Canadian Cancer Society marks National Day of Mourning

28 April 2014

Toronto -

Today, the Society marks the National Day of Mourning to commemorate workers who have been killed or injured on the job, or who have fallen ill as a result of their work.

The Society is very concerned about occupational cancers and believes that workers should be protected from exposure to carcinogens in the workplace. Where exposure cannot be eliminated, it should be reduced to the lowest possible level.

Through research funded by the Society, we are leading the way in understanding the human and economic burden of workplace exposures in the hopes that one day, we will better inform industry leaders and policy makers about how to protect workers and ultimately prevent occupational cancers.

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Susan Fekete

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 613-565-2522 ext 4985

La Société souligne le Jour de deuil national

28 avril 2014

Toronto -

Aujourd'hui, la Société canadienne du cancer souligne le Jour de deuil national pour se souvenir des travailleurs tués ou blessés au travail, ou qui sont tombés malades en raison de leur travail.

La Société se préoccupe beaucoup des cancers professionnels et croit que les travailleurs devraient être protégés contre une exposition aux carcinogènes sur le lieu de travail. Lorsqu’il est impossible d’éliminer l’exposition, celle-ci devrait être réduite à son niveau le plus bas possible.  

Grâce à la recherche financée par la Société, nous sommes des leaders en ce qui a trait à la compréhension du fardeau des expositions professionnels sur l’humain et l’économie dans l’espoir qu’un jour nous informerons mieux les leaders de l’industrie et les décisionnaires sur la façon de protéger les travailleurs et en fin de compte, de prévenir les cancers professionnels.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1 866 786-3934).

 

 

Renseignements :

Susan Fekete

Gestionnaire, Communications

Société canadienne du cancer

Téléphone : 613 565-2522 poste : 4985