A A A

Society volunteer receives Heather Crowe Award as part of Smoke-Free Ontario Act 10th Anniversary

31 May 2016

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to be marking the 10th anniversary of the Smoke-Free Ontario Act by celebrating pubic issues volunteer Mary Ransom receiving the Heather Crowe Award for significant achievements in creating a smoke-free Ontario. Mary has been a Society volunteer for nearly 40 years and has an unwavering spirit and dedication for our work to prevent cancer and influence health policies.

The landmark Smoke-Free Ontario Act was first introduced on World No Tobacco Day in 2006 with the aim of protecting Ontarians from the dangers of second-hand smoke by prohibiting smoking in indoor spaces. The legislation has evolved into a more comprehensive approach to tobacco control.

“We have seen many key advances in tobacco control since the Smoke-Free Ontario Act has been in effect, such as banning flavoured tobacco, increasing restrictions on retail displays and marketing to youth and the expansion of smoke-free spaces to include outdoor patios and parks,” says Rowena Pinto, Vice President, Public Affairs & Strategic Initiatives, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division.

The movement to help ban second-hand smoke was led in part by Heather Crowe, a non-smoker who developed lung cancer through exposure to second-hand smoke in her workplace. After her cancer diagnosis she began advocating for stronger second-hand smoke bylaws.

Tobacco use remains the number one cause of preventable disease and death and is responsible for 30% of all cancers. The tobacco industry continues to target young people and fight smoke-free measures. The Society and our tireless volunteers like Mary will continue to advocate for stronger tobacco control measures until Ontario is truly smoke-free.

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Susan Fekete

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 613-565-2522 ext 4985

Une bénévole de la Société reçoit le Prix Heather Crowe dans le cadre du 10e anniversaire de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée

31 mai 2016

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer est fière de souligner le 10e anniversaire de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée en célébrant la bénévole des questions d’intérêt public Mary Ransom qui reçoit le Prix Heather Crowe pour ses réalisations importantes dans la création d’un Ontario sans fumée. Mary est bénévole de la Société depuis presque 40 ans avec une ténacité et un dévouement inébranlables envers notre travail pour prévenir le cancer et influencer les politiques favorables à la santé.

La Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée a été présentée lors de la Journée mondiale sans tabac en 2006 dans le but de protéger les Ontariens contre les dangers de la fumée secondaire en interdisant le tabagisme dans les lieux intérieurs. La loi a évolué en une approche plus complète de lutte contre le tabac.

« Nous avons vu plusieurs progrès importants dans la lutte contre le tabac depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée, comme l’interdiction de tabac aromatisé, l’augmentation des restrictions concernant les étalages de vente et le marketing ciblant les jeunes, et les lieux sans fumée qui incluent maintenant les terrasses et les parcs », dit Rowena Pinto, vice-présidente, affaires publiques & initiatives stratégiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario.

Le mouvement pour interdire la fumée secondaire a été mené en partie par Heather Crowe, une non-fumeuse qui a développé un cancer du poumon en raison d’une exposition à la fumée secondaire dans son lieu de travail. Après son diagnostic de cancer elle a commencé à militer pour obtenir des règlements plus sévères sur la fumée secondaire.

Le tabagisme demeure la principale cause de maladie et de décès évitables et est responsable de 30 % de tous les cancers. L’industrie du tabac continue de cibler les jeunes et lutte contre les mesures anti-tabac. La Société et ses bénévoles inlassables comme Mary continueront à militer pour des mesures de lutte contre le tabac plus sévères jusqu’à ce que l’Ontario soit vraiment sans fumée.

Renseignements :

Susan Fekete

Gestionnaire, Communications

Société canadienne du cancer

Téléphone : 613 565-2522 poste : 4985