Canadian Cancer Society honours leading tobacco control scientist with prestigious cancer research award

23 May 2014

TORONTO -

Dr David HammondThe Canadian Cancer Society is honouring a University of Waterloo scientist with one of its prestigious Awards for Excellence in Cancer Research.

Dr David Hammond is the recipient of the William E. Rawls Prize for the remarkable impact he has made in cancer prevention at an early stage in his career. He is recognized around the world as a leading expert in tobacco control research, particularly tobacco packaging and warning labels.

“I am honoured to receive this award,” says Dr Hammond. “The Canadian Cancer Society has been an important funder of my work for the last four years and I’m grateful for the Society’s support of my research and cancer prevention research in general.”

Since starting his independent career in 2005, Dr Hammond has served as an advisor for tobacco control policies and guidelines around the world as well as an expert witness in legal challenges from tobacco companies in Canada, Australia and the UK.

Dr Hammond’s other research interests include evaluating nutrition labelling on menus and prepackaged foods to reduce obesity and improve health. The Society has supported Dr Hammond’s research with funding of more than $526,000 since 2010

“We’re proud to honour Dr Hammond who has achieved so much in such an early stage in his career,” says Martin Kabat, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “Already in his career, Dr Hammond’s work has had impact on policies that will improve the health of Canadians and prevent cancer in Canada as well as internationally.”

“We couldn’t support such a remarkable researcher without the generous support of our donors and volunteers,” says Kabat.

About the William E. Rawls Prize

The William E. Rawls Prize is given to a young investigator whose work has led to important advances in cancer control within the past decade. Dr Rawls served on numerous committees and advisory groups of the former National Cancer Institute of Canada and was elected president in 1986. His research focused on viruses, particularly those involved in chronic diseases and cervical cancer. The award comes with a $20,000 contribution to the recipient’s research program. To learn more about the national Awards for Excellence, visit Canadian Cancer Society National Research Awards .

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

A A A

La Société canadienne du cancer remet un prix prestigieux de recherche sur le cancer à un scientifique expert dans la lutte antitabac

23 mai 2014

Toronto -

Dr David HammondLa Société canadienne du cancer remet à un scientifique de l’Université de Waterloo un de ses prestigieux prix d’excellence en recherche sur le cancer.

Le Dr David Hammond est le récipiendaire du Prix William E. Rawls pour souligner son impact remarquable dans la prévention du cancer très tôt dans sa carrière. Il est reconnu mondialement comme expert du domaine de la lutte antitabac, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux emballages et aux étiquettes de mises en garde.

« Je suis honoré de recevoir ce prix », dit le Dr Hammond. « La Société canadienne du cancer a été une source importante de financement pour mon travail depuis quatre ans et je suis reconnaissant envers la Société qui soutient ma recherche et la recherche sur la prévention du cancer en général. »

Depuis qu’il a débuté sa carrière indépendante en 2005, le Dr Hammond a joué un rôle-conseil pour l’élaboration de politiques et de lignes directrices sur la lutte antitabac à l’échelle mondiale et a servi de témoin expert lors de contestations judiciaires des lois sur la santé publique intentées par les fabricants de tabac au Canada, au Royaume-Uni et en Australie.

Les autres intérêts de recherche du Dr Hammond comprennent l’évaluation de l’étiquetage nutritionnel sur les menus et les aliments préemballés pour réduire l’obésité et améliorer la santé. La Société a appuyé la recherche du Dr Hammond grâce à des subventions de plus de 529 000 $ depuis 2010.

« Nous sommes fiers d’honorer le Dr Hammond qui a réalisé beaucoup si tôt dans sa carrière », dit Matin Kabat, chef de la direction, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Le travail du Dr Hammond a déjà eu un impact sur les politiques qui amélioreront la santé des Canadiens et aideront à prévenir le cancer au Canada et à l’échelle mondiale.

« Nous ne pourrions pas subventionner un tel chercheur sans le soutien généreux de nos donateurs et de nos bénévoles », ajoute M. Kabat.

À propos du Prix William E. Rawls
Le Prix William E. Rawls est décerné à un jeune chercheur dont les travaux ont mené à des développements importants dans la lutte contre le cancer au cours des dix dernières années, ce prix rend hommage au Dr Rawls, qui a siégé à de nombreux comités et groupes consultatifs de l’ex-Institut national du cancer du Canada, dont il a été élu président en 1986. Ses recherches ont porté sur les virus, surtout les virus reliés aux maladies chroniques et au cancer du col utérin. Le prix est assorti d'une contribution de 20 000 $ aux recherches du récipiendaire. Pour en apprendre davantage sur les Prix d’excellence nationaux, visitez Prix scientifiques nationaux décernés par la Société canadienne du cancer.

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer subventionne les meilleures recherches sur le cancer au Canada grâce à nos généreux donateurs et à notre processus de sélection rigoureux. Nous sommes l'organisme de bienfaisance national qui finance le plus la recherche sur le cancer au Canada. Nous subventionnons des centaines de chercheurs dans les universités, les hôpitaux et les centres de recherche. Ensemble, nous découvrons de nouvelles façons de sauver plus de vies. Pour plus d'information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d'information sur le cancer au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1 866 786-3934).

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026