Jiffy Lube and Suds Car Wash customers help shift the Canadian Cancer Society’s transportation service into a higher gear

06 November 2015

WATERLOO -

Customers who made a pit stop this summer to purchase the “Drive Hope” coupon books that were sold at Jiffy Lube and Suds Car Wash locations across the province made a meaningful difference in the fight against cancer. More than $104,000 was raised through the sale of these coupon books in support of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Wheels of Hope patient transportation service.

Wheels of Hope helps cancer patients in Ontario who truly have no other way of getting to and from cancer-related care or who can’t afford the costs associated with travelling.

“I could not fathom having to take my sick little boy on public transit to get him to treatment. Being able to use the Wheels of Hope service took a tremendous weight off my shoulders,” said Kelly, single mother of a childhood cancer survivor. “I could not have gotten through this experience without the support from the Canadian Cancer Society and its volunteers. It meant so much to me that people donated their time and vehicles to get us to treatment.”

Last year, the Society’s team of more than 2,600 Wheels of Hope volunteer drivers drove almost 11 million kilometres across Ontario. These volunteers helped almost 11,700 cancer patients get to more than 220,000 cancer-related appointments.

“Every day, we hear from people who are in need of the Wheels of Hope service. They tell us that the service is a ‘godsend’ or that it saved their life,” says Martin Kabat, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “Thank you to Jiffy Lube, Suds Car Washes and to everyone who bought a Drive Hope coupon book. Your support means so much to patients who rely on this vital service.”

Wheels of Hope is the largest volunteer-provided transportation program of its kind in North America. Typically, a registered patient uses the service 10 to 17 times on one-way trips during the course of their treatment.

“We knew that our customers would support Wheels of Hope and we believe it’s our responsibility as well to give back to the communities we operate in,” says Dianne Hinds, Director of Marketing for QLO Management Inc. and Suds Car Washes. “Together, Suds Car Washes, Jiffy Lube and our amazing customers will continue to assist local cancer patients with every kilometre of their fight.”

About Jiffy Lube

As one of the largest quick oil change companies in the country, Jiffy Lube has over 130 locations offering maintenance services outlined in vehicles’ owners’ manuals.  Providing service in minutes, with no appointment, Jiffy Lube has been evolving the vehicle maintenance industry in Canada since 1977.  The Suds Car Wash brand launched in 2002.  Both Suds and Jiffy Lube are actively expanding in Ontario.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada's largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

Les clients Jiffy Lube et Suds Car Wash aident le service de transport de la Société canadienne du cancer à passer à la vitesse supérieure

06 novembre 2015

Waterloo -

Les clients qui se sont arrêtés cet été pour acheter les livrets de coupons « Drive Hope » vendus chez Jiffy Lube et Suds Car Wash de la province ont fait une différence significative dans le combat contre le cancer. Plus de 104 000 $ ont été recueillis grâce à la vente de ces livrets de coupons au profit du service de transport des patients Roues de l’espoir de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Roues de l’espoir aide les personnes atteintes de cancer en Ontario qui n’ont vraiment aucun autre moyen de se déplacer aller-retour vers leurs soins liés au cancer ou qui n’ont pas les moyens financiers de défrayer les coûts associés aux déplacements.

« Je ne pouvais pas m’imaginer devoir amener mon petit garçon malade à ses traitements par les transports en commun. Le fait de pouvoir utiliser le service Roues de lespoir a enlevé un poids important de mes épaules », dit Kelly, mère célibataire d’un survivant du cancer infantile. « Je n’aurais pas pu traverser cette expérience sans le soutien de la Société canadienne du cancer et de ses bénévoles. Cela m’a beaucoup touchée que les gens donnent leur temps et leurs voitures pour nous amener aux traitements. »

L’an dernier, l’équipe de plus de 2 600 chauffeurs bénévoles de Roues de l’espoir ont parcouru presque 11 millions de kilomètres en Ontario. Ces bénévoles ont aidé presque 11 700 personnes atteintes de cancer à se rendre aller-retour à plus de 220 000 rendez-vous liés au cancer.

« Chaque jour, nous entendons parler de personnes qui ont besoin du service Roues de l’espoir. Elles nous disent que le service est un « cadeau du ciel » ou qu’il leur a sauvé la vie », dit Martin Kabat, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer en Ontario. Merci à Jiffy Lube, Suds Car Washes et à tout le monde qui a acheté un livret de coupons « Drive Hope ». Votre soutien compte beaucoup pour les patients qui comptent sur ce service vital. »

Roues de l’espoir est le plus important programme de transport du genre, offert par des bénévoles en Amérique du Nord. Typiquement, un patient inscrit utilise le service 10 à 17 fois pour des allers simples pendant la durée de son traitement.

« Nous savions que nos clients appuieraient Roues de l’espoir et nous croyons que c’est également notre responsabilité de redonner dans les communautés où nous sommes établis », dit Dianne Hinds, directrice du marketing pour QLO Management Inc. et Suds Car Washes. « Ensemble, Suds Car Washes, Jiffy Lube et nos clients fantastiques continueront à aider les personnes atteintes de cancer à chaque kilomètre de leur combat. »

À propos de Jiffy Lube
Plus importante entreprise de vidange d’huile rapide au pays, Jiffy Lube a plus de 130 garages offrant les services d’entretien décrits dans les manuels d’entretien des véhicules en quelques minutes, sans rendez-vous. QLO Management Inc. est le plus gros exploitant de franchises Jiffy Lube en Ontario avec 17 garages et fait progresser l’industrie de l’entretien des véhicules automobiles au Canada depuis 1977. Avec le développement de sa marque Suds Car Wash en 2002, QLO développe activement les deux marques dans le sud de l’Ontario.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1 888 939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039