A A A

Financial assistance to fight cancer better

07 November 2011

Montreal -

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) and Desjardins Financial Security (DFS) are joining forces again to fight cancer by renewing and strengthening their partnership forged in 2009.

DFS will continue to support the CCS by contributing, over the next two years, a percentage of the annual premiums for each new contract issued. What is new this year is that this will include each active GetWell Insurance policy.

Since signing this agreement, DFS has contributed more than $53,000 to the CCS, which has used these funds to financially support dozens of people living with cancer in Quebec.

Fighting cancer without financial problems

 

Cancer treatment can take a long time. During this period, there is a decrease in income and an increase in expenditure due to treatment-related costs. “It’s a harsh reality for people living with cancer who have to conserve all their energy to continue their fight. We have different solutions to offer them, so that, in a certain way, they can have the peace of mind to gather their strength for healing,” explains Theresa Boily, Marketing Director at Desjardins Financial Security.

Together, to fight cancer better

 

“People living with cancer should not have to fight for anything other than their recovery. This agreement will ease the financial burden that many of them face. We are therefore very happy to join forces with Desjardins Financial Security, a committed partner, which, in addition to its generous contribution, is involved in various annual benefit events,” says Alain Deschamps, Director of Operations at the Canadian Cancer Society, Quebec Division.

About the Canadian Cancer Society

 

The Canadian Cancer Society works tirelessly to prevent cancer, save lives, and support people living with the disease. To learn more about cancer, please visit our website cancer.ca or call our free and bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

André Beaulieu

Spokesperson and Senior Advisor, Public Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Quebec Division

Phone: (514) 393-3444

De l'aide financière pour mieux surmonter l'épreuve du cancer

07 novembre 2011

MONTRÉAL -

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) et Desjardins Sécurité financière (DSF) s'unissent de nouveau pour combattre le cancer en renouvelant et en bonifiant le partenariat qui avait été conclu en 2009.

DSF maintient donc son appui à la SCC en continuant de lui remettre, au cours des deux prochaines années, un pourcentage des primes annuelles de chaque nouveau contrat émis et, une nouveauté cette année, de chaque police en vigueur de l'Assurance mieux-être.

Depuis la signature de cette entente, DSF a versé plus de 53 000 $ à la SCC qui a utilisé ces argents pour soutenir financièrement des dizaines de Québécois touchés par la maladie.

Combattre le cancer, pas les problèmes financiers

 

Le traitement d'un cancer peut être long. Pendant ce temps, les revenus baissent et les dépenses augmentent en raison des frais liés au traitement de la maladie. « C'est une réalité très difficile pour les personnes atteintes de cancer qui doivent garder toute leur énergie pour mener leur combat. Nous avons différentes solutions à leur proposer pour leur offrir, en quelque sorte, une tranquillité d'esprit qui leur permettra de rassembler toute leur force pour guérir », explique Theresa Boily, directrice, Commercialisation chez Desjardins Sécurité financière.

 

Ensemble, pour mieux surmonter l'épreuve du cancer

 

« Les personnes atteintes de cancer ne devraient pas avoir à batailler pour autre chose que leur guérison. La poursuite de cette entente permettra d’alléger le fardeau financier de plusieurs d’entre elles. Nous sommes donc très heureux d'unir nos forces à celles de Desjardins Sécurité financière, un partenaire engagé qui, en plus de sa généreuse contribution, participe à diverses activités-bénéfices annuelles », affirme Alain Deschamps, directeur des Opérations à la Société canadienne du cancer, Division du Québec.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

 

La Société canadienne du cancer travaille sans relâche pour prévenir le cancer, sauver des vies et soutenir les personnes qui sont atteintes de la maladie. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, veuillez consulter notre site Web à l'adresse cancer.ca ou appeler notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

André Beaulieu

Conseiller principal, Communication

Société canadienne du cancer

Division du Québec

Téléphone : (514) 393-3444