In an effort to save our youths’ skin, the CCS reveals The hidden face of tanning salons

21 September 2011

Montreal -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is launching a hard-hitting campaign to help prevent skin cancer: The hidden face of tanning salons. The harmful effects of UV rays are well-known, and while the CCS encourages youths to enjoy the sun with caution, it has decided to speak out against the dangers of tanning salons.

The hidden faces of tanning salons belongs to Geneviève Phénix, among others, a young woman who has survived two melanomas and who is also a former user of tanning beds. The campaign’s visual component compares her “everyday face” with her “hidden face.” The latter picture, taken with a special camera, reveals a stunning view: the real and permanent skin damage caused by UV rays that is still invisible to the naked eye. Through these photos, the CCS wants to draw youths’ attention to the flip-side of artificial tanning.

Starting at 10 AM on September 23, an event designed to “Reveal the hidden face of tanning salons” will be held at Agora de l’UQAM. During the event, youths will have an opportunity to make use of the CCS’s UV photomaton with healthcare professionals on hand. Their photos may then join Geneviève’s “hidden face” on facebook/sccfacecachee. Visitors can go to this page to test their knowledge, take in Geneviève’s testimonial, and view the UV photo gallery. Visitors can also share this page with friends and encourage them to sign a petition calling for legislation to regulate the artificial tanning industry.

Youths frequent tanning salons essentially for esthetic reasons and for immediate results. The artificial tanning industry relies heavily on the lure of “beauty” to attract young consumers: 70% of tanning bed users are women, aged mainly 16 to 29. A recent survey indicates that about 160,000 young people in Quebec, aged 15 to 29[1], visited tanning salons on average 11 times in the past year.

“I’m sorry to see that young women still often go to tanning salons in order to look prettier and healthier,” states Geneviève. “This has to change! When I was teenager, I didn’t want to look pale and pasty – but the fact is that getting into a tanning bed is like getting into your coffin. You’re playing with your life.”

To prevent this sort of situation from recurring and since regulating tanning salons will help to lower the incidence of skin cancer, the CCS has launched a petition – now available in electronic format on the National Assembly’s web site. Over 55,000 people in Quebec have already supported this civic initiative. The CCS is targeting 100,000 signatures.

The petition calls for legislation that would prohibit the sale and promotion of artificial tanning services to youths under the age of 18 and establish a registry of businesses operating in this field.

“Tanning salons recruit young people who are in good health and expose them to a potentially deadly cancer risk. The CCS wants to save our youths’ skin, and that is why it has decided to uncover the hidden face of tanning salons,” states André Beaulieu, Interim Director, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society – Quebec Division.

 

Read Geneviève Phénix’s story

Skin cancer: some shattering facts

  • The most common cancer in Canada: nearly 80,000 new cases in 2011.
  • Rapid upswing: since 1990, the number of cases of melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer, has more than doubled in Canada.
  • 1 skin cancer diagnosis every 7 minutes; 1 death every 7 hours.

Tanned skin is damaged skin

  • Every time skin tans through exposure to UV rays, DNA and individual cells are altered. Damage caused by UV radiation is permanent; furthermore, damage is aggravated through repeated exposure.

Artificial tanning = beauty? Appearances are deceptive

  • Exposure to artificial tanning before the age of 35 raises the risk of contracting melanoma by 75%.
  • 76% of melanoma cases among artificial-tanning fans aged 18 to 29 are due to the use of tanning beds.
  • Tanning-bed UV radiation is 5 to 15 times stronger than the midday sun.
  • Tanning beds are categorized among the highest cancer risks, on the same level as smoking or exposure to asbestos.

 

The Canadian Cancer Society fights against the disease through tireless efforts to prevent cancer, save lives, and provide support to people with cancer. To find out more about cancer, please visit our web site at cancer.ca or call our Cancer Information Service (which is bilingual and free of charge) at 1 888 939-3333.



[1] Léger Marketing: web survey conducted for the Canadian Cancer Society from July 28 to August 3, 2011 among 614 youths in Quebec, aged 15 to 29 years.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

La SCC veut sauver la peau des jeunes, et dévoile la face cachée des salons de bronzage

21 septembre 2011

Montréal -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) lance une campagne-choc afin de prévenir les cancers de la peau : La face cachée des salons de bronzage. Les méfaits des rayons UV sont bien connus et même si la SCC continue d’inviter les jeunes à être prudents sous le soleil, ce sont aujourd’hui les dangers des salons de bronzage qui sont dans sa mire.

