Canadian Cancer Society launches Mudmoiselle, a charity mud run for women only

06 May 2015

Toronto -

Women across Ontario are invited to enjoy a day of mud, sweat and cheers at the Canadian Cancer Society’s Mudmoiselle events launching this summer. These mud run fundraisers feature 5-kilometre obstacle courses winding through the hills and terrain at six venues in the province. Money raised through Mudmoiselle will fund Canada's most promising cancer research and vital support services for cancer patients and their families.

“Two in five Canadians will develop cancer in their lifetime. While survival rates have increased over the years, more work needs to be done,” says Tonya Stewart, Director of Special Events at the Canadian Cancer Society in Ontario. “Mudmoiselle gives women the opportunity to get dirty and fight this terrible disease.”

The groundbreaking challenge is open to women of all fitness levels, whether they run marathons or run after their kids. “Through Mudmoiselle, women can test their endurance and strength all while supporting Canadians with cancer,” says Stewart. “This will be a rewarding experience for girlfriends, mothers and daughters to team up and get dirty for a good cause.”

The Society is hosting six Mudmoiselle events across the province in 2015:

• Peterborough area, July 11
• Subury, August 22
• Timmins, August 22
• Collingwood area, September 12
• Kingston, September 19
• Halton Region, September 26

Visit Mudmoiselle.ca today to get all the dirty details on these events!

About the Canadian Cancer Society

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888 939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

 

Social media information
Twitter: @MudmoiselleRun
Facebook: facebook.com/Mudmoiselle
YouTube: bit.ly/1GMrYBI
Hashtag: #Mudmoiselle

For more information, please contact:

Gabrielle Scheliga

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7038

La Société canadienne du cancer lance l'événement Mudmoiselle, une course dans la boue pour les femmes seulement

06 mai 2015

Toronto -

Les femmes de partout en Ontario sont invitées à profiter d'une journée de boue, de sueur et d'éclats de rire aux événements Mudmoiselle de la Société canadienne du cancer débutant cet été. Ces courses dans la boue pour recueillir des fonds consistent en des courses à obstacles de 5 kilomètres serpentant les collines et terrains variés à six endroits dans la province. Les fonds recueillis grâce à Mudmoiselle financeront les projets de recherche sur le cancer les plus prometteurs au Canada et les services de soutien vitaux pour les personnes ayant le cancer et leur famille.

« Deux Canadiens sur cinq développeront un cancer au cours de leur vie. Bien que les taux de survie aient augmenté au fil des ans, plus de travail doit être fait », dit Tonya Stewart, directrice des événements spéciaux, Société canadienne du cancer en Ontario. « Mudmoiselle donne l'occasion aux femmes de se salir et de lutter contre cette maladie terrible. » 

Ce défi novateur est ouvert aux femmes de tous les niveaux de condition physique, qu'elles courent des marathons ou courent après leurs enfants. « Grâce à Mudmoiselle, les femmes peuvent tester leur endurance et leur force tout en supportant les Canadiens ayant le cancer », ajoute Mme Stewart. « Il s'agira d'une expérience enrichissante pour les amies, les mères et les filles qui formeront des équipes et se saliront pour une bonne cause. »

La Société organise six événements Mudmoiselle dans la province en 2015 :

  • Région de Peterborough, 11 juillet
  • Sudbury, 22 août
  • Timmins, 22 août
  • Région de Collingwood, 12 septembre
  • Kingston, 19 septembre
  • Région de Halton, 26 septembre

Visitez Mudmoiselle.ca aujourd'hui pour obtenir tous les détails sur ces événements!


À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Médias sociaux

Twitter : @cancersociety
Facebook : facebook.com/Mudmoiselle
YouTube : youtu.be/RAOBQi7ImA4
Mot-clic : #Mudmoiselle

Renseignements :

Camille Beaubien

Coordonnatrice principale, Relations publiques

Téléphone : (416) 323-7181