This New Year, make a resolution to help someone quit smoking

15 December 2014

TORONTO -

One of the most common New Year’s resolutions is quitting smoking but most smokers are addicted to nicotine, making quitting difficult.  Research shows that the support of friends and family can make the difference when it comes to quitting successfully.  As part of the launch of its ninth Driven to Quit Challenge, the Canadian Cancer Society is sharing some tools and tips to arm Ontarians to help their loved ones quit smoking.

“Strategies such as nagging or guilt trips don't typically work in getting people to make changes,” says John Atkinson, Director, Cancer Prevention and Tobacco Control, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “But a tool that friends and family can use to start a positive conversation about quitting smoking is offering to be a buddy for the Driven to Quit Challenge.”

The Society’s Driven to Quit Challenge is a health promotion campaign in association with McNeil Consumer Healthcare, a division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., the makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®.  The challenge is designed to motivate adult Ontario tobacco users to quit smoking or other forms of tobacco for the month of March for the chance to win a car or cash prizes. Signing up with a support buddy is encouraged.  This year’s grand prize of a car is provided by Parkway Motors of Hamilton, Ontario.  

“As it often takes a smoker several attempts to beat tobacco addiction for good, every quit attempt is important,” emphasizes Atkinson. “The encouragement of family and friends can be an influential part of the quit process and we want to ensure that all quit buddies have the knowledge and tools they need to provide the best support possible.”

While it's important to remember that no one can make someone quit smoking, the Canadian Cancer Society offers the following tips on how to be a great support for someone making a quit attempt:

  • Bring up smoking in a non-judgmental way that shows you are genuinely concerned for their well-being and recognize that quitting is not always an easy thing to do.
  • Ask how you can help. It will show you care and that you really want to support your friend or loved one.
  • Show them that you believe in them and let your friend or loved one know that you will be there for the ups and downs.
  • Encourage them to access free resources proven to help people quit, such as the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline (SmokersHelpline.ca).
  • Give them an added incentive or a goal to work towards, such as the chance to win a car by signing up for the Driven to Quit Challenge (DriventoQuit.ca)

Registration for the Driven to Quit Challenge is open until February 28, 2015. All participants receive discount coupons for NICODERM® or NICORETTE® nicotine replacement therapy products.  Entrants who register with a support buddy will receive a second entry into the grand prize draw, doubling their chances of winning.  Registered support buddies are also eligible to win a prize.  To enter and for more details about the Challenge, go to DriventoQuit.ca or call the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline at 1 877-513-5333. 

Since 2006, the Driven to Quit Challenge has inspired more than 213,000 quit attempts in Ontario.

Facts about quitting smoking
  • The majority of smokers in Ontario want to quit[1] and know that it is the number one thing that they can do for their health.
  • It often requires several attempts to beat tobacco addiction for good. The Ontario Tobacco Research Unit suggests that it takes the average smoker 30 tries to quit successfully.[2]  This means that every quit attempt is important.
  • Research shows if people who smoke can stop for one month they are 5 times more likely to be able to remain smoke-free for good.[3]
  • Quitlines, such as Smokers’ Helpline, greatly increase the chances that a smoker will quit, more than doubling the chances of quitting successfully.[4]
  • Quitline support combined with medication (such as nicotine replacement therapy) can more than triple the chances of quitting successfully.[5]
About the Driven to Quit Challenge

The Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division’s Driven to Quit Challenge is a health promotion campaign intended to motivate Ontario smokers and tobacco users to make a quit attempt with the support of a “buddy”. Entrants who remain tobacco free for the month of March 2015 are eligible to win a car or cash prizes. Participants are encouraged to take advantage of the free support services of Smokers’ Helpline and all entrants receive discount coupons for Nicorette or Nicoderm nicotine replacement therapy products. The Challenge is in association with McNeil Consumer Healthcare, a division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®.  The grand prize sponsor is Parkway Motors of Hamilton, Ontario.   

About the Canadian Cancer Society Smokers’ Helpline

Smokers’ Helpline is a free service that provides personalized support, advice and information about quitting smoking and tobacco use. Operated by the Canadian Cancer Society and funded by the Government of Ontario, Smokers’ Helpline offers support by telephone, online and text messaging.  To learn more, call 1 877-513-5333 or the number on cigarette packages or SmokersHelpline.ca.

