Canadian Cancer Society celebrates the successful end to their #endtheflavour campaign

26 May 2015

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society applauds the Ontario government for passing Bill 45: Making Healthier Choices Act during a third reading vote today at Queen’s Park.

This landmark legislation bans the sale of all flavoured tobacco, including menthol, and regulates the sale, use and promotion of e-cigarettes. It also mandates menu labelling for restaurants with 20 or more locations. The Society has been closely working with all parties for more than five years to ban flavoured tobacco. 

“Bill 45 is the most comprehensive piece of tobacco control legislation since the Smoke-Free Ontario Act, 2006. Its passage will significantly reduce youth smoking rates in Ontario,” says Rowena Pinto, Vice President, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Preventing a new generation of smokers while also helping existing smokers quit through programs like the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline will save lives and help reduce healthcare costs.”

As part of the youth driven Society campaign Big Tobacco Lies, youth volunteers from across Ontario play an important role in raising awareness and support for legislation on tobacco and tobacco products.

“I advocated for a ban on all flavoured tobacco products in Ontario to prevent today's youth from experimenting and becoming addicted to smoking,” says Shadi Mousavi Nia, youth advocate and Big Tobacco Lies campaign leader. “We will continue to work tirelessly to reduce youth smoking rates across Ontario and ensure healthier communities for generations to come.”

Menthol is the most popular flavour amongst Canadian teenagers and studies show that one in four Ontario youth who smoke reported smoking menthol cigarettes.

“The inclusion of menthol in the flavoured tobacco ban is a particularly bold step forward,” adds Pinto. “Our priority now is to work with the government to ensure there are no loopholes in the legislation that will allow the tobacco industry to continue to create, sell or develop new flavoured products.”


About the Canadian Cancer Society
The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1-888-939-3333 or visit www.cancer.ca.

About the Canadian Cancer Society Smokers’ Helpline
Smokers’ Helpline is a free, confidential service that provides personalized support, advice and information about quitting smoking and tobacco use. Operated by the Canadian Cancer Society and funded by the Government of Ontario, Smokers’ Helpline has three ways to help Ontarians quit: phone support, online program and text messaging at 1-877-513-5333 and SmokersHelpline.ca.

Social Media Information

Twitter: @CdnCancerTO
Instagram: @ccstoronto

Twitter: @BigTobaccoLies

Facebook: Big Tobacco Lies

For further information or to book an interview opportunity, please contact:

Jason Chapman, Senior Manager, Communications
Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division
416-323-7132; jchapman@ontario.cancer.ca

Onsite contact (Queen’s Park):
Reena Kudhail, Communications Specialist
Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division
Onsite cell: 647-717-1808  Office: 416-323-7023
rkudhail@ontario.cancer.ca

Follow us @CCS_media

La Société canadienne du cancer célèbre la réussite de sa campagne #endtheflavour

26 mai 2015

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit le gouvernement de l'Ontario qui a adopté le Projet de loi 45 : Loi pour des choix plus sains pendant un vote de troisième lecture aujourd'hui à Queen’s Park.

Cette loi historique interdit la vente de tous les produits du tabac aromatisés, y compris le menthol, et réglemente la vente, l'utilisation et la promotion des cigarettes électroniques. De plus, elle rend obligatoire l'étiquetage des menus pour les chaînes de lieux de restauration ayant 20 restaurants ou plus. La Société a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec tous les intervenants pendant plus de cinq ans pour interdire le tabac aromatisé.

 « Le projet de loi 45 est la loi sur la lutte contre le tabagisme la plus exhaustive depuis l'adoption de la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée en 2006. Son adoption réduira de manière importante les taux de tabagisme chez les jeunes en Ontario », dit Rowena Pinto, vice-présidente, affaires publiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario. « La prévention d'une nouvelle génération de fumeurs tout en aidant les fumeurs actuels à cesser grâce aux programmes comme Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer sauvera des vies et aidera à réduire les coûts de soins de santé. »

Dans le cadre d'une campagne de la Société menée par les jeunes, Les mensonges de l'industrie du tabac, les jeunes bénévoles de partout en Ontario jouent un rôle important pour sensibiliser et soutenir une loi sur le tabac et les produits du tabac.

« J'ai milité pour obtenir une interdiction de tous les produits du tabac aromatisés en Ontario afin d'empêcher les jeunes d'essayer de fumer et de devenir dépendants de la cigarette », dit Shadi Mousavi Nia, jeune militante et leader de la campagne Les mensonges de l'industrie du tabac. « Nous continuerons à travailler sans relâche pour réduire les taux de tabagisme chez les jeunes en Ontario et avoir des communautés plus en santé pour des générations à venir. »  

Le menthol est la saveur la plus populaire chez les adolescents canadiens et des études indiquent qu'un jeune sur quatre en Ontario qui fument ont rapporté fumer des cigarettes au menthol.

« L'inclusion du menthol dans l'interdiction du tabac aromatisé est un pas particulièrement audacieux en avant », ajoute Mme Pinto. « Maintenant, notre priorité est de travailler avec le gouvernement pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas d'échappatoire dans la loi permettant à l'industrie du tabac de continuer à créer, à vendre et à développer de nouveaux produits aromatisés. »

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

À propos de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer
Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit offrant un soutien personnalisé, des conseils et de l'information sur l'abandon du tabac et l'usage du tabac. Exploité par la Société canadienne du cancer et financé par le gouvernement de l'Ontario, Téléassistance pour fumeurs aide les Ontariens à cesser de fumer de trois façons : soutien au téléphone, programme en ligne et messagerie texte à 1-877-513-5333 et teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca.

Information sur les médias sociaux

Twitter : @CdnCancerTO
Instagram : @ccstoronto

Twitter : @BigTobaccoLies

Facebook : Big Tobacco Lies

Pour plus d'information ou pour une entrevue, prière de communiquer avec :

Jason Chapman, gestionnaire principal, communications
Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario
416-323-7132; jchapman@ontario.cancer.ca

Personne-ressource sur place (Queen's Park) :
Reena Kudhail, spécialiste des communications
Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario
Cellulaire :  647-717-1808 Bureau : 416-323-7023
rkudhail@ontario.cancer.ca

Suivez-nous @CCS_media