Calling on youth volunteers to apply for Canadian Cancer Society prestigious scholarships

15 January 2015

TORONTO -

The Gertrude and LeRoy Rellinger Youth Volunteer Scholarships were created to recognize young volunteers who have made a big impact in the fight against cancer. The Canadian Cancer Society annually awards two youth scholarships to students volunteering with the Society thanks to the generosity of a woman who lost her husband to cancer.

“Youth are involved in every aspect of the Society’s work,” explains Cathy Hall, Director, Volunteer Engagement, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Whether they are taking part in Youth Leadership Councils, tackling advocacy and health promotion activities or participating in community fundraising initiatives, youth are very involved with the Society,” added Hall.

The Canadian Cancer Society Gertrude and LeRoy Rellinger Youth Volunteer Scholarships program is an opportunity to recognize youth volunteers and help them grow into community leaders. Up to two scholarships valued at $5000 each are awarded to Society volunteers that are 21 years of age or younger and are entering a post-secondary institution. The scholarship application process opens January 15 and closes March 15, 2015. Final recipients will be selected by mid-May.

Youth can apply online by submitting details about their volunteerism with the Society, the name of their Society staff partner and information about their post-secondary plans. A personal impact statement describing what difference they believe their volunteerism has made in the fight against cancer is also required.  Recipients are selected based on their contributions and commitment to eradicating cancer and improving the quality of life for people living with cancer and their families.

To learn about youth volunteer opportunities with the Society or more about the Gertrude & LeRoy Rellinger Youth Volunteer Scholarships and how to apply visit cancer.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888 939-3333 or visit www.cancer.ca.

For more information, please contact:

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario

Phone: 416-323-7039

Appel aux jeunes bénévoles pouvant demander une bourse prestigieuse de la Société canadienne du cancer

15 janvier 2015

Toronto -


Les Bourses d'études Gertrude et LeRoy Rellinger pour les jeunes bénévoles ont été créées pour reconnaître les jeunes bénévoles qui ont eu un gros impact dans le combat contre le cancer. Grâce à la générosité d'une dame ayant perdu son mari suite à un cancer, la Société canadienne du cancer remet annuellement deux bourses à des jeunes étudiants bénévoles pour la Société.

« Les jeunes participent à tous les aspects du travail de la Société canadienne du cancer », explique Cathy Hall, directrice, engagement bénévole, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario. « Qu'ils participent à des conseils de leadership pour les jeunes, qu'ils organisent des activités de défense de l'intérêt public ou de promotion de la santé, ou qu'ils participent à des initiatives de collecte de fonds dans la communauté, les jeunes sont très impliqués au sein de la Société », ajoute Mme Hall.

Le programme de Bourses d'études Gertrude et LeRoy Rellinger pour les jeunes bénévoles de la  Société canadienne du cancer est une occasion de reconnaître les jeunes bénévoles et de les aider à devenir des leaders communautaires. Une possibilité de deux bourses d'une valeur de 5 000 $ chacune sont remises aux bénévoles de la Société âgés de 21 ou moins et commençant leurs études post-secondaires. Le processus de demande de bourses commence le 15 janvier et se termine le 15 mars 2015. Les récipiendaires des bourses seront choisis d'ici la mi-mai.

Les jeunes peuvent faire une demande en ligne en soumettant les détails sur leur bénévolat auprès de la Société, le nom de leur partenaire au sein du personnel et des renseignements sur leurs plans d'études post-secondaires. Un énoncé d'impact personnel décrivant la différence qu'ils croient que leur bénévolat a fait dans le combat contre le cancer est aussi requis. Les récipiendaires sont sélectionnés en se basant sur leurs contributions et leur engagement à éradiquer le cancer et à améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer et leur famille.

Pour connaître les possibilités de bénévolat auprès de la Société pour les jeunes, pour en apprendre davantage sur les Bourses d'études Gertrude et LeRoy Rellinger pour les jeunes bénévoles ou pour présenter une demande, visitez cancer.ca.


La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides
Coordonnatrice, Communications
Société canadienne du cancer
Division de l'Ontario
Téléphone : 416-323-7039

Renseignements :

Stephanie Michaelides

Communications Coordinator

Société canadienne du cancer

Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7039