About the Canadian Cancer Society

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca.

About McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc.

McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc. markets a broad range of well-known and trusted over-the-counter products. McNeil Consumer Healthcare is most widely recognized for the TYLENOL® brand. Other McNeil Consumer Healthcare brands include NICODERM® and NICORETTE® Nicotine Replacement Therapies,  BENADRYL® and REACTINE® allergy medicines; IMODIUM® anti-diarrheal; PEPCID® and ZANTAC® for digestive health, and  MOTRIN® Ibuprofen.

-30-

Media Contacts

Daniel Paquette, PR counsel

dpPR

416 413-7714

dp@dppr.ca

Or

Jason Chapman, Senior Manager, Communications

Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division

416-323-7132

jchapman@ontario.cancer.ca



[1] Ontario Tobacco Research Unit. Smoke-Free Ontario Strategy Monitoring Report. Toronto: Ontario Tobacco Research Unit, Special Report, January 2014.

[2] Ontario Tobacco Research Unit. Quitting Smoking in Ontario: Findings from the Ontario Tobacco Research Unit. November 2013.

[3] West, R, Stapleton, J., Clinical and public health significance of treatments to aid smoking cessation. European Respiratory Reveview, December 1, 2008 vol. 17  no. 110  199-204.

[4] Fiore, MC, et al., Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: 2008 Update—Clinical Practice Guideline, U.S. Public Health Service, May 2008.

[5] Ibid.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization dedicated to preventing cancer, saving lives and supporting people living with cancer through research funding, services and advocacy. We are Canada’s largest charity fighting all types of cancer and leading authority on cancer statistics and information. To learn more, call 1 888 939-3333 or visit www.cancer.ca.

Au Nouvel An, prenez la résolution d'aider quelqu'un à cesser de fumer

15 décembre 2014

Toronto -

Une des résolutions du Nouvel An les plus courantes est de cesser de fumer mais la plupart des fumeurs sont dépendants de la nicotine, ce qui rend l'abandon difficile. La recherche démontre que le soutien d'amis et de membres de la famille peut faire une différence pour réussir à cesser de fumer. Dans le cadre du lancement de son neuvième défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette, la Société canadienne du cancer offre des outils et des conseils pour habiliter les Ontariens à aider leurs proches à cesser de fumer.

« Des stratégies comme le harcèlement ou la culpabilisation ne fonctionnent généralement pas pour que les gens apportent des changements », dit John Atkinson, directeur, prévention du cancer et lutte contre le tabagisme, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario. « Mais un outil que les amis et la famille peuvent utiliser pour entamer une conversation positive sur l'abandon du tabac est d'offrir d'être un copain pendant le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette. »

Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette de la Société est une campagne de promotion de la santé présenté en association avec Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®. Le défi est conçu pour motiver les adultes ontariens usagers du tabac à cesser de fumer ou d'utiliser d'autres types de tabac pendant le mois de mars et courir la chance de gagner une voiture ou des prix en argent. Nous encourageons les gens à s'inscrire avec un copain qui les soutiendra. Le grand prix de cette année, une voiture, est offert par Parkway Motors d'Hamilton, Ontario.  

« Étant donné qu'il faut souvent plusieurs tentatives pour vaincre la dépendance au tabac pour de bon, chaque tentative d'abandon est importante », ajoute M. Atkinson. « L'encouragement de la famille et des amis peut influencer le processus d'abandon et nous désirons nous assurer que tous les copains dans l'abandon possèdent les connaissances et les outils nécessaires pour offrir le meilleur soutien possible. »

Bien qu'il soit important de se rappeler que personne ne peut forcer quelqu'un à cesser, la Société canadienne du cancer offre les conseils suivant sur la façon d'offrir un excellent soutien à une personne qui essaie de cesser de fumer.

  • Mentionnez le tabagisme sans porter de jugement pour montrer que vous vous préoccupez vraiment de son bien-être et que vous reconnaissez qu'il n'est pas toujours facile de cesser.
  • Demandez comment vous pouvez aider. Cela démontrera que vous vous souciez de votre ami ou proche et que vous désirez vraiment le soutenir.
  • Montrez à votre ami ou proche que vous croyez en lui et dites-lui que vous serez là pour les hauts et les bas.
  • Encouragez-le à accéder aux ressources gratuites dont il a été prouvé qu'elles aident les gens à cesser, comme Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer.
  • Donnez-lui une autre mesure incitative ou un but à atteindre, comme la chance de gagner une voiture en s'inscrivant au défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette (defijarrete.ca).

