Using 3D to fine-tune breast cancer surgery and save lives

29 September 2014

OTTAWA -

An Ottawa scientist has been awarded an Innovation Grant from the Canadian Cancer Society to examine the most accurate way to assess cancer removal after surgery. This first-of-its-kind study could lead to significantly improved outcomes for thousands of women undergoing breast cancer surgery as well as improve surgical practices for other types of cancer.

Recognizing the immediate need for this type of research, the Canadian Cancer Society has partnered with the Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation to co-fund this work.

Dr Angel Arnaout, a surgical oncologist specializing in breast cancer at The Ottawa Hospital and a Clinician Investigator at The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, has received $130,000 for her study that uses 3D technology to determine the most precise procedure to assess cancer removal after surgery, which could mean less chance of recurrence, fewer repeat surgeries and less stress on patients.

Each year, more than 23,000 women are diagnosed with breast cancer in Canada and most will require surgery. During surgery, complete removal of all of the breast cancer which includes a rim of normal tissue around it — a clear margin — is crucial for preventing the recurrence of cancer.

Current methods to assess surgical margins are inconsistent, ambiguous, imprecise and widely varied. Incomplete surgical removal of cancer is the main cause for recurrence in breast cancer. And each year, 25% to 45% of breast cancer patients need additional surgeries to remove more breast tissue because the first surgery wasn’t complete and the tissue was not assessed properly.

Inconsistency in determining margins can result in additional surgeries, higher emotional distress for patients, delays in subsequent therapy and increases in health care costs.

“I am grateful to the Canadian Cancer Society for funding my work and I believe this creative approach to improving breast surgery will not only lead to better quality of life for Canadian breast cancer patients but also improve how we practice surgery for patients with other types of cancer,” says Dr Arnaout.

“We’re committed to investing in innovative research that takes a bold approach to cancer research, to help generate new ways to look at the cancer puzzle and find more effective treatments for patients,” says Dr Siân Bevan, Director of Research, Canadian Cancer Society. “The results of this study could be practice changing and may have enormous implications for patients and the health care system.”

The Society wouldn’t be able to fund innovative research such as this without the generous support of donors. For information about the Society’s fundraising and awareness activities during Breast Cancer Awareness Month, visit cancer.ca/fightbreastcancer

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Utilisation de la technologie 3D pour affiner la chirurgie du cancer du sein et sauver des vies

29 septembre 2014

Ottawa -

Une scientifique d'Ottawa a reçu une Subvention pour l'innovation de la Société canadienne du cancer pour examiner la manière la plus précise d'évaluer l'ablation du cancer après la chirurgie. Cette étude, première en son genre, pourrait mener à des résultats grandement améliorés pour des milliers de femmes subissant une chirurgie pour un cancer du sein ainsi qu'à des améliorations des pratiques de la chirurgie pour d'autres types de cancer.

Reconnaissant le besoin immédiat de ce type de recherche, la Société canadienne du cancer s'est associée à la Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation pour co-financer ce travail.

La Dre Angel Arnaout, chirurgienne oncologue spécialisée en cancer du sein à L'Hôpital d'Ottawa et clinicienne-chercheuse à l'Institut de recherche de l'Hôpital d'Ottawa, a reçu 130 000 $ pour son étude qui utilise la technologie 3D pour déterminer la procédure la plus précise pour évaluer l'ablation du cancer après la chirurgie, ce qui pourrait signifier moins de récidive, moins de chirurgie et moins de stress pour les patientes.

Chaque année, plus de 23 000 femmes reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer du sein au Canada et la plupart subiront une chirurgie. Pendant la chirurgie, l'ablation complète de tout le cancer du sein qui inclut une zone des tissus normaux autour du cancer, une marge saine, est très importante pour prévenir la récidive du cancer.

Les méthodes actuelles pour évaluer les marges chirurgicales sont irrégulières, ambigües, imprécises et très variées. L'ablation chirurgicale incomplète du cancer est la principale cause de récidive du cancer du sein. Et chaque année, 25 % à 45 % des patientes ayant le cancer du sein ont besoin de chirurgies supplémentaires pour procéder à l'ablation de plus de tissus mammaires car la première chirurgie n'a pas été complète et les tissus n'ont pas bien été évalués.

L'incohérence à déterminer les marges peut entraîner des chirurgies supplémentaires, une plus grande détresse émotionnelle pour les patientes, des délais pour obtenir les traitements suivants et une augmentation des coûts de soins de santé.

« Je suis très reconnaissante envers la Société canadienne du cancer de son financement de mon travail et je crois que cette approche créative pour améliorer la chirurgie du sein mènera non seulement à une meilleure qualité de vie pour les Canadiennes ayant un cancer du sein mais aussi à une amélioration des méthodes chirurgicales pour des personnes atteintes d'autres types de cancer » dit la Dre Arnaout.

« Nous sommes engagés à investir dans la recherche novatrice sur le cancer qui prend une approche audacieuse, afin de déterminer de nouvelles manières d’examiner le casse-tête du cancer et de découvrir des traitements plus efficaces pour les patients », dit la Dre Siân Bevan, directrice de la recherche, Société canadienne du cancer. « Les résultats de cette étude pourraient changer la pratique et avoir d'énormes répercussions pour les patients et le système de soins de santé. »

La Société ne pourrait pas financer la recherche novatrice comme celle-ci sans le généreux soutien des donateurs. Pour plus d'information sur les activités de collecte de fonds et de sensibilisation de la Société pendant le Mois de la sensibilisation au cancer du sein, visitez cancer.ca/combatcancerdusein.

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026