A A A

The Society celebrates passage of Ontario’s Leave for Family Caregivers

29 April 2014

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society celebrates the passing of legislation that will provide job security for family caregivers who take time to care for loved ones with a serious medical condition.

Bill 21, Employment Standards Amendment Act (Leaves to Help Families), 2013 finished third reading and was passed in the Ontario Legislature today. Family Caregiver Leave entitles employees to take an additional leave of absence to what is currently allowed under Family Medical Leave, without pay, to provide care or support to a family member with a serious medical condition.

“We thank all MPPs for passing this important legislation that will now allow Ontarians who need to take leave from work to care for a family member with cancer, the ability to concentrate on supporting their loved ones instead of worrying about losing their jobs," says Rowena Pinto, Vice President, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “While we would like to see progress towards a paid leave, protected leave is a great step to help ease the burden.”

Influencing municipal, provincial and federal government to pass public policies that will help prevent cancer and help people living with cancer is a vital part of the Society’s fight against cancer.

FACTS:

• In 2007, there were 2.7 million caregivers over the age of 45 in Canada.

• Between 2002 and 2007 the number of family caregivers over the age of 45 increased by 30 per cent. This is an increase of approximately 670,000 people and the majority, 77 per cent, of family caregivers are women.

• Twenty-three per cent of Canadians have cared for a family member or close friend with a serious health problem in the past 12 months.

• Up to 85 per cent of all palliative care in Canada is provided by family members.

• A family caregiver loses approximately 23 per cent of their workable hours.

• In 2012, cancer was identified as the second highest need for caregiving (11%) and cancer was the main reason behind spousal caregiving (17%).

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société célèbre l’adoption du projet de loi sur les congés pour aider les familles

29 avril 2014

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer célèbre l’adoption d’une loi qui offrira la sécurité d’emploi aux aidants naturels qui prennent congé pour s’occuper de leurs proches souffrant d’un problème de santé grave.

Le projet de loi 21, Loi de 2013 modifiant la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (congés pour aider les familles), est passé à la troisième lecture et a été adopté à l’assemblée législative de l’Ontario aujourd’hui. Le congé pour aidant naturel permet aux employés de prendre plus de congés que ce qui est présentement permis par les congés familiaux pour raisons médicales, non rémunérés, pour prendre soin ou appuyer un membre de la famille gravement malade.

« Nous remercions tous les députés provinciaux d’avoir adopté cette loi importante qui permettra maintenant aux Ontariens qui doivent s’absenter du travail pour prendre soin d’un proche ayant un cancer, de pouvoir se concentrer sur leur proche plutôt que de se préoccuper de perdre leur emploi », dit Rowena Pinto, vice-présente, Affaires publiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Même si nous souhaitons que cette mesure législative débouche sur un congé payé, la sécurité d’emploi aidera grandement à soulager le fardeau. »

Une partie essentielle du combat de la Société contre le cancer est d’influencer les gouvernements municipaux, provincial et fédéral pour qu’ils adoptent des politiques publiques qui aideront à prévenir le cancer et aideront les personnes touchées par le cancer.

FAITS :

  • En 2007, il y avait 2,7 millions d’aidants âgés de plus de 45 ans au Canada.
  • Entre 2002 et 2007, le nombre d’aidants naturels de plus de 45 ans a augmenté de 30 %. Ceci représente une augmentation d’environ 670 000 personnes et la majorité des aidants, 77 %, sont des femmes.
  • Vingt-trois pour cent des Canadiens ont pris soin d’un membre de la famille ou d’un ami souffrant d’un problème de santé grave au cours des 12 derniers mois.
  • Jusqu’à 85 % de tous les soins palliatifs au Canada sont fournis par les membres des familles.
  • Un aidant naturel perd environ 23 % de ses heures de travail potentielles.
  • En 2012, le cancer a été identifié comme étant la deuxième principale raison pour le besoin d’aidant (11 %) et le cancer était la principale raison de prodiguer des soins à un conjoint (17 %).  

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1 866 786-3934).

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026