Best chance to quit smoking. Last chance to win.

19 February 2014

TORONTO -

Quitting smoking is the single most important thing someone can do to prevent cancer and there’s never been a better time to quit than right now.

February 28 is the final day to register for the Canadian Cancer Society’s Driven to Quit Challenge, presented by McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., the makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®. The Challenge is a campaign to motivate adult Ontario tobacco users to quit smoking or other forms of tobacco for the month of March with the help of a support “buddy” for their chance to win a grand prize of a car and other cash prizes.

“The Driven to Quit Challenge offers great odds of winning because, not only does everyone who registers have a chance at winning the grand prize, they are a winner simply for taking this important step towards improving their health and wellness,” says John Atkinson, Director, Tobacco Control and Cancer Prevention. “And with supportive resources such as the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline, the Driven to Quit Challenge helps smokers in Ontario win by inspiring them to quit for good.”

Participants who stay smoke-free all month will be eligible to win a choice between a Dodge Avenger or a Dodge Journey or one of seven prizes of $1,000. Support buddies of winners each receive a $100 cash prize.

“We know that many smokers make five to seven attempts before they quit successfully and we want to give all participants the best possible support as they take this important step to a healthier lifestyle,” says Krista Scaldwell, Vice-President, Communications and Government Affairs at Johnson & Johnson Inc. “We’re committed to helping smokers with clinically proven, safe and effective nicotine replacement products.”

Driven to Quit Challenge participants can receive discount coupons towards the purchase of NICODERM® or NICORETTE®. Coupons are available while quantities last.

To register and for more information about The Driven to Quit Challenge, go to www.DrivenToQuit.ca or call the Canadian Cancer Society’s Smokers’ Helpline at 1-877-513-5333.

About the Driven to Quit Challenge

The Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division’s Driven to Quit Challenge, presented by McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc., makers of NICODERM® and NICORETTE®, is a health promotion campaign that is intended to motivate adult Ontario tobacco users to quit smoking or other forms of tobacco for one month with the help of a support “buddy” for their chance to win a grand prize of a car. Participants are encouraged to access Smokers’ Helpline and Smokers’ Helpline Online for cessation support. To claim a prize, selected winners must demonstrate that they have remained tobacco-free for the month of March 2014.

About the Canadian Cancer Society Smokers’ Helpline

Smokers’ Helpline is a free, confidential service that provides personalized support, advice and information about quitting smoking and tobacco use. Operated by the Canadian Cancer Society and funded by the Government of Ontario, Smokers’ Helpline has three ways to help Ontarians quit: phone support, online program and text messaging at 1-877-513-5333 and SmokersHelpline.ca.

About McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc.

McNeil Consumer Healthcare, division of Johnson & Johnson Inc. markets a broad range of well-known and trusted over-the-counter products. McNeil Consumer Healthcare is most widely recognized for the TYLENOL® brand. Other McNeil Consumer Healthcare brands include NICODERM® and NICORETTE® Nicotine Replacement Therapies,  BENADRYL® and REACTINE® allergy medicines; IMODIUM® anti-diarrheal; PEPCID® and ZANTAC® for digestive health, and  MOTRIN® Ibuprofen.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Meilleure chance de cesser de fumer. Dernière chance de gagner.

19 février 2014

Toronto -

Cesser de fumer est la chose la plus importante qu’une personne puisse faire pour prévenir le cancer et le moment pour cesser n’a jamais été mieux choisi.

Le 28 février est la dernière journée pour s’inscrire au défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, présenté par Soins-santé grand public McNeil, division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®. Le Défi est une campagne pour motiver les adultes ontariens usagers du tabac à cesser de fumer ou d’utiliser d’autres types de tabac pendant le mois de mars avec l’aide d’un copain dans l’abandon et ainsi courir la chance de gagner un grand prix consistant en une voiture et autres prix en argent.

« Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette offre de bonnes chances de gagner parce que, non seulement tous les participants ont une chance de gagner le grand prix, mais ils sont également gagnants pour avoir fait le pas important vers une meilleure santé et bien-être », dit John Atkinson, directeur, Lutte contre le tabac et prévention du cancer. « De plus, grâce aux ressources comme Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer, Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette aide les fumeurs en Ontario à gagner en les inspirant à cesser pour de bon. »

Les participants qui demeurent sans fumée tout le mois seront admissibles à gagner une Dodge Avenger ou une Dodge Journey à leur choix, ou un des sept prix de 1 000 $. Les copains des gagnants reçoivent chacun un prix de 100 $.

« Nous savons que beaucoup de fumeurs essaient de cinq à sept fois de cesser avant de réussir et nous désirons donner à tous les participants le meilleur soutien possible alors qu’ils font ce pas important vers un mode de vie plus sain », dit Krista Scaldwell, vice-présidente, Communications et affaires publiques, Johnson & Johnson Inc. « Nous sommes engagés à aider les fumeurs grâce à des produits de remplacement de la nicotine éprouvés en clinique, sécuritaires et efficaces. »

Les participants au défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette peuvent recevoir des coupons pour l’achat de NICODERM® ou NICORETTE®.

Pour vous inscrire ou pour plus d’information sur Le défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette, visitez www.defijarrete.ca ou téléphonez à Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer au 1-877-513-5333.

À propos du défi Mettre un frein à la cigarette

Le défi Mettre un Frein à la cigarette de la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario, présenté par Soins-santé grand public McNeil, division de Johnson & Johnson Inc., fabricants de NICODERM® et NICORETTE®, est une campagne de promotion de la santé conçue pour motiver les adultes ontariens usagers du tabac à cesser de fumer ou d’utiliser d’autres formes de tabac pendant un mois avec le soutien d’un « copain » et ainsi courir la chance de gagner le grand prix consistant en une voiture. Les participants sont encouragés à accéder à Téléassistance pour fumeurs et à Téléassistance pour fumeurs en ligne pour obtenir du soutien. Pour réclamer un prix, les gagnants choisis doivent démontrer qu’ils sont demeurés sans tabac pendant le mois de mars 2014.

À propos de Téléassistance pour fumeurs de la Société canadienne du cancer

Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit et confidentiel qui offre un soutien personnalisé, des conseils et de l’information sur l’abandon du tabac et l’usage du tabac. Administré par la Société canadienne du cancer et financé par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, Téléassistance pour fumeurs offre trois manières d’aider les Ontariens à cesser : soutien au téléphone, programme en ligne et messagerie texte à 1-877-513-5333 et teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca. 

À propos de Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc.

Soins-santé grand public McNeil, une division de Johnson & Johnson Inc. offre une grande variété de produits en vente libre bien connus et fiables. Soins-santé grand public McNeil est la plus reconnue pour la marque TYLENOL®. D’autres produits de Soins-santé grand public McNeil comprennent les thérapies de remplacement de la nicotine NICODERM® et NICORETTE®, les médicaments contre les allergies BENADRYL® et REACTINE®; l’antidiarrhéique IMODIUM®; PEPCID® et ZANTAC® pour la santé digestive, et l’ibuprofène MOTRIN®.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, visitez le www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026