L'inscription au défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette est ouverte jusqu'au 28 février 2015. Tous les participants reçoivent un coupon rabais pour l'achat de produits de thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® ou NICORETTE®. Les participants qui s'inscrivent avec un copain recevront une deuxième chance au tirage du grand prix, doublant ainsi leurs chances de gagner. Les copains inscrits sont également admissibles à gagner un prix.  Pour s'inscrire ou pour plus de détails sur le Défi, visitez www.defijarrete.ca ou téléphonez à Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer au 1-877-513-5333. 

Depuis 2006, le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette a inspiré plus de 213 000 tentatives d'abandon en Ontario.

Faits sur l'abandon du tabac

  • La majorité des fumeurs en Ontario désirent cesser[1] et savent qu'il s'agit de la principale chose qu'ils peuvent faire pour leur santé.
  • Il faut souvent plusieurs tentatives pour vaincre la dépendance au tabac pour de bon. L'Unité de recherche sur le tabac de l'Ontario suggère que le fumeur moyen doit faire 30 tentatives avant de réussir à cesser.[2] Cela signifie que chaque tentative d'abandon est importante.
  • La recherche démontre que si les gens peuvent cesser de fumer pendant un mois, il est 5 fois plus probable qu'ils puissent demeurer non-fumeurs pour de bon.[3]
  • Les lignes d'aide, comme Téléassistance pour fumeurs, augmentent grandement les chances d'abandon et les chances de réussite sont plus que doublées.[4]
  • Le soutien d'une ligne d'aide combiné à un médicament (comme une thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine) peut plus que tripler les chances de réussite.[5]

À propos du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette

Le défi Mettre un Frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario est une campagne de promotion de la santé conçue pour motiver les adultes ontariens fumeurs et usagers du tabac à faire une tentative d'abandon avec le soutien d’un « copain ». Les participants qui demeurent sans tabac pendant le mois de mars 2015 sont admissibles à gagner une voiture ou des prix en argent. Les participants sont encouragés à profiter du soutien gratuit offert par Téléassistance pour fumeurs et tous les participants reçoivent un coupon rabais pour l'achat de produits de thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine Nicorette ou Nicoderm. Le Défi est présenté en association avec Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®. Le commanditaire du grand prix est Parkway Motors d'Hamilton, Ontario.   

À propos de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer

Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit offrant un soutien personnalisé, des conseils et de l'information sur l'abandon du tabac et l'usage du tabac. Administré par la Société canadienne du cancer et financé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, Téléassistance pour fumeurs offre du soutien au téléphone, en ligne et par messagerie texte. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-877-513-5333 ou le numéro sur les paquets de cigarettes ou www.teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l'Ontario

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, voué à prévenir le cancer, à sauver des vies et à appuyer les personnes vivant avec le cancer par le biais du financement de la recherche, des services et de la défense de l'intérêt public. Nous sommes le plus important organisme de bienfaisance au Canada luttant contre tous les types de cancer et chef de file en matière de statistiques et d'information sur le cancer. Pour plus d'information, composez le 1-888-939-3333 ou visitez cancer.ca.

À propos de Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc.

Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc. offre une grande variété de produits en vente libre bien connus et fiables. Soins-santé grand public McNeil est la plus reconnue pour la marque TYLENOL®. D’autres produits de Soins-santé grand public McNeil comprennent les thérapies de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® et NICORETTE®, les médicaments contre les allergies BENADRYL® et REACTINE®; l’antidiarrhéique IMODIUM®; PEPCID® et ZANTAC® pour la santé digestive, et l’ibuprofène MOTRIN®.


[1] Ontario Tobacco Research Unit. Smoke-Free Ontario Strategy Monitoring Report. Toronto: Ontario Tobacco Research Unit, Special Report, January 2014.

[3] West, R, Stapleton, J., Clinical and public health significance of treatments to aid smoking cessation. European Respiratory Reveview, December 1, 2008 vol. 17  no. 110  199-204.

[4] Fiore, MC, et al., Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: 2008 Update—Clinical Practice Guideline, U.S. Public Health Service, May 2008.

[5] Ibid.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026