Le visage de la face cachée des salons de bronzage est notamment celui de Geneviève Phénix, une jeune femme survivante de deux mélanomes et ancienne utilisatrice des salons de bronzage. Le visuel de la campagne présente son visage au naturel opposé à « sa face cachée ». Ce saisissant cliché a été pris avec une caméra spéciale qui dévoile les dommages réels et permanents causés à la peau par les rayons UV, même si ceux-ci ne sont pas encore apparents à l’œil nu. Par la présentation de ces photos, la SCC veut attirer l’attention et montrer l’envers de la médaille d’une peau bronzée aux jeunes.

Le 23 septembre prochain, dès 10 heures, se tiendra la journée « Dévoile la face cachée des salons de bronzage » à l’Agora de l’UQAM, pendant laquelle les jeunes pourront faire l’expérience du photomaton UV de la SCC en présence de professionnels de la santé. Leur portrait pourra s’ajouter à la face cachée de Geneviève, sur facebook/sccfacecachee. Au moyen de cette page, les internautes pourront y tester leurs connaissances, écouter le témoignage de Geneviève et partager la galerie des photos UV. Ils pourront de plus faire connaître cette page à leurs amis et les inviter à signer une pétition demandant la règlementation de l’industrie des salons de bronzage.

Les jeunes fréquentent les salons de bronzage essentiellement pour des raisons esthétiques et des résultats immédiats et l’industrie du bronzage artificiel mise grandement sur « la beauté » pour les attirer : 70 % des utilisateurs de lits de bronzage sont des femmes, principalement âgées de 16 à 29 ans. Un récent sondage indique qu’environ 160 000 jeunes Québécoises âgées de 15 à 29 ans[1] ont utilisé en moyenne 11 fois un lit de bronzage dans la dernière année.

« Je me désole de voir que c’est encore très fréquent pour les jeunes femmes de se rendre aux salons de bronzage et qu’elles le font dans le but d’avoir l’air belles et en santé », déclare Geneviève. Il est temps que ça change! Adolescente moi aussi je ne voulais pas avoir l’air éteinte, mais dans les faits, aller au salon de bronzage, c’est comme se glisser dans son cercueil. Tu joues avec ta vie. »

Pour éviter que ce genre de situation ne se reproduise et sachant qu’une règlementation des pratiques de l’industrie des salons de bronzage contribuera à diminuer l’incidence des cancers de la peau, la SCC a lancé une pétition papier, maintenant offerte en version électronique sur le site de l’Assemblée nationale. Plus de 55 000 Québécois ont déjà appuyée cette initiative citoyenne et la SCC vise l’obtention de 100 000 signatures.

Les signataires réclament une loi afin d’interdire la vente et la promotion de services de bronzage artificiel auprès des mineurs, ainsi que la mise sur pied d'un registre de ces établissements.

« Les salons de bronzage recrutent des jeunes en bonne santé et les exposent au développement d’un cancer potentiellement mortel. La SCC veut sauver la peau des jeunes, et c’est pourquoi elle dévoile la face cachée des salons de bronzage, souligne André Beaulieu, directeur par intérim des Affaires publiques de la Société canadienne du cancer – Division du Québec. »

 

Lire l’histoire de Geneviève Phénix

 

Le cancer de la peau : quelques faits catastrophiques

  • Le cancer le plus courant au Canada : près de 80 000 nouveaux cas en 2011.
  • Une croissance fulgurante : depuis 1990, les cas de mélanome, le cancer de la peau le plus meurtrier, ont plus que doublé au Canada.
  • 1 diagnostic de cancer de la peau toutes les 7 minutes, 1 décès toutes les 7 heures.

Une peau bronzée est une peau endommagée

  • Chaque fois que la peau est exposée aux rayons UV et qu’elle bronze, l’ADN et les cellules individuelles sont altérés. Les dommages causés par les radiations UV sont permanents et encore plus imposants lorsque la peau est exposée de façon répétitive.

Bronzage artificiel = beauté? Les apparences sont trompeuses

  • L’exposition au bronzage artificiel, avant l’âge de 35 ans, augmente de 75 % le risque de développer un mélanome.
  • 76 % des cas de mélanomes chez les 18-29 ans adeptes du bronzage artificiel sont attribuables à l’usage des lits de bronzage.
  • Les rayons UV des lits de bronzage sont de 5 à 15 fois plus forts que le soleil de midi.
  • Les lits de bronzage sont classés dans la catégorie des risques de cancer les plus élevés pour l’humain, au même titre que la cigarette ou l’amiante.

 

La Société canadienne du cancer combat la maladie en faisant tout ce qu’elle peut pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et soutenir les personnes qui en sont atteintes. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, veuillez consulter notre site Web à l'adresse cancer.ca ou appeler notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1 888 939-3333.



[1] Léger Marketing : sondage Web réalisé pour la Société canadienne du cancer du 28 juillet au 3 août 2011 auprès de 614 jeunes Québécois(es), âgé(e)s de 15 à 29 ans.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444