettes et de mises en garde indiquant l’interdiction d’accès aux mineurs, qui devront être affichées sur la porte de chaque commerce. La SCC est également satisfaite que le MSSS ait prévu une campagne de sensibilisation et d’information sur les dangers du bronzage artificiel et sur le contenu de la présente loi.

Au cours de la dernière année, la SCC a recueilli les signatures de 60 000 Québécois pour démontrer au gouvernement l’accord de la population avec une loi pour protéger les jeunes des méfaits des UV artificiels. La SCC a aussi reçu l’appui de 65 organismes représentant plus de 600 groupes. « C’est un travail de terrain qui s’est effectué aux quatre coins de la province et qui a su rallier les gens. Nous sommes vraiment fiers que notre campagne de mobilisation ait été entendue par les élus », affirme Mélanie Champagne, coordonnatrice, Questions d’intérêt public, SCC – Division du Québec.

 

La SCC aurait tout de même souhaité que le projet de loi s’attaque, comme dans le cas du tabac, aux publicités de type « style de vie ». « L’industrie met trop souvent de l’avant des publicités où le bronzage est montré comme quelque chose de nécessaire pour être beau, sexy et heureux. Les jeunes y sont extrêmement sensibles », ajoute Madame Champagne. Un permis payant devrait également être imposé aux commerçants qui offrent des services de bronzage comme c’est le cas pour la vente d’alcool ou de tabac. La SCC recommande finalement, dans une prochaine étape, d’instaurer une taxe de 10 % à l’achat de toute séance de bronzage, comme cela se fait aux États-Unis.

Un grand succès pour les personnes touchées de près…

« Quand j’ai commencé à aller au salon de bronzage à 15 ans, on ne parlait pas des effets néfastes, et pas du tout du cancer. Ado, jamais personne ne m’a refusé l’accès. La loi 74 va empêcher les jeunes de se créer un cancer sans le savoir et c’est remarquable », se réjouit Geneviève Phénix, 32 ans, survivante de deux mélanomes.

« En parlant de mon histoire, j’ai pensé que si mon visage, mes cicatrices et ma situation touchaient une seule adolescente, ce serait mission accomplie. Avec la loi et la campagne de sensibilisation, on va rejoindre tous les jeunes du Québec et toute la population », résume Rachelle Pitre, 31 ans, survivante de multiples cancers de la peau.

« Le vote de la loi 74 m’a littéralement coupé le souffle, m’a grandement ému et me donne une occasion de plus de dire un énorme merci à la Société canadienne du cancer pour tout ce qu’elle a fait », souligne Yvon Roy, survivant d’un mélanome et père de quatre enfants.

« Merci au nom de mes filles qui grandiront bien assez vite et qui seront protégées par une loi qui était nécessaire », a pour sa part ajouté Annie Gloutney, 42 ans, atteinte d’une récidive de mélanome.

Faits sur le bronzage artificiel

  • Le cancer de la peau est le cancer le plus fréquent au Québec (de 22 000 à 35 000 cas par année selon les sources).
  • Les rayons des lits de bronzage sont de 5 à 15 fois plus forts que le soleil de midi.
  • Les chances de développer un mélanome augmentent de 75 % pour les personnes qui utilisent les cabines de bronzage avant l’âge de 35 ans.
  • Près de 250 000 jeunes Québécois de 15 à 29 ans, soit 16 %, utilisent le bronzage artificiel 11 fois l’an en moyenne — 160 000 femmes (22 %) contre 90 000 hommes (11,5 %).
  • Le traitement des cancers de la peau n’est pas « bénin » et simple : chirurgies mutilantes, traitements, douleur, convalescence et changement important des habitudes face au soleil (FPS 60 requis tous les jours, 12 mois par année).

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444