Thunder Bay grand prize winner drives to tobacco-free life

28 April 2014

TORONTO -

Grand Prize winner Ralph BaxterTwo Thunder Bay residents are winners after staying smoke-free for the month of March, with the support of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline.

Ralph Baxter is the Grand Prize winner and Kasey Patola is a regional winner in the Canadian Cancer Society’s Driven to Quit Challenge, presented by McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., the makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®.

Ralph, 45, was awarded his prize — a Dodge Journey —at a prize presentation today at the Valhalla Inn in Thunder Bay.

“Winning a new car is fantastic but my real prize is that I succeeded in not smoking for one month,” says Ralph, who started smoking at age 11. “I’m proud of this achievement and it gives me the motivation to keep going and stay tobacco-free.”

The evidence supports Ralph and the more than 11,300 others who participated in the Challenge this year. Research demonstrates that, if smokers can stop for one month, they are five times more likely to be able to remain smoke-free for good.

Ralph was inspired to take the Driven to Quit Challenge because he lost his brother to cancer seven years ago. He thought about his children and grandchildren and decided to take the challenge because he was concerned about his own health.

“Think of your loved ones,” he advises anyone thinking about quitting smoking.

Seven regional winners, including Kasey, were also each awarded $1,000 each for completing the Driven to Quit Challenge.

The Driven to Quit Challenge is a health promotion campaign that encourages Ontario adults who are daily tobacco users to take on the challenge of quitting smoking with the support of a “buddy” for the chance to win a car and other prizes. Winners are required to quit smoking for the month of March and verify their tobacco-free status to be eligible for their prizes. Since 2006, the Driven to Quit Challenge has inspired more than 213,000 Ontarians to make a quit attempt.

“Many people want to quit smoking but need the support we provide through our Smokers’ Helpline and some benefit from the extra incentive of a prize to take that important step forward,” says John Atkinson, Director, Tobacco Control and Cancer Prevention, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “We congratulate all those who participated in this year’s Driven to Quit Challenge and hope you continue on the path to tobacco-free health.”

“Congratulations to everyone who took an important step in improving their health and wellness by participating in the Challenge,” says Shelley Kohut, Director, Communications, Public Relations. “McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE® Nicotine Replacement products has been a proud sponsor of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Driven to Quit Challenge since 2006. We are committed to providing smokers with clinically proven, safe and effective nicotine replacement products in a broad choice of formats to support each individual’s personal journey to becoming tobacco and nicotine free.”

About the Driven to Quit Challenge

The Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division’s Driven to Quit Challenge, presented by McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®, is a health promotion campaign that is intended to motivate adult Ontario tobacco users to quit smoking or other forms of tobacco for one month with the help of a support “buddy” for their chance to win a grand prize of a car. Participants are encouraged to access Smokers’ Helpline and Smokers’ Helpline Online for cessation support. To claim a prize, selected winners must demonstrate that they have remained tobacco-free for the month of March 2014.

About Canadian Cancer Society Smokers’ Helpline

Smokers’ Helpline is a free, confidential service that provides personalized support, advice and information about quitting smoking and tobacco use. Operated by the Canadian Cancer Society and funded by the Government of Ontario, Smokers’ Helpline has three ways to help Ontarians quit: phone support, online program and text messaging at 1-877-513-5333 and SmokersHelpline.ca.  

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Le gagnant du grand prix prend le volant vers une vie sans fumée à Thunder Bay

28 avril 2014

Toronto -

Grand Prize winner Ralph BaxterDeux résidents de Thunder Bay ressortent gagnants après être demeurés sans fumée pendant le mois de mars, avec le soutien de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer.

Ralph Baxter est le gagnant du grand prix et Kasey Patola est la gagnante régionale du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, présenté par Soins-santé grand public McNeil, division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®.

Ralph, âgé de 45 ans, a reçu son prix, une Dodge Journey, lors d’une présentation aujourd’hui au Valhalla Inn à Thunder Bay.

« Gagner une nouvelle auto est fantastique mais mon vrai prix est que j’ai réussi à ne pas fumer pendant un mois », dit Ralph, qui a commencé à fumer à 11 ans. « Je suis fier de ce succès et il me donne la motivation de continuer et de rester sans fumée. »

Les preuves appuient Ralph et les quelque 11 300 participants au Défi de cette année. La recherche démontre que, si un fumeur peut cesser pendant un mois, il a cinq fois plus de chances d’être capable de rester non-fumeur pour de bon.

Ralph a été inspiré à relever le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette parce qu’il a perdu son frère il y a sept ans suite à un cancer. Il a pensé à ses enfants et à ses petits-enfants et a décidé de relever le défi parce qu’il se préoccupait de sa propre santé.

« Pensez à vos êtres chers », conseille-t-il à quiconque pense à cesser de fumer.

Sept gagnantes régionales, y compris Kasey, ont également reçu 1 000 $ chacune pour avoir complété le Défi.

Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette est une campagne de promotion de la santé qui encourage les adultes Ontariens qui utilisent quotidiennement des produits du tabac à relever le défi de cesser de fumer avec le soutien d’un « copain » et courir la chance de gagner une voiture et d’autres prix. Les gagnants doivent cesser de fumer pendant le mois de mars et confirmer leur statut de non-fumeur pour admissibles aux prix. Depuis 2006, Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette a inspiré plus de 213 000 Ontariens à essayer de cesser de fumer.

« Beaucoup de personnes désirent cesser de fumer mais ont besoin du soutien que nous offrons par le biais de notre programme Téléassistance pour fumeurs et certaines profitent de cette mesure incitative supplémentaire pour faire ce pas important », dit John Atkinson, directeur, Lutte contre le tabagisme et prévention du cancer, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Nous félicitons tous les participants au Défi de cette année et espérons que vous continuerez à vivre sans fumée. »

« Félicitations à tous ceux et celles qui ont fait ce pas important pour améliorer leur santé et leur mieux-être en participant au Défi », dit Shelley Kohut, directrice, Communications, Relations publiques. « Soins-santé grand public McNeil, division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants des produits de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® et NICORETTE® est le fier commanditaire du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer depuis 2006. Nous sommes engagés à fournir aux fumeurs des produits de remplacement de la nicotine éprouvés, sécuritaires et efficaces dans un grand choix de formats afin d’aider chaque personne dans son cheminement vers une vie sans tabac ni nicotine. »

À propos du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette
Le défi Mettre un Frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario, présenté par Soins-santé grand public McNeil, division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®, est une campagne de promotion de la santé conçue pour motiver les adultes ontariens usagers du tabac à cesser de fumer ou d’utiliser d’autres formes de tabac pendant un mois avec le soutien d’un « copain » et ainsi courir la chance de gagner le grand prix consistant en une voiture. Les participants sont encouragés à accéder à Téléassistance pour fumeurs et à Téléassistance pour fumeurs en ligne pour obtenir du soutien. Pour réclamer un prix, les gagnants choisis doivent démontrer qu’ils sont demeurés sans tabac pendant le mois de mars 2014.

À propos de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer
Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit et confidentiel qui offre un soutien personnalisé, des conseils et de l’information sur l’abandon du tabac et l’usage du tabac. Administré par la Société canadienne du cancer et financé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, Téléassistance pour fumeurs offre trois manières d’aider les Ontariens à cesser : soutien au téléphone, programme en ligne et messagerie texte à 1-877-513-5333 et teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca.

 

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, visitez le